We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great convention hotel”
Review of Hilton Anaheim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Anaheim
Ranked #47 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for a convention and it was perfect for that. The staff was awesome and very friendly. The elevators fortunately have two banks or it would be bad waiting for just one of them, but the 2nd bank is just more hidden at times. The shower though you have to be up early or just wait a few minutes for hot water during the 'rush hour' of people taking showers at the same time. Their breakfast buffet was awesome and well priced. I would definitely stay here again for a convention.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raininroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear raininroses,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that we were able to provide everything you’d expect and want for a convention hotel. It seems like you really enjoyed our breakfast buffet. What a great compliment to our chef and the rest of his culinary team. They do a great job of creating a buffet where the food stays fresh, is always delicious, and offerings vary by the day. After all, you won’t find breakfast pizza at just any breakfast buffet. If you haven’t tried the MIX Restaurant for lunch or dinner we strongly recommend it. It’s an entirely different dining experience. We also thank you for the compliments you have given our hard working staff. Some of which helped us open the Hilton Anaheim in 1984 and are still here doing a fantastic job! We hope you are able to stay with us during the next big convention or maybe you can just stay with us to come have a little fun and R&R.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,359)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Anaheim
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,152 - 3,158 of 4,359 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was here for a convention and you can't get any closer (unless you stay at the Marriott). From hotel to convention entrance it's exactly 50 paces (I counted it!). Staff at check-in could not have been better. Really aces. The hotel itself is large and impersonal. Feels more like a big city hotel. And the lobby decor is... well, only Mike Brady from The Brady Bunch could have designed it. It's airy, concrete-y, ugly. I mean, this is supposed to be comfort???? I'm sure in the fifties it was cutting edge, but it's a relic.

Okay, so I go to my room on the 12th floor (I told you it was a big hotel) and the hall way... yeeech. Coffee stains on the carpet, and most disturbingly, scratch marks and holes on the walls!!! These were LONG hallways and these scruffmarks were consistent all the way down to my room. What happened here? Doesn't anyone notice how awful it looks? how ugly it makes customers FEEL? It felt like I had checked in at the Hotel Carter (yes, THAT Hotel Carter in NYC).

I passed by a dinner tray filled with food that was left on the floor. Several hours later, it was still there. I see a courteous staff begins and ends at check-in.

As for the room itself, it was typical comfort. A nice HDTV, if small (35 inches?).

I have to admit I had a comfortable stay, but this hotel is crumbling apart. The elevators break down at least once a day (which sucks if you're on, say, the 12th floor - like I was!!!). The hotel needs renovation, or it needs people to run the place who actually give a hoot.

Room Tip: Try the Marriott first. It's old too, but it has balconies and the elevators work!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingletonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear SingletonTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy the décor throughout the property. Our hotel opened in 1984 in time for Olympic Games being hosted in Los Angeles. Since that time the hotel has undergone several renovations. The most recent was in 2009 when the entire property received a complete makeover from the guest rooms to our function spaces and common areas. We will notify our Property Operations departments about some of the wear you noticed in the hallways. Very soon we will be continuing our improvements and there are plans in the work to replace the carpeting and make necessary wall repairs. We will also notify them of the trouble you experienced with the elevators. We haven’t received many reports of them consistently breaking down but nonetheless We are actually updating the elevator technology throughout the property over the next several months. The work is being completed in increments to reduce the impact on our guests but the project should be completed within the year. On the more positive side, we are pleased to hear you had pleasant interactions with our staff and that your room accommodations were satisfactory. We would strongly recommend that you come stay with us again and see the improvements that will have been made. There is also much more of the Hilton Anaheim we’d love to invite you to explore such as the Hilton Health Club and the pool area.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are about to book this hotel for the 3rd time having stayed there the last 2 years for Disneyland. The hotel is a very easy walk to Disneyland, we are fast walkers so takes us approx 20 mins, 25-30mins would probably be the norm. Family's with young children or the elderly would probably prefer to take the shuttle from the hotel to the park (though we always see plenty of families walking), there is a charge for the shuttle and I am not sure how often it runs as we haven't used it however I believe it's fairly regular. The walk back is especially nice at night with the trees lit up on the side of the road and you need the walk after all the calories consumed in the park! The Garden Walk is approx 15 min walk and has a great selection of restaurants, inc Cheesecake Factory and PF Changs, its always packed at the restaurants here but worth the short wait (there is parking if you don't want to walk there). Downtown Disney is right at the entrance to both parks and has some good restaurant selections, ESPN being our favourite, there are cinemas there also which are great to relax in after a day of walking the parks. Downtown Disney is packed at night but great fun energy and I am looking forward to being there again!

The hotel staff are very friendly and professional and I have always found the hotel clean and well kept. We haven't used the pool, however it's looks ok, nothing too exciting but would do the job. The Fitness Center is excellent and worth the money, great selection of free weights, machines, treadmills and bikes and the fee includes access to the indoor pool (though I think access to fitness centres etc shouldn't be an additional charge but it is what it is).

There is a guest laundry (which we didn't realise on the first visit and went on the hunt for laundromats, annoying!!), its located near the pool which is something I really appreciate in a hotel!

We have only eaten once in the hotel restaurant, Mix, food and service was good, we just prefer to get out and not eat in the hotel but its a great option after a tiring day. There is a food court also, we didn't eat here as junk fast food doesn't appeal to us however I imagine it would be great for families. Starbucks is also in the foyer and perfect for that morning coffee and tea, they are always busy so don't be in a rush and allow time to wait.

Self park parking station is easy to access and no drama getting to and from. It is a separate elevator them the one to the rooms so you need to take the elevator from the garage to the lobby and then get into a different elevator to the rooms, all very easy and not far to walk between them.

There are plenty of options to stay in Anaheim but when your on a winner why change, the Fitness Center seals the deal for us (looking at other hotels they are pretty useless tiny rooms with one or two treadmills and not much else), we are heading back this September and its a given that this is where we will stay. The rates are also good, pre pay the advance rate and you get quiet a good deal. The American Airlines website (if your booking from Australia like us use the Australian version of the website, is also great for car hire) also tends to have the rooms at a great price also so I pick the best of the 2.


Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank collyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear collyalex, Thank you for the positive review you have written on TripAdvisor. It seems through your previous stays with us that you’ve come to know the property very well. You’re spot on about our convenient location, the dining options, and our amazing fitness center. You mentioned that you haven’t been to the pool area yet and we strongly recommend it. There is the main pool, 2 Jacuzzis, and a children’s water play park. At night the water and fire feature come alive on the pool deck and create a relaxing atmosphere to hang out. It’s also important to mention that the Pool Bar and Grill is now open for the warmer seasons. We very much appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and the Hilton brand itself. If you haven’t already you should enroll in HHonors, our loyalty rewards program. If you earn enough points you could even come back and stay with us for free! We thank you for choosing the Hilton Anaheim and we look forward to your return in September!

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is more for conventions and large groups. When I booked our trip thru Disney, the rep suggested the Hilton, never mentioning it is a convention center. We too stayed during the cheer leading, Jewish and cartoon conventions. After booking our trip I checked out the reviews on trip advisor and all the issues people complained about were the same issues we were unhappy with. One persons review mentioned how far the elevators are from your room, I figured how far could it be. Well, I found out it is FAR. We planned one day of our trip to just stay at the hotel and enjoy the California sun at the pool, it was way to crowded with convention people. It pays to read reviews, I wish I had heeded other peoples warnings. All that being said, it was clean and room service was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debladymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is the first trip to Disney that I haven't stayed on property. While staying "in the bubble" is certainly an amazing experience, it's not always possible (or affordable!). With a large group, we tried to get rooms at a single place, and the Hilton provided that.

With a short walk (about 10-15 min) from the park gates, it's close enough to walk, and it has easy connections via ART and Disney Transport (via the Toy Story Lot).

The facility itself was nicely clean and well maintained. With several options to eat, you can get going early in the morning for a day in the parks (or convention as the case may be...). The food service does seem to shut down early however. So if you are doing a late night in the park, you might have to grab some late night snacks at the 7-11 on the way back from to the hotel.

One niggle I have is with the bathrooms. They don't have individual fans to help with the fogging, and the door is a non locking slider. This isn't a deal breaker, but it could be annoying for some people.

We only had one issue during our stay and a quick conversation with management addressed the concerns that were presented.

Room Tip: This is a busy hotel next to a convention center and this odd little attraction called "Disneyl...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Before you book your room go here – it will list the upcoming conventions gathering next door. If you can’t avoid a particular group at least you know what’s coming! http://meetings.anaheimoc.org/convention-calendar

The hotel lobby seems like a cavernous extension of the Convention Center next door. It was busy and noisy the whole time we stayed. A big part of that was due to the competitive cheerleading ‘finals’ taking place. The parents & chaperones commanded every space in the lobby morning, noon and Happy Hour. The girls seemed oblivious to other hotel guests (think Toddlers and Tiaras doing round offs) – one pair actually went through their warm up routine smack dab in the middle of the foot traffic coming out of the elevators! Whatever you do, stay ABOVE THE FIFTH FLOOR. The pool is located there and I can’t imagine anyone staying on that floor gets much peace. (Floors 5-9 were a popular stop with the cheerleaders.) We had a beautiful quiet room on the 11th floor. Every night we had a perfect view of the Disney fireworks.
Speaking of Disney – take the ART #4 or #5 between the Marriott (right across the street) and the park for $5 adults & $2 child round trip (a 10 min ride). So worth it! You can buy tickets at the Marriott gift shop OR at the kiosk by the Hilton’s valet desk outside.
Room service was prompt (25 mins even on a Saturday night!) and courteous. The table was removed when we asked, but the hall was nearly always full of food debris. (As a side note, the cheerleaders had stickers on the doors as if they were in a dorm!) The pool and hot tub were lovely, but again, dirty glasses & wet towels were everywhere. Management might consider hiring a few more custodial workers to keep up on this. Good news – housekeeping does a fabulous job with the beds & bath!
The Food Court is a nice touch for families. The area was packed with teenagers so the lines were long & slow (last thing you want after a day at Disneyland). Forget about getting coffee at the in-house Starbucks. The line snaked through the lobby each time we passed by. A good option is the Grab & Go breakfast.
Bottom line – although I would have liked to have sat in the lobby bar & had a drink, a clean hall & pool area, this is a good value for a Disney weekend or business stay.

Room Tip: Book ABOVE the 5th floor, and of you can afford it, as for a room that faces Disneyland to watch the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeeshB503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear MeeshB503,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry that some of the other guests created a bit of a nuisance during your stay but overall it sounds like you had a great time on your Disney vacation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of the Disney fireworks from your room and the convenient ART shuttle service that picks up right outside the hotel. We are especially appreciative of the compliments you have given to our housekeeping and in-room dining team members. Your comments will be shared with those department heads. Our pool area, food court, and lobby are definitely features of the hotel that we would love for you to come back and enjoy. The pool deck now has the added bonus of the seasonal opening of thePool Bar & Grill, featuring an entirely revamped menu! We hope the incredible value we have provided you is enough to entice you to return, perhaps during a less busy time. Thank you for staying at the Hilton Anaheim.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed 5 nights for a Disney and area vacation but found the hotel too large and busy compared to others we have enjoyed in the area. How about 1,000 screaming girls for a spring break cheer leading competition? The elevators and pool were overwhelmed by the full hotel. Service was reasonable but we did not utilise any of the hotel food facilities.
Our room had an air conditioning issue - the unit would not turn off and kept us up all night as it went on like a jet engine every so often. They fixed it but did not leave any direction on how to keep it off. It happened again on our last night. This property is circa the 80s and is showing its age in some areas. I do not recommend this hotel for a family experience at Disney....another reason is no dedicated shuttle service....they refer you to the the local ART at $5 per adult.
Conventions are probably great here, but a thumbs down for a family.

Room Tip: North side faces the pool courtyard and Disneyland.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Mark F,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback here on Trip Advisor.
We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced at the busiest time here at the Hilton Anaheim.
As we have shared earlier with our other guests, during the months of March and April, Cheerleading
Competition is held at the Anaheim Convention Center annually and being right beside the convention center,
majority of the organizations choose to stay here with us.

We would love to have you and your family stay with us again and a good tip is to always call our hotel directly
so we may give you more information to what convention groups are in house. Our hotel has a lot to offer
families who are here for their vacation.

Thank you for letting us know about the air conditioning issue that your experienced . We will share
this with our Houskeeping and Engineering team and we will make sure that this does not happen again.

We look forward to your next stay here at the Hilton Anaheim

All the best,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#30 of 118 in Anaheim
2,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anaheim

Address: 777 W Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802-3497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#16 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $125 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Anaheim 4*
Number of rooms: 1572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a satisfying California experience at the Hilton Anaheim hotel, located in the heart of Orange County, adjacent to the Anaheim Convention Center and across the street from the Disneyland® Resort. Reach the hotel easily with convenient access from all major freeways and Southern California airports. This upscale hotel offers Mix Restaurant & Lounge, a Starbucks, a recently renovated outdoor pool with two whirlpool tubs and the new addition of the Kids Splash Zone! The Health Club at Hilton Anaheim (daily fee applies) offers all the amenities of a private health club, including spa treatments, Precor equipment and a tranquil indoor pool. Enjoy Disneyland® Resort benefits at this Anaheim family hotel by paying a visit to the Disney® Desk where expert cast members will offer advice and queue-jump tickets to the world-class attraction right across the street. Experience the magic of Disneyland® Resort from a special Disney® View room, providing great views of the fireworks display and the resort. All guest rooms and suites feature modern comforting amenities and contemporary styling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anaheim Hotel Anaheim
Hilton Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Hilton Hotel
Hilton And Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing