We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #23 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Spent 8 days there at start of July. We had two rooms; ours was a sahara kitchenette suite, (room 435) to the front of the hotel, with a nice view out to the street and all the gorgeously lit trees. Other couple with us had a standard room (426) along the hall, which looked out to a brick wall and developed a damp smell during the holiday. So... I'd probably recommend one of the suites if you visit!

Location is ideal, 10 mins to Disney, 10 mins to the Gardenwalk, where you'll find lots of eating places, nice shops and a cinema complex.

Check in staff were very friendly, lobby is spacious and spotless. Parking was in a underground area, which I found a little off-putting, but it was free, which many others are not. My abiding memory of this hotel is how clean it was, the staff were ALWAYS cleaning, from the floors of the elevator to the tops of the corridor pictures, it was great!

Kitchen area had dishes and cutlery, a fridge, microwave and cooker. We didn't cook there, but it was a handy facility. Personally I found the way the cups, coffee maker and dishes had been cleaned left a strong after taste of bleach-like dishwasher tablets, so used the polystyrene for cups for tea!

Breakfast was similar every morning, but there was lots of it, and being able to have cornflakes, toast, fruit juice and tea each morning was a healthy start which saved us a lots of bucks in eating out! They also did eggs, oatmeal, sausages, oranges, etc.

The pool was the only slight disappointment - quite small, didn't catch much sunlight, was cold and the chlorine was very strong. We elected after our first dip to walk the 200 yards to a hotel we'd stayed at last trip... bit cheeky, I know, but we did give it lots of money in drinks and snacks!

For the money, the Desert Palms was good value and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I 'd definitely stay again if I get back to Anaheim.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hootsmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,793 - 1,799 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2009

Visit Disneyland every year, but this was the first time at the Desert Palms. Myself, Daughter, and Granddaughter stayed the first week of May. It was great! The people at the front desk were very helpful. The room was everything we needed and wanted. Breakfast was great. We could eat until filled - inside or out on the roof terrace. The walk to the park was a snap, and given that 7-11 is right there - you pick up water, soda, etc. before going anywhere which saves money. I was awed by the custodial staff as they took great care in polishing the floors of the elevators. They shown like glass. Very nice place to stay - as a matter of fact - trying to work out some time to go back in the fall. Will definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy-5297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We were wondering if the 0.7 mile (per Google maps) hike to and from Disneyland would be too much for our 5 year old daughter. It was a snap! The sidewalk to Disneyland was wide, heavily traveled, and well-lit. Forget the $4 per person shuttle. Walk and save $8 per person per day.

That being said, the hotel was great. It is a newer hotel and has a wide varied of rooms. We had a 1-bedroom suite which is actually a mini-suite. However, it was neat, clean, and well-appointed. The parking was free which is a plus. The continental breakfast room got a bit crowded, but the food was fine and saved $$$. Especially in the Disneyland area. There is a 7-11 right next door for snacks and soda. A lot of very good family restaurants are within walking distance and if you have a car there are a myriad of good restaurants within 5 minutes.

Watch for deals on the travel sites as you can get a great deal if you travel off season. We would stay there again on our next Disney trek.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaipahuTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

One reason we stayed was because of the "full complimentary" breakfast. It was hardly what we were accustomed to - fruit loops and corn flakes, juice, tasteless scrambled eggs with chopped ham, small sausage patty, biscuits and sausage gravy. Lots of boxed donuts and icky coffee served in small styrofoam cups. No fresh fruit, yogurt or muffins - much less waffles to go with the syrup that was set out. We paid extra to upgrade our room to have a view and the view on the 3rd floor looked at the wall to the motel directly behind ours. Our room accomodated 6 people but we could only ever get 3 washcloths. When the sofa bed (awful, awful) was pulled out - there was no room to walk.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

great hotel! great ppl at the front desk and i work for marriott resorts...i know! breakfast is great and free! even better! eggs, sausages, cereals, donuts, gravy biscuits! yeah it was a wonderful trip!! the hotel is close to everything! easy to get to... easy to travel to universal, san diego! grocery stores near by, outlets, malls.... you name it!

lots of cheap places to eat around there too!!! ;) buffets, family style restaurants...etc!

all i can say for sure, rent a car... take in all the parks with city pass....drive the hour to san diego! so much to do there too! the zoo, wild animal park, la jolla!!!!

oh man i wish i was still there!!!!! awesome!

and thank you sooooooo much for making this trip truly the happiest place on earth!!!! i will be back... in fact..i am sending my friends your way!!! ( hope i can sneak in their luggage)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

This hotel did all it said it would. The rooms are big (like most US hotels) and the bathrooms are big and there are 3 times as many towels as you need. :)

Could do with a little updating, but it's within a few hundred metres of Disneyland's main entrance and worth every penny we paid.

I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinnugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We were travelling with another family and we all found this hotel an excellent place to stay. It was very very clean. They even change the sheets on the beds everyday! Close enough to Disneyland to walk quite easily. Another plus, was that it came with breakfast. Nothing fancy but did the job. I must admit I was a bit hesitant as I had read alot of negative feedback about this hotel on Trip Advisor. We were all very comfortable staying at this hotel and would definately stay here again on our next visit. The only negative thing I can think of is that our room was quite noisy in the mornings as I think it may have been positioned underneath the outdoor breakfast area and we could hear all the chairs scraping as people pushed them in and out. Would still definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donutsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 119 in Anaheim
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 119 in Anaheim
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $164 - $1,477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing