We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good family hotel for a Disneyland Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% off Stay!
Ranked #29 of 116 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Layton, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good family hotel for a Disneyland Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently had a good stay at Desert Palms. In fact, we didn't complain once. Our room was nice. It was a suite where the kids room had a wall and bunk beds (TV on kids wall). It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was about what we expected. It wasn't great, however, it wasn't bad either. I guess if I had one compliant it would be that the cafeteria was often jam packed in the mornings. They opened a room down the hall to accommodate everyone, which was nice.

We took our 8 and 5 year old and brought no stroller. We didn't think we'd need it. This made for some long walks back to the hotel carrying tired kids. It's about .5 miles to the entrance of the parks, and then you're walking all over all day long. We had to carry the 5 year old a lot. In hindsight we should have rented a stroller.

Anyways, there's a 7-11 next door to the hotel and a Subway across the street. There's a Cheesecake Factory, PF Chang's, and California Pizza (and a few others) maybe .5 miles in a different direction from the parks. We drove to those restaurants during our mid day break. You can get your parking validated when you eat.

We'll easily stay at Desert Palms in the future. The staff were very hospitable.

This was our favorite Disney area hotel in the three trips we've made in the last 5 years. We also stayed at the Staybridge and Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    588
    254
    101
    91
See reviews for
1,192
132
13
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was exactly what I expected. It's not perfect but it ticks a lot of boxes if you're looking for good value Disneyland accommodation. First the positives, the location is nice and close to Disney, they have family suites with separate rooms for kids, there's a decent pool, the staff are very helpful and it's good value for money. The downsides are that although the breakfast is free, it's pretty terrible, the rooms are not very spacious and our room was slightly musty. Still, the positives far outweigh the negatives and I'd stay here again if I was visiting Disney.

Room Tip: We were in 318 and the view out of our balcony was of the carpark, so there may be better views else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankRizz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 10 year old twin boys in a Yuhu kids room. The stay was great. The kids loved having a separate room to us with a bunk and there own television and air conditioner. The room was spacious and clean. There was a small fridge to store drink bottles and things in and the room had a safe. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to Disneyland, so it was easy to return during the day and change clothes and take a break. The buffet breakfast was not bad. Not too many options, but some hot foods, cereal, waffles, toast, fruit and donuts. The service staff were not great, at one time I stood at the counter (with another gentleman) and we were ignored by at least two staff members. (A little acknowledgement goes a long way!) Overall, wer would recommend a stay at this hotel for a family or anyone who wants to be close to Disneyland.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to choose a family room if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Just got here and for what I paid, it is not worth it. Room is very small and old. Slight musty smell. Noisy cooler. Pool is small. Not at all what it looked like on the website. Ten dollar resort fee. So disappointed. I paid a lot for this room. Never again. Could someone help me out and tell me a reasonably priced hotel not too far from the park that is worth it? Thanks.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank crs10snfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have stayed in several hotels around Disneyland and this one was one of the best for the money. Plus FREE parking! It took less than 10 minutes to walk to Disneyland and there were several national chain restaurants within walking distance. A 7/11 on the corner was handy for buying snacks and water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hhagen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This place has some good qualities. Close to Disneyland and restaurants. Free breakfast (not the best, but it's free). Friendly and helpful staff. I love the cucumber water in the lobby. The pool is not great, but my kids swam in it every day while we were here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffkelly31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked the room with joining rooms. When we got there the 2nd room was not clean. They put us in a clean room and on 2nd day cleaned the joining room. Breakfast is not that great. Eggs some times sausage. Hotel has a funny smell.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneadatyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#14 of 116 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#33 of 116 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.5 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing