We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #22 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I went to Disneyland last week from Tuesday, August 6th - Saturday, August 10th - we had a fantastic stay! great rooms, full breakfast was awesome - just a great overall stay. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank tishamarie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 2,051 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel is an easy 10 - 15 minute walk to the park. Nice lobby and front desk staff is very good & very helpful. Rooms are just okay - not super clean but not dirty - just okay.
Travel party included two adults and two teenagers. Booked the Kalahari suite which has two bedrooms with two beds in each room. The two bedroons are separated by two full bathrooms and common counter with sink. Perfect for my group. Paid $389 per night total including tax + fees - over a weekend. I called the hotel directly and received a better price than was posted on the web site. A basic room at Disneyland Hotel in the park was $550 per night total that same weekend for room with two queens.
Hotel is a little loud in the mornings but most people are getting up anyway to head to the park. Free breakfast is decent. Coffee was awful but food choices were good. Adjacent 7-11 is nice but crowd gets a little rough after midnight. None of the traffic makes it to the hotel lobby. Hotel felt safe. One funny item - they have some giant Pepsi machines in the middle of the hallways. Not set back in a cove but sticking out. Giant machines and loud.
Overall, the hotel is a good value based on the price, location and size of the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DelrayMike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was the best place to stay if you have kids. We stayed is a room that had a seperate room with bunkbeds so the kids had there own space. Loved the pool in the middle of the hotel. Very safe and secure!!

Room Tip: If you have kids get the room with the bunkbeds! Worth the money, especially if you have spend the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Desert Palms for 7 days because of the location from Disneyland. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Nice pool, nice hotel staff and our room was very clean. The lobby is beautiful and we really liked the water station in the lobby. It was nice to have a free wifi, microwave and fridge in our room. Also there's lots of nice restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay at Desert Palms again.

Room Tip: back room, top floor and room that is not close to Katella Ave so you won't be able to hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 897katie518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was booked by family who planned our trip but then were unable to join us. We stayed 3 nights in a Borrego Suite and were sad to leave. The pull out queen sofa and extra tv in a curtained off area was especially appreciated by our 2 girls who loved having their own space. The room was very spacious and comfortable for 3 adults, 1 teenager and 2 children. The room and bathroom was very clean. The fridge was a really nice size to hold drinks, snacks and leftovers.

The free breakfast was very good and a great way to start the day. As for the comment about "sneaking food out", we took food out of the breakfast area and to our room so the kids were able to sleep in and be well rested for a long, hot day at Disneyland. Not everyone is able to be up and ready for breakfast between 6 and 9am, especially after staying in Disneyland until midnight!

The location was great with a 7-11 next door and numerous restaurants a short distance away. It was a little far from Disneyland, the walk to the park was ok but after walking all day in the heat we didn't want to walk back to the hotel. The taxi's weren't happy about driving us back to the hotel since it's such a short driving distance, it cost us $10 to save our feet and give the kids a break.

The pool and pool area was very clean, the kids really enjoyed it.

Next time I would prefer a hotel closer to the Disneyland entrance but would definitely consider this one again based soley on the convenience of the suites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel suited our family (3 kids) perfectly, with an adjoining room with bunks & sofa-bed to sleep the kids - however we had to stay 4 nights in order to get this room. Nice and clean - the décor is a bit tired, and the service sometimes a bit perfunctory, but no complaints. The breakfast buffet is free and quite average, but the kids ate up. Just a short walk down the boulevard to Disneyland Parks, which was great when we took breaks from the park and swam in the hotel pool. We bought our park tickets at reception, and they were very helpful. Would recommend for a family holiday to the parks!

Room Tip: For families with three kids we stayed in the family room with a bunk set and a pull-out sofa bed, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Traveling to Anaheim is something I do at least twice a year, sometimes more often.

For many years, I have been a customer at another hotel property in the area. However, even though I was loyal to that particular property, I kept thinking about making the switch to the Desert Palms Hotel & Suites. Finally, this was the year and we are so glad that we made the change.

The Desert Palms is first class in every way…the lobby, the quality of the sleeping rooms, the complimentary WiFi, tasty breakfast each morning, hotel location, etc. After one day, we kept thinking what took us so long to make the change? In the future, our Anaheim home will be the Desert Palms. It has everything we could possibly want and has earned our business.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 119 in Anaheim
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#29 of 119 in Anaheim
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $148 - $1,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing