We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great 4 special needs family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great 4 special needs family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had stayed next door at Candy Cane Inn, and found it very limiting for our special needs daughters, especially our oldest, who uses a wheelchair for mobility. Not so at Desert Palms! The accessible room was far better than expected with lots of places for the wheelchair to turn around and be stored out of the way. The bathroom was large and made for a wonderful stay! We had a room facing Disneyland, so saw the fireworks over the buildings, which was terrific!! The breakfast on the top floor was very good, and the hot options kept our girls and us going all day. Staff was very friendly, and made every effort to help when asked. The only negative was the small courtyard pool and hot tub, but we never saw it too busy, and you don't come here to swim. Tons of reasonable places very close to eat. Considering all the place I check out before coming, we made the right choice to stay at Desert Palms

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor facing Disneyland
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    616
    266
    102
    96
See reviews for
1,273
141
16
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We checked in all seemed good. The first down fall we noticed was that the free wifi was very poor and only was well accessible in the hotel lobby. I had to do some business while on our trip so this was a bit frustrating at times.
We had a suite with bunk beds for the kids which they loved. I really liked that the bunk beds had stairs going up to them and not a ladder which can be dangerous for Toddlers. The tv in the kids room also a nice to distract the kids while we could watch mommy and daddy tv shows.
We were here for 5 days and only had 1 morning for about 2 hours that we did not have hot water. Was a bit disappointing and the excuse was a "burnt out fuse"
I was disappointed about all the coupons and deals for Disney and the surrounding amenities the hotel staff wanted to give us as we were checking out as well. Where was this when we were checking in? Also recommendation to this hotel, get rid of the time share guy at the front.
I liked that there was no cost for parking and was only a 10 minute walk to the front gates of Disney.
I would recommend this hotel to others on a budget and a young family but I myself will be trying another hotel next time we go back to Disney.

Room Tip: 442 had no wifi at all and no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-D7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Amazing experience. Allowed to check-in early, great rooms, great service!

We were given parking passes for 2 days while we spent our time at Disneyland and allowed to check-in 5 hours early. Room was very clean and very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank aaronc131981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Desert Palms is a great and convenient place to stay for a a Disneyland Resort vacation. The prices are quite reasonable for being so close to the park. Hot breakfast, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Parking is free and well secured. The walk to the park is only one stop light away, basically 2 blocks and the same side as the park. Great options for restaurants are a reasonable walk away.

Room Tip: We were to have a king, queen pull out and bunk bed but when we checked in the room was being repair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suef56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Read a lot of reviews online while planning my trip to southern California. This hotel offers FREE parking and FREE breakfast. The location is within walking distance to California Adventure and DIsneyland. Even after a full day in the park the hotel was close enough that no one complained. The free breakfast was delicious.... great waffle bar and items changed each and every day. I was impressed by the care that was placed into the food. THe pool is small but was a good size... we enjoyed the hot tub. I would recommend this hotel to families looking for a place close to disney to stay and to people attending conferences. Overall GREAT experience.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor... it was great... views of the street which was fine with me
See more room tips
Green Features: I thought the hotel was environmentally concious... sheets and towels were all used to the best of our ability. seemed to be efficient and well monitored
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great hotel with great service, the front desk was always helpful. Walking distance to Disneyland and all restaurants. Heated pool, laundry. Big rooms. Would definitely stay again.They serve a great buffet breakfast with a big variety.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamer5869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We checked in Oct 23rd for a 4 night stay with 3 rooms taking our children and grand-children to Disneyland. When we arrived the clerk offered us an upgrade to a suite, not just for one room but for all 3 rooms. This worked out so great since the first night we ordered pizza from Papa Johns and had a table with 4 chairs, couch, chair, and coffee table to all be together. Papa John's did not bring plates or napkins but the restaurant at Desert Palms offered paper plates and napkins. The room was clean and spacious. The refrigerator is larger than most hotel rooms and there were 2 flat screen TV's. We were so surprised when we heard a popping noise at 9pm and realized they were fireworks from Disney that we could easily see out our window on the 4th floor.
Desert Palms had a wonderful hot breakfast with eggs, waffles, and everything else you could want. The service at cleaning the tables and keeping the food filled was very impressive. Desert Palms is located just behind Radiator Springs Racers at California Adventure Park. It is an easy walk to Disneyland and you do not have to cross any busy streets. Next door is a 7-11 which was great for getting drinks for the pizza and milk for baby bottles.
The staff was so kind and thoughtful and as we checked out they even took our picture with Mickey Mouse. There is a photo stand where you can send the picture on facebook with a timer so that everyone can get in the picture, which is now on my facebook profile page. Loved our stay, we were all very impressed with all the extra details the hotel offered such as strawberry and lemon water when you walked into the lobby.
Thank you Desert Palms for making our vacation such a great experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#18 of 117 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 117 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing