We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place across from Disney”
Review of The Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #77 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Nice place across from Disney”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Property is across from Disney and 1 block from the convention center. Price is very reasonable and the complex is only 2 stories tall throughout.

It is nice that you can drive up to your building and each room has a patio or balcony

Clean enough but getting a little worn around the edges

Overall I would return for the friendly staff and reasonable rates

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank C H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsAPH, Guest Relations Manager at The Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, and guest room amenities - our patios and balconies are a great way to enjoy the Southern California sunshine! We hope to welcome you again on your next trip. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    496
    332
    145
    118
See reviews for
622
208
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

stayed here about 11 times fantastic location for disney and LA. freiendly hotel clean and spacious. added bonus of pool. Great breakfast and you can book trips there!! will use again and again. PERFECT

Room Tip: rooms are all ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachaeldd0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsAPH, Guest Relations Manager at The Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Greetings, and thank you for your review wonderful review of Anaheim Plaza Hotel. We are so grateful for your loyalty, and appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. We're so happy to hear that you enjoy our Olympic sized pool, breakfast buffet and convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you for many more trips to the Disney and LA area! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

In a really great location as it's only a 5-10 minute walk to Disneyland. We only stayed for 2 nights but as we were going to Disneyland all we needed was somewhere to sleep so this place was perfect. Fairly basic rooms in an only average complex but for the low price that we paid we were very satisfied. Front desk reception were really helpful and incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelsnGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsAPH, Guest Relations Manager at The Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Greetings, and thank you for sharing your review with us. Our staff works hard to deliver exceptional service to each guest, and we are pleased to hear that our front desk team delivered the friendly and helpful service we strive for. Our close proximity to Disneyland certainly does make it convenient to enjoy the park, and we hope to welcome you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed the last weekend of January in room 529. The hotel is old and is in bad need of some refurbishment. We had stayed there several years ago so knew what to expect and were only looking for a clean place to sleep. We have annual passes so we need a cost effective place to stay for quickie trips to Disneyland. The room appeared to be clean and I did my usual bed bug search around the bed, headboard, mattress, etc and found nothing. As other reviews have noted, the carpet was nasty - made our socks black after just a few minutes. HOWEVER, three days after we got home, I noticed my arm was itching and when I looked I found 6 red bumps (in two straight lines) that were very itchy and red, almost blistery looking. The bites resembled mosquito bites but I live in Colorado and it's January so, no mosquitoes and it was cool at Disneyland so I had on long sleeves. After MUCH internet searching, looking at pictures and descriptions, etc, I'm afraid they are bed bug bites. Apparently, it can take up to two weeks for them to appear and they often tend to bite in straight lines. There are no recent reports of bed bugs at the Plaza (I checked before we went) so I cannot say for sure that they are bed bug bites but I also cannot rule it out. I will not be staying at the Plaza again as it is not worth the risk - I'm really hoping we didn't carry some hitchhikers home this time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heidi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsAPH, Guest Relations Manager at The Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Greetings Heidi,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We take our guest reviews very seriously, and have done an extensive inspection of room 529. After a full inspection of the entire room by multiple associates, we can guarantee that the room does not have bed bugs or any other insects that could have caused the bumps you are referring to. Additionally, we have not been advised of any such cases from other guests, and would encourage you to share your concerns with us while on-property so that we may address them immediately, and help to better your stay. We are very sorry that you have experienced this discomfort, but ensure you that it was not our property that you received the bites from. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anaheim hotels

Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Value for money after all you only need a place to sleep , shower, and store your stuff. Desk staff very helpful noticed that we are a return guess and gave us the closet room to everything, pool, shop, desk , laundry , games room, not overly big rooms but big enough for 4, patio rooms are better cos you can sit out with more room than a balcony room , bathroom water pressure isn't the best but it does the job ,5 mins from Disneyland, 2 min to bus stop for tours to pick you up , why pay more when your out all day either shopping, Disneyland parks, or touring. We are staying here again in 12 weeks , please feel free to ask me anything about this hotel and I can tell you, don't waste money staying in expensive hotels keep your saving for shopping ..lol , stay here!!! kids under 17 stay free, kids under 9 eat at buffet breakfast free with paying adult. Never had a problem in the 4 times we have stayed here. Thanks Anaheim Plaza ,c u soon

Room Tip: Patio rooms are better no stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozioziozi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsAPH, Guest Relations Manager at The Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Greetings, and thank you so much for your continued loyalty to Anaheim Plaza Hotel. We are so happy to hear your wonderful feedback, and appreciate you sharing with us. Nothing pleases us more than knowing we've delivered excellent service and a comfortable stay to our guests. Our close proximity to Disneyland is certainly convenient, and we are glad to hear that you've enjoyed our large buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

After reading some of the negative reviews here on tripadvisor my husband and I were a little hesitant about booking a room at this hotel. However, being a smoker my choices of places to stay are limited. AND we wanted to be in walking distance to Disneyland.
We checked in early and a room was ready for us. We were also able to buy our hopper tickets at the front desk at the same cost as Disneyland.
When we first walked into our room I was expected to smell cigarettes, but did not. At first I thought they accidentally gave us a non-smoking room. I then noticed that there wasn't any ashtrays around. I called the front desk and within 5 minutes I had an ashtray.
It was also a nice surprise to have a balcony! I was able to step outside to smoke, and it was also great getting that cool breeze.
The room was clean and had everything we needed..... including microwave and refrigerator. We were sure to pack our slippers, though, because some of the reviewers here complained about the carpets being dirty. We had no problem with that.
The place is old, and shows it's age. But for the money we felt we got a pretty good deal. They don't offer free wi-fi, and there's no free breakfast, either. I paid the $10.00 per day for internet service, and we packed our own breakfast, so this was not a problem for us. Staying here was still cheaper than the "other" hotel we normally stay at in Anaheim (which was already booked).
The only complaint I have (if you even want to call it that) was that their ice machine is on a timer. You can only get 1 bucket of ice every 2 minutes. We thought that was a little ridiculous, but we only needed to fill our cooler once so it wasn't that big of a deal.
We would definitly stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was way in the back.... away from traffic noise and very close walking distance to the mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NunyaBwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsAPH, Guest Relations Manager at The Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will visit again next time you make a trip to Disneyland. Our balconies are a great way to enjoy the wonderful weather of Southern California, and we’re glad you enjoyed our in-room amenities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Went to Disneyland on my birthday.. yay!! Very special experience... and since it was a last minute trip we had to match a hotel with our budget.
Thank goodness for this hotel- it matched our budget. 95$/night-and we booked only a few days before. Great location- 10 minutes walk to the park. So we didn't have to rent a car- win!! Also we literally ran back to our hotel room after park visit since rain poured down like cats and dogs right after the fireworks. The location saved us from getting stranded and drenched.
BUT.. the room sucked... furniture musty... not well kept at all. The guy who checked us in was weird, creepy and rude.. not a good way to start off my birthday eve...So there were trade-offs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambience B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaheimPlazaHotelGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were able to celebrate your birthday in close proximity to the park at the Anaheim Plaza Hotel. I am sorry that the room was not to your liking and have shared your comments with our managerial team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Legacy At The Park
Grand Legacy At The Park
#67 of 118 in Anaheim
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
1,663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anaheim Hotel

Property: The Anaheim Hotel
Address: 1700 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique resort style hotel offers the following features: LOCATION: Directly across the main entrance to Disneyland(R) Adjacent to Anaheim Garden Walk. Two blocks from the Anaheim Convention Center. STYLE: Two story apartment style buildings on nine acres of landscaped gardens and walkways. PARKING: Ample parking all around the hotel. POOL: Olympic size outdoor heated pool and spa. ROOMS: Large rooms, some with patio or balcony. FAMILY SUITES: Two connecting rooms for families. FOOD & BEVERAGE: Restaurant and Lounge. MEETING ROOMS: Over 11,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space. VALUE: Excellent value for a hotel in Anaheim! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Plaza Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing