We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Very clean, large room, friendly staff, next to Disneyland and good rates. Thank you for a nice stay!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,011)
There are newer reviews for Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,802 - 1,808 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2008

We had a party of 15 and we stayed four days. The rooms we had reserved were not what we got and king beds were changed to double queens. The suites (with two bedrooms) were so cramped we could not fit a stroller in the room let alone the crib we needed to use for the 2 babies with us. Checking in took 30 minutes!
The quiznos closed over 3 months ago, but the hotel's web site still shows it's open.
The hotel is close to the park and there is a small entrance into the disney parking lot a block away where you can ride the parking tram, but the hotel staff evidently did not know about it. The told us to walk about 6 blocks farther to the main disney entrance.
Find a better hotel for your money.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rbnafziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

The hotel is great--right next to Disneyland and a real bargin for how nice it is. A trolley picks you up right out front and drops you off right at Disneyland and does the same for a return trip. The hotel serves a very nice continental breakfast all included in your room charge. There's a microwave and refrigerator in the room as well. The rooms are clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catkwzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Solid value for our two-night stay on 10/31 and 11/1. We were assigned one of the non-renovated room, which was older and had older linens, comforter, chairs, etc.

The hotel does go 3 for 3 in my criteria of what I like in a hotel; free breakfast (eggs and sausage patties onr day, eggs and biscuits and gravy the next), free parking (although they were repainting the garage) and free Internet.

The walk to Disney Maingate wasnt too far either and took less than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abomb676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed here for our Disneyland vaction. The hotel was great the pool was nice, it a little small but perfect for a relaxing time after a long day. The room we stayed in was newly renovated and was great. We had an absolute blast. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from Disneyland which was great. The breakfast was good, I wouldn't say great but it hit the spot. All in all I think this is a great place and I would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JtotheIzzoVtotheIzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

November 2, 2008
Modesto, California

We have been staying at Desert Palms for the last three years. We go to the Disneyland Resort 3-4 times per year and find this hotel to be very convenient to the park. It is within walking distance. The breakfast is a wonderful perk and has recently been upgraded with additional food items. The staff has always been very helpful and in fact, on our most recent trip last week, we were given an upgrade on our room at no additional charge. I strongly recommend Desert Palms because of the amenities and very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelsie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. It is located very close to the Anaheim Convention Center, allowing me to walk quickly to a conference I was attending. It is located relatively close to Disneyland--within walking distance for adults, but too far to walk for small children. If you plan to walk back and forth to the park with tired, young children, be sure to bring a stroller or you will regret it! They do offer a shuttle service...for a fee.

The staff was friendly and courteous, the continental breakfast was convenient and tasted good. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. One thing to keep in mind is that the pictures on their website are mostly of their deluxe suites--if you are expecting their regular rooms to look that nice, you will be disappointed.

Overall, this hotel provides very good value for the cost. The only things I didn't like about this hotel were the limited hours of availability of the exercise room (probably to avoid waking the guests below since it is located on the top floor) and potentially limited parking during peak travel seasons. Otherwise, it is a very nice option if you are traveling for business and will save you significant money over some of the other hotels as long as you plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shobeiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,680 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $161 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing