We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a smoking-tolerant hotel with remodeled rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Finally a smoking-tolerant hotel with remodeled rooms!”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I was thrilled to come across this gem! I have been forced to stay at the Motel 6 or the Quality Inn to find a smoking room in/around the Disneyland area. A friend from work (Thanks, Janet!) recommended this hotel to me on the off-chance that they allowed smoking. I called and booked two rooms for 4 days.

Lets get into the checklist:
- Micro/Fridge
- VERY COMFORTABLE beds with new linens and comforters.
- Internet (not even as fast as dial-up...but free)
- Functional (and quiet) A/C - Heating
- LARGE shower
- LARGE room
- Roomy Desk (important, tho some would argue that)
- less than a block from Disneyland (a city block but still a block)

Okay...so we have the main things that you would notice out of the way, lets talk about the pros and cons:

Pros:
- QUIET room. We couldn't hear the neighbors -- even though we had a connecting door. Being on the ground floor right next to the cafeteria, one would think you would hear lots of foot traffic. Not so. The door is quite heavy and windows well sealed.

- NICE FURNITURE and decor. There are 4 large dresser drawers in a dresser, one 7 foot armoire, a full size writing desk with adjustable chair, eating table with two chairs and one nightstand with drawer -- along with two queen size beds. Dark walnut finish on all furniture made the room quite pleasant, modern and rich looking.

- REALLY comfortable beds. This is surprising. They really took the PLUS portion of the Best Western PLUS to a new level. Even though the PLUS portion of the Best Western moniker does not indicate bedding and beds as an amenity, they should! The beds were 1) Queen (and not double like some bargain hotels) and 2) VERY comfortable with high-quality linens.

- LARGE rooms. This is a really nice feature. The room had at LEAST 5 feet between the foot of the bed and the opposite wall. Plenty of room to work at the desk (located directly at the foot of the bed) and still allow the husband to walk behind you to get something from the fridge.

- LARGE shower. The shower is actually pretty normal tub/shower but they took the extra step of putting in the curved shower curtain bar which gives you an extra 6" or so to move around in. It is appreciated.

- CLEAN. We expected no less from a Best Western, however, as we all know, hotels in and around resorts are used so frequently by so many guests that they become threadbare quite quickly. This room did not seem to suffer undue wear and tear...It was also kept immaculate by the housekeeping staff during our stay.

- QUIET A/C! Did you hear that? QUIET! You can actually hear the TV when the A/C is running! You can actually hear each other talk! The placement of the A/C is perfect for cooling/heating the room BUT NOT freezing you out when you sleep. Most units that are under the window in hotels blow right on you when you are in bed. This unit is about shoulder height and has FUNCTIONAL louvers that allow you to route the air to where you want it to go. I heavily suggest to angle it toward the bathroom door after a shower. It quickly clears out the steam! -- oh, also: The A/C is GOOD! It is not a "let's turn this on and an hour later it gets cool". This is "let's turn this on low so it doesn't freeze us out.". Turning it on low for the entire night kept us quite comfortable. The compressor turned off and it just recirculated air when it got cool enough in the room.

Cons:
Okay, every hotel has them. Little things, that -- while they are not deal breakers -- make you wonder why the heck they did not fix them. You know: "Why did they skip THAT?" Here are a few:

- Surcharges and Fees. Get quoted $98/night? Get ready to pay $98 + $10/night surcharge for coming to the hotel in April or December + an $8.00/night parking fee! I understand being close to the convention center and right next to Coco's restaurant they would wish to protect their parking, however they did not just put in a gate...thus only allowing their guests to park, but they put in a gate and THEN charged you $8.00 for the privilege of parking in their lot. They charge surcharges and fees instead of raising the nightly rate because, just like the airlines, they wish to protect their search placement. If they charge more per night, they drop on the travel search engines. Instead, they hide the extra rates in "seasonal" surcharges as well as fees for parking. -- oh, and then you pay a 15% room tax and an extra "2% ATID fee". They do not disclose any of these in the "search results" on the travel sites. Buyer beware.

- Internet. The internet has become a standard at hotels. They must offer it. Some, like Motel 6 make you pay for it. Others, like Hampton Inn (Hilton family) give it free. The problem? When it is free, you get what you pay for. Most hotels get the equivalent of a standard 1.5Mb DSL line. While some may think that is fast at home, remember you are sharing among 290 rooms -- most likely around 500 smartphones, iPads and laptops. The speed (per person) drops quickly. The speed (checked against speedtest.net) was .11 Mbit -- that is right "decimal 11, not ELEVEN" -- (this is only 1/4 the speed of dial-up -- if that!). I expect better. Unfortunately the speed this hotel buys cannot keep up with the demand their users generate.

- VIDEO INPUTS on TV. This may seem trivial. Even silly, however, I want VIDEO INPUTS on the TV. I want to take movies and/or photos of the family at the resort and be able to see them that night on something other than my iPhone screen. I got a room with an (*OLD*) Zenith TV with "a" VIDEO INPUT. BUT, guess what? They did not work. I called the front desk and was informed by the employee that answered the phone that they disabled the inputs. Part of the PLUS amenity package should be a guarantee of a TV manufactured in this century. Having talked to the management after my stay I was assured that all TVs in all rooms are being upgraded to LCD screens and the inputs will work in the future.

- Maintenance of A/C. The nicely-placed A/C unit (above the counter in the back of the room) leaked water all 4 days -- and was never repaired. It leaked all over their microwave and all over anything we put on the bathroom counter. This was not repaired even after contacting management. Having talked to them after our stay, this is being looked into and will be repaired immediately. I am sure this happens all the time with A/C units embedded in the walls. Good idea putting it somewhat over the sink though. Stopped it from being a major issue.

- Hidden outlets (and lack thereof). Electronic Age, people! Outlets are needed everywhere! Not so with this hotel. The room had 2 outlets behind the bed (lamp and clock radio), Two near the door (too far away for a charging cable) and two on the lamp on the desk. One other was at the sink for curling irons, etc. Just bring an extension cord and you will be fine...although I question the placement of an outlet right near the door. What good is that? :)

Having said all of this, we will *definitely* be coming back to this hotel. All properties suffer from negatives. It is what they offset it with that makes a customer return. In this case, the pros outweigh the cons by a large margin. It is a great property.

Also, don't be biased because they "allow" smoking. There are plenty of rooms in this hotel that are smoke-free and this hotel does NOT simply put ashtrays in non-smoking rooms and label them "smoking". Non-smoking rooms are ALWAYS non-smoking.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JannAndMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrkukusa, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Let me start by thanking you for your business and your comments. We appreciate you letting us know what you think of our property and staff. We always want to hear on things that we can improve on. Our vision is to give exceptional customer service. We hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    1,007
    369
    97
    95
See reviews for
1,509
382
64
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

This was more motel than hotel. The staff received regular complaints from people while we were there. And then we understood why, we were quoted the wrong room rate but they were not interested. We kept feeling ill when ever using the A/c it took 6 days to be looked at.
They incorrectly booked us on a trip which wasted our last day in LA.
Good things are the location walking distance from Disney and every night we could see the fireworks from the balcony outside the room.
The breakfast included is also good value, more healthy variety would be even better

Room Tip: top level gets best view of fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syd2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrkukusa, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time on letting us know how your stay was here at our property. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Great place to stay for families - my kids loved the pool (i think there's about three pools and two hot tubs), decent continental breakfast, clean rooms and bathrooms, and very comfortable beds. You can see the fireworks from the second and third floors. it's about a 10-15 min walk (15-20 min if you have young kids like us) to the park if you cut through the Grand Californian Hotel or Downtown Disney.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBilodeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrkukusa, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Let me start by thanking for your review. We appreciate your business. I’m very happy to hear that you had a great time here with us. That’s great that you were able to enjoy the pools. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This hotel is an excellent choice for a location within easy walking distance of Downtown Disney and the theme parks. If you're going to Disney parks with kids, you wouldn't expect to spend much time in your room, but all of the essentials are there. Two queen beds per room, refrigerator, chairs, and table, etc. There are two swimming pools--one heated, the other not, a jacuzzi, and a wading pool. A continental breakfast is offered with very limited hot breakfast choices. The facility is very clean and upkeep is good. The staff is quite helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrkukusa, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Let me start by thanking you on your stay here at the Stovall’s Inn. We appreciate your business. Our main amenities are fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. I know that these amenities are very helpful when you travel with kids. We hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed here on our trip to Disney. A 20 min walk to park entrance. Room was clean and quiet. Parking all over.

Great pick if you just want to crash after a long day at the park. USD 10 tax for tourism is applied when you get in. They offer a shuttle to take you to the park for USD 4 but to me is not that far. Downtown Disney is just 10 min away.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xefa_CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrkukusa, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you for your review and your business we really appreciate it. That’s great that you were able to walk to Disney and enjoy the scenery. Of ‘course you have the option of taking the shuttle that picks you up in front of our property. It’s only $4.00 per adult and kids ages 3-9 are $1.00 and it’s an all day pass. The shuttle comes approximately every 20 minutes starting on the hour. It’s very convenient when you have had a very long day at Disney. We hope to see you guys soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipawin, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in February. I booked it based on the price and other travelers reviews. I have a bad back and the reviews on the beds were spot on!! They have super comfortable and supportive mattresses. The laundry facilities were great for drying out clothes when we got wet on the rides and they were very cheap too! There are 2 pools and 2 hot tubs. Only one pool was heated and both hot tubs were warm . . . but we were fine with that - being from Canada!! It is about 6 blocks total if you walk down to South Harbour Blvd and then to the Main Disney Entrance but it only took us 15 min. However, once you have your park tickets, you can cut through the Grand Californian Hotel via California Adventure Park and then it's just a 5 min. walk down Disney Way straight to the hotel! (A little tip they won't tell you - but everyone does it!!) Our kids loved the variety of food for breakfast. Denny's was also only a block away and Coco's right on the hotel property has excellent meals!! Way cheaper than eating inside the park! We will definitely stay here again if we ever go back to Anaheim!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papergirljp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrkukusa, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time on your review. We do get a lot of complements on our beds. Some of our guest’s say it’s the best sleep that they have ever had. Yes, we are only 10-15 minute walk to the park entrance through Downtown Disney. I’m glad that you enjoyed our pools and breakfast. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2011

This was our very first stop in the USA, and was a very nice warm and friendly welcome.

We stayed for 2 nights and only paid $200. This was is a very clean and well maintained hotel. The room was a good size room with extremely soft and very confutable beds, free wifi and a safe. There is a nice pool area (although was far too cold to swim while we were there).

Close to public transport (bus stop right out the front). I think Disneyland would be the main reason you would stay here, as there is not too much else to do in the Anaheim. To get to the main entrance of Disneyland and California adventure is only a 10 to 15 min walk or a short $5 to $10 cab ride.

There are also plenty of places to eat (most places very cheap and very nice food).

All in all, nice hotel and in a great location if Disneyland is what your looking for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrkukusa, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your business. I’m very glad that we were your very first stop here in Anaheim, CA. There is a Disney shuttle that picks you up right in front of our property. It’s $4.00 per adult and kids ages 3-9 are $1.00 and that’s an all day pass. We do have free wireless and if you need to print you may use the computer in the lobby that has free printing. It’s good for printing boarding passes. We are surrounded by restaurants and we do have a new addition in the area called the Garden walk. There are places to eat, shop and have fun. Thank you once again for staying with us. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Pavilions
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.5 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn
Address: 1110 W Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#22 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#22 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Stovall`s Hotel Anaheim
Best Western Stovalls Hotel
Best Western Anaheim
Anaheim Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing