We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION FOR WALKING TO EVENTS”
Review of The Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #77 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION FOR WALKING TO EVENTS”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel was your average hotel in this area - all of them are older and nothing has been renovated - but this hotel was clean and the rooms were big - $15 to add a rollaway bed and there was plenty of room in the room for that. Frig/Microwave always a good thing. The best part is that this hotel is within walking distance to the Convention Center and Disneyland. Let's say a 20 minute stroll to the Convention Center.

The restaurant, La Casita, was great - service was great as well. Buffet was $12 and the food on it was good. Nice bar area to sit with friends.

There is also a 7-11 store on the corner - so jumping out to get something was easy.

Good parking.

Room Tip: The hotel is huge - you actually need to move your car from the front to whichever side your room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charrie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    493
    331
    144
    117
See reviews for
618
208
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hotel was excellently close to main entrance of Disneyland resort. It was nice to be able to walk over and not have to wait for shuttles, etc. Tons of restaurants and shopping right next to hotel. Staff was very friendly. Nice to have a microwave and fridge in room. We ate cereal and oatmeal in the morning to save time and money. Rooms are large. We had a "family suite" which was two rooms connected. It was so nice for 4 kids and 2 adults to all have their own beds and not be crammed together.

Here are the downsides: noisy (street noise and very noisy from room above--we could hear every move they made at 3 am), older hotel but clean. No internet. That about sums it up.

Room Tip: Top floor away from street would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nealybob73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

It's not the most modern or up-to-date hotel, but it works for me.
I've been staying at this hotel for Disneyland trips for the last 5 years. The rooms are clean and pretty big. There are in-room refrigerators and safes. It's about a block from Disneyland's main entrance. From some of the rooms you can see the fireworks at night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7oh2esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were really happy we chose this hotel. We generally stay at a different hotel in the area, but wanted to be able to walk back & forth to Disneyland. This hotel was convenient, roomy, and we had a great stay. We could see the fireworks from our balcony, and we loved that. They had a large pool, which we didn't use but we saw people enjoying the pool even in November. We'll go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abuelita207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I read some pretty bad reviews here, and i wish i'd have heeded the advice by not staying here. But we wanted to be within walking distance, and well, this did fill that bill. When you first walk in, the lobby is as fancy as a new hotel. Beautiful decor, clean and neat. The girl that checked us in was very matter of fact...straight to the point, but not out of your way nice. No big deal.

once you leave the lobby its like you are in the ghetto. The hotel looks old old old, and run down. You don't feel safe walking from your car to the room. its dimly lit, and pretty trashy. I'm far from a snob, but this was awful. The room was big, but the sliding door didn't lock. Walls are thin, and the maids vacuum at 8am.

i checked my bank acct while at dinner, and i was supposed to be charged 127.53. my bank acct said 132.00. When i asked about this, they said it was for parking. No one told me they charge 4.47 for parking. They removed it. so watch your acct. This hotel is NOT worth 50 dollars, much less the 127.53 that i was charged. stay away

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msdebagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anaheim hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am about to finish my 28 night stay at this hotel. It has been a wonderful stay. I would recommend this room to others. Rooms large, clean and comfortable. After all i only expect a hotel to have a place to sleep. I did notice some basic renovations occurring so the hotel will be even better next time (paint and carpet cleaning mostly)
Positives
- Excellent Staff (particularly Arthur) always happy to assist
- Pool is large and heated nicely
- Rooms large and did enjoy the balcony
- Close to Disneyland (about a 10-15 min walk)
- Excellent Price
- Quiet

Negatives
- No Gate from hotel carpark to Gardenwalk (I would like to suggest the hotel install one)
- Poor signage for restaurant operating hours.
- Plumbing could use some updating. Put shower on half pressure to maintain temperature as full pressure seems to make the hot water pump struggle.
- Gaming room change machine (for washing machine) won't take $5 notes

Request a room away from the ice machine. My sister stayed in a room close to one and it's a little noisy but after a long day of disney you often couldn't notice.

These are minor problems in an overall solid experience.

Room Tip: If you request a quite room you will probably get block 600 which is at the back of the hotel (a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmoore19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stay here the majority of the time when we go to Disney. It's only a hop skip and a jump to Disneyland . Our trips are usually 4~5 days four times a year as we are annual pass holders. This hotel for the price is a good deal, and the rooms are clean. If you love saving money and would like a clean place to rest your head and shower after a busy day at Disney, this is the place for you. I'm still waiting for my VIP status free room upgrade Anaheim Plaza.
I definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Legacy At The Park
Grand Legacy At The Park
#67 of 118 in Anaheim
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anaheim Hotel

Property: The Anaheim Hotel
Address: 1700 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique resort style hotel offers the following features: LOCATION: Directly across the main entrance to Disneyland(R) Adjacent to Anaheim Garden Walk. Two blocks from the Anaheim Convention Center. STYLE: Two story apartment style buildings on nine acres of landscaped gardens and walkways. PARKING: Ample parking all around the hotel. POOL: Olympic size outdoor heated pool and spa. ROOMS: Large rooms, some with patio or balcony. FAMILY SUITES: Two connecting rooms for families. FOOD & BEVERAGE: Restaurant and Lounge. MEETING ROOMS: Over 11,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space. VALUE: Excellent value for a hotel in Anaheim! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Plaza Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing