We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and Beautiful place to stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Affordable and Beautiful place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I went with some friends on a Disneyland trip and was looking for something nice and affordable. I looked into a few other hotels and decided to stay here because it offered more amenities than any of the other nearby hotels. All the other hotels in the area charged ridiculous prices where the rooms were basically the same and had the same amenities!! I will honestly say I wasn't completely sure to stay here at first but this girl I believe her name may have been Jessica, definitely reassured me!! She provided sufficient information about the hotel that I was sold!! I couldn't pass up such a great deal and great service!!! I would definitely stay here again! It is very close to Disneyland, major attractions, affordable, nice rooms and friendly staff!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    644
    271
    104
    99
See reviews for
1,326
148
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coogee, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

My family and I booked Five Days/Six Nights at The Desert Palms in Anaheim, we made our decision mostly on location. It is relatively close to Disneyland (probably about a 5-10 minute walk to the turnstiles), and very central to a lot of restaurants.

When we arrived and checked in, One of the staff at the desk (Sam!) asked us if we wanted to upgrade to larger room with a better view of the fireworks, and we did want that, so he upgraded us to the better room at no cost. Throughout our entire stay the entire staff was great, especially Sam, who was amazing. (Say Hi to him if you stay there, you can't miss him!)
Breakfast (7:00-10:00) was better than other hotels, in my opinion. The lineup: potatoes, sausage patties, scrambled eggs, oatmeal, donuts (yum), oranges, cereal and juice/milk. Oh yes, and don't forget the biscuits and gravy every other day!.
There is a 7-11 right next door and another mini mart next to that. Across the street there is an IHOP, and a strip mall with a chinese and a mexican restaurant along with a burger joint if you plan to eat outside the park.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANKPAUL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville "Rocket City", Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

This hotel is affordable, has a nice breakfast with a rooftop dining area and is right across the street from the Anaheim Conference Center. If you're going to Disneyland, it's just a short walk right around the corner. The hotel is on a corner with bus and Anaheim Resort Transit stops. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Business center where you can check in with your airline and print your boarding pass
Seemed like a safe area to me.
Not all of the elevators go to every floor, so check on this.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

1. Book rate directly through hotel online it is cheaper.
2. No nonsense place, rate is rate the rest is free. Breakfast, internet and parking.
3. Breakfast is toast, oatmeal, sugary cereal (2x choices), oranges for fresh fruit, yoghurt, waffles to make yourself, egg (cardboard texture), some kind of processed meat (I wouldn't eat it), fried potatoes. If you are ok with this list and happy to pay for breakfast other times, this place works out to be great value with the other items above free.
4. Laundry facilities major + for a family as there is always a need to do laundry. But not cheap. $2.00 per load but dryer does it's job for the same price. I know this as I paid $1.25 in San Diego. But remember this is Disneyland world!
5. Pool and spa not bad but wished it was open later than 5pm, though this may only be seasonal.
6. Fantastic location a short walk to Disneyland, quiet part of town but ABC Mart, 7 eleven, take away food choices on one side and Garden Grove the other where we dined at the Cheesecake Factory and shopped. There's also a discount ticket place downstairs for all of theme parks. Though I don't think it was any cheaper than direct from hotel. Only cheaper if you buy the pass which includes Universal, Sea World San Diego and Zoo.
5. Coffee/hot choc downstairs avail if you don't want brewed coffee. But if you love your coffee don't fuss too much get it here before you head to Disneyland there's nothing else better not even in restaurants. (I love my coffee).
6. Also fussy with our food we overheard people complaining about the Chinese Takeaway they were sick. As you walk out of Disneyland ask someone about Disney Walk (about a 2 min walk) there's a wide array of dining options there and the ESPN (I shocked myself) was pretty good if you're after good American food i.e. steaks, buffalo chicken, and the apple crumble dessert was to die for so was their pomegranate margarita!
7. This was a great homey no nonsense place to park yourselves after being out all day and not needing much else but a bed and you don't want to pay too much. Especially good if you can spoil yourselves later in the trip at a nice hotel as we are!
8. Mind the resort fee $6.99 I think additional as are taxes.
9. Oh and lastly the gym only had a few pieces of gym equipment, i.e. cross trainer, treadmill, bike, no weights.
Just remember this is a 3 Star hotel and you always get what you pay for but it is clean, comfortable, generous with towels, friendly and well located. And lastly stay in Anaheim not LA if you are going to Disneyland it's too far!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenoisyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

So we get to the hotel after i had prebooked in June for Blizzcon 2010. They had messed up my reservation and gave me a room with one one bed for three people. No problem the lady says and free upgrade to a suite (ha!) however it was definately not a suite. 2 Small Queen beds and a couch. That was it.

The hotel cleaning staff was very rude and none of them spoke a word of english which was a challenge getting someone to clean our room for our entire 4 night stay. Practically had to beg and plead with the Front Desk to get someone and when they finally did come my bed received a bloody pillow. Yep you heard it. Bloody! When i called to complain about it they literally acted liked i was lying until i brought it down and sure enough, a 12" blood stain on my pillow.

Parking is horrible as they have a very limited parking garage and no one checks to see if it is full, when it is you have to back out of it because there is no ability to turn around. Breakfast was decent however they consistently failed to put out enough food for everyone which led to people standing around waiting for food up to 20 minutes while they cooked more.

6.99 mandatory daily resort fee, $1 per day safe fee, and overcharging my credit card twice seems like the norm here. The staff is largely unhelpful about everything. Overall for the money stay at the Hilton and pay the higher fees. You may not pay much more if you use a travel service like i did with Orbitz and the difference from a 3 star and a 5 star hotel are pretty big.

Oh yeah one last thing, The renovations that they are doing they blocked my floor off when we were staying there so the last day we had to physically move barricades to get out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antivirus6915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Myself and two friends stayed here for four nights in October while enjoying the Halloween festivities at Disneyland. I booked the trip via Orbitz and felt that it was a reasonable deal ($149/night including a rental car). The hotel is situated near the corner of Katella and Harbor and is about a 10 minute walk to the main entrance of Disneyland (we timed it). The lobby of the hotel is quite clean and well maintained. During our stay they were working on the hotel which did lend to some construction noises during the day which, were slightly loud at time but it was usually wrapped up by 6pm. Our room was #409, which was a deluxe room which had been recently updated and was extremely tidy. There were two queen size beds as well as a desk area, mini-fridge and microwave. The beds were moderately comfortable, though I would recommend requesting additional pillows and blankets. The free breakfast is served every morning at 7am on the 5th floor. It was better than your standard free breakfast and included items such as eggs, potatoes, sausage and waffles. The one downside is that if you are going to Disneyland for a Magic Morning (the park opens at 7) you aren't able to eat anything before you go. The hotels location is next to a 7 Eleven and another mini market which is great for picking up snacks and any other necessities. There was always someone at the front desk and the main doors were secure, requiring a key to enter during the later hours of the night. We parked our car in the underground lot and never had any issue finding a space. We did not use the swimming pool or hot tub however it is highly visible from the lobby. While it is did appear to be a bit on the small side and enclosed in an outdoor courtyard it seemed perfectly adequate (after all shouldn't you be enjoying Disneyland?) Overall we found it to be suitable accommodations near Disneyland, since we hardly spent any time in our room. I have stayed at a handful of hotels around Disneyland including Anabella, Camelot Inn and suites, Tropicana and Park Place and found it to be similar quality. I would stay here again on a future visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahlynae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

Positives: the room is clean, shower is ok and the service (concierge) is fine. Parking is free, internet is free and apparently you get breakfast.
Now for the rest...Thought the photos and reviews would do this hotel justice...we say No. Maybe its because we booked at the last minute (we did book directly on the hotels' website) but the room is the smallest we've come across (even NYC have bigger!)
Don't get room 301 - right across from the laundry and a metre away from the lifts - so high traffic volume area. The price isn't that cheap ($170 AUS ish) but perhaps it is for the area?
We considered staying two nights...until we got into the room. We only intend to stay one night and visit Disneyland etc tomorrow - this would be the only reason you would stay here...unless you have kids and can handle them running down the hallways (lets hope the sugar rush clears by 10pm!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellebentravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing