We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME POOL!”
Review of The Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #77 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“AWESOME POOL!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in block 4 on the ground floor for 6 nights. Well located and good services nearby, and a short walk to Disneyland.

Definitely not 5 star, but spacious, clean and very well-serviced & all the important things were done right.


Beds VERY comfortable.
Bathroom large, good shower pressure and temperature.
Very quiet (despite our room being directly outside the external stairwell)
The pool area was enormous, and the pool immaculately clean
The airconditioning was very noisy (you know, that clunky loud sort of noise) but very efficient - and provided great white noise for the kids to get to sleep!
In-room safe and decent sized fridge.

The TV was fuzzy and poorly tuned, but seriously - who goes to Anaheim to watch TV?
I would have LOVED to have free internet. $4.95US per 24 hours.

We had dinner on Halloween night (served by Mario) at the onsite restaurant. Was awesome food and service...and very reasonably priced. We really wished we'd made the effort to have the breakfast buffet too...next time....*dreams*

Check in and out quick. Thanks to Katelyn for going the extra mile for us...and to the "cute" vampire guy on Halloween night who provided great entertainment for both my young son and teen daughter.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2shopaholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    487
    328
    142
    115
See reviews for
607
208
49
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Room was very clean including carpet. We stayed in a deluxe room with two queen beds. It was very roomy. One of the biggest rooms we stayed at on harbor blvd. The beds were very comfy and pillows were soft. Bathroom was clean and always stocked. The rooms were very quiet. The pool was huge and clean. We went during a 3 day holiday and even with all the people booked there the pool never seemed crowded because of its size. There restaurant was good. Had breakfast and loved it! Even my picky kid found something to eat there. I would say this place is on the same level as park vue and the desert inn and suites but much cheaper!!! I will defineately come back!

Only con I can think of was no Microwave.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharkcity4o8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is the fifth time I've stayed at this hotel. We keep coming back because it's cheap and close to the entrance - it's a five minute walk for an able adult, 10 minutes if you've got kids or grandparents in tow. This most recent visit was a little disappointing, mostly because the rooms were much more expensive than usual, almost 50% more. There was an event at the hotel Friday morning when we arrived, so perhaps that's why, but it seemed like all the attendees were coming from outside the hotel, so I'm not sure what was up with the price jump.
Other grievances - parking used to be included, but now is a separate charge, the beds are hard, the walls are paper thin, and the plumbing is such that I couldn't take a shower without getting assaulted by suddenly scalding-hot water halfway through.
All that being said though, I'll probably stay here again. It's by far the best price for such a convenient location. There's ample parking, unlike some of the other nearby hotels. The attached restaurant is good, although I haven't been there often as I usually do most of my eating inside the parks. For the area that it's located, you get a good price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very good for your money. If your a family going to Disneyland on a budget or traving on a budget it's great. Rooms are clean and staff are friendly. There is a small shopping center next door and a few food shops about 5 min walk. Disneyland is just across the road.
The only bad Thing is there really isn't much else around the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Staying at Anaheim Plaza turned out to be a wonderful experience for our family of six. We had two adjoining rooms each with their own bathroom for a really good price. The rooms are pretty basic but very clean and comfortable. The housekeeping was amazing -- it was such a great feeling to come home from a long day at Disneyland to an immaculately tidied room.

The pool is huge and the hot tub good-sized. The breakfast buffet is phenomenal. While not free, we felt it was so completely worth the price since the quality was so high (and since the price for our rooms was so much lower than at places where the breakfast is free). No stale bagels or over/under ripe bananas here. Excellent breakfast food to help get you started on a big day at Disneyland. The breakfast staff were so, so pleasant and helpful made it such a great way to start out our day. The location was such a bonus. It really was quiet (as I had read in many reviews) and incredibly close to both parks, it was so easy for us to walk from the breakfast straight over to the main gates each morning. And it was very convenient to walk back to with four tired children at the end of the day.

The only drawback was that we were on the first floor, and we could hear absolutely every footfall from the people staying above us. It seriously sounded like elephants were up there. Fortunately they were on pretty much the same schedule as us, going to bed and getting up around the same time as we did, but it would have been really unpleasant if that hadn't been the case. Also, our room had no patio or balcony which I was disappointed about since several of the reviews I had read talked about them being very spacious. But when my husband called the front desk about it, she was very helpful and reassured us that we still had the same square footage, so our room was actually bigger and the rooms in the section where we were staying were a bit more modern w/ newer bedding, etc. This actually did help me feel better and I appreciated having bigger rooms.

Overall a fantastic place for our family to stay. It met our needs so well. It really helped enhance our Disneyland experience and we'll have great memories of this place. Will definitely consider staying here again (my kids really want to!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

ROOM DESCRIPTION: 2nd floor room with balcony, have had 1 king or 1 queens and all beds have been average. (I have stayed here several times and have always liked the service and my rooms)
THE GOOD: Close walk to Disneyland. The Garden Walk is behind the hotel (food, shopping, movie theater). Nice big pool. Private balcony's to sit outside. DL fireworks can be seen from various areas of the hotel. Car rentals onsite. Breakfast buffet is good.
THE NOT SO GOOD: since the Garden Walk is behind the hotel, you have to walk to the front of the hotel to get outside the fence and walk towards the back-this sucks if your room is already at the back of the hotel-they should have a walkway opening in the back fenced area to go through.

I would definitely stay here again. This is one of my favorite places to stay when going to DL because of the value, proximity to DL, the private balcony's, and decent service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckyboo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

What you see is what you get. We stayed here recently to visit Disneyland. The rooms are clean and we found the shower good and the beds comfy. It is old and dated but over all it's in a great location, Disneyland is within walking distance and good restaurants near by. The staff were also very friendly.

Need to offer free wifi...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leighby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Legacy At The Park
Grand Legacy At The Park
#62 of 118 in Anaheim
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#9 of 118 in Anaheim
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anaheim Hotel

Property: The Anaheim Hotel
Address: 1700 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique resort style hotel offers the following features:LOCATION:Directly across the main entrance to Disneyland(R) Adjacent to Anaheim Garden Walk.Two blocks from the Anaheim Convention Center.STYLE:Two story apartment style buildings on nine acres of landscaped gardens and walkways.PARKING:Ample parking all around the hotel.POOL:Olympic size outdoor heated pool and spa.ROOMS:Large rooms, some with patio or balcony.FAMILY SUITES:Two connecting rooms for families.FOOD & BEVERAGE: Restaurant and Lounge.MEETING ROOMS:Over 11,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space.VALUE: Excellent value for a hotel in Anaheim! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Plaza Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing