We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ridgecrest, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was the best place to stay if you have kids. We stayed is a room that had a seperate room with bunkbeds so the kids had there own space. Loved the pool in the middle of the hotel. Very safe and secure!!

Room Tip: If you have kids get the room with the bunkbeds! Worth the money, especially if you have spend the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    644
    271
    104
    99
See reviews for
1,327
148
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Desert Palms for 7 days because of the location from Disneyland. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Nice pool, nice hotel staff and our room was very clean. The lobby is beautiful and we really liked the water station in the lobby. It was nice to have a free wifi, microwave and fridge in our room. Also there's lots of nice restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay at Desert Palms again.

Room Tip: back room, top floor and room that is not close to Katella Ave so you won't be able to hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 897katie518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was booked by family who planned our trip but then were unable to join us. We stayed 3 nights in a Borrego Suite and were sad to leave. The pull out queen sofa and extra tv in a curtained off area was especially appreciated by our 2 girls who loved having their own space. The room was very spacious and comfortable for 3 adults, 1 teenager and 2 children. The room and bathroom was very clean. The fridge was a really nice size to hold drinks, snacks and leftovers.

The free breakfast was very good and a great way to start the day. As for the comment about "sneaking food out", we took food out of the breakfast area and to our room so the kids were able to sleep in and be well rested for a long, hot day at Disneyland. Not everyone is able to be up and ready for breakfast between 6 and 9am, especially after staying in Disneyland until midnight!

The location was great with a 7-11 next door and numerous restaurants a short distance away. It was a little far from Disneyland, the walk to the park was ok but after walking all day in the heat we didn't want to walk back to the hotel. The taxi's weren't happy about driving us back to the hotel since it's such a short driving distance, it cost us $10 to save our feet and give the kids a break.

The pool and pool area was very clean, the kids really enjoyed it.

Next time I would prefer a hotel closer to the Disneyland entrance but would definitely consider this one again based soley on the convenience of the suites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel suited our family (3 kids) perfectly, with an adjoining room with bunks & sofa-bed to sleep the kids - however we had to stay 4 nights in order to get this room. Nice and clean - the décor is a bit tired, and the service sometimes a bit perfunctory, but no complaints. The breakfast buffet is free and quite average, but the kids ate up. Just a short walk down the boulevard to Disneyland Parks, which was great when we took breaks from the park and swam in the hotel pool. We bought our park tickets at reception, and they were very helpful. Would recommend for a family holiday to the parks!

Room Tip: For families with three kids we stayed in the family room with a bunk set and a pull-out sofa bed, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Traveling to Anaheim is something I do at least twice a year, sometimes more often.

For many years, I have been a customer at another hotel property in the area. However, even though I was loyal to that particular property, I kept thinking about making the switch to the Desert Palms Hotel & Suites. Finally, this was the year and we are so glad that we made the change.

The Desert Palms is first class in every way…the lobby, the quality of the sleeping rooms, the complimentary WiFi, tasty breakfast each morning, hotel location, etc. After one day, we kept thinking what took us so long to make the change? In the future, our Anaheim home will be the Desert Palms. It has everything we could possibly want and has earned our business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and highly enjoyed my stay. The staff at reception/concierge were excellent and very helpful!! I had a room on the 3rd floor (301) and probably would recommend having a room further down the corridor as it was right across from the laundry and ice machine so had a bit of noise (and alot of kids running up and down the corridors). The room was big and nice with a fridge and microwave and large wardrobe. I had a window facing the pool and spa and heard the noise from there. Pool and spa were also excellent with complimentary clean towels available all day long!! There is also a gift shop, gym and games corner and the free breakfast. I was slightly disappointed with the breakfast and only had it 1 day- some cereal, pancakes/waffles (that you make yourself) and hot food, some bread and jam and then donuts and muffins. The only healthy food was orange and apples (and the knives were not sharp enough to cut either). You could also sit outside on the rooftop which was really nice. However it was free so wasn't too bad ( the next day i bought juice and fruit salad from the 7/11 next door. The hotel also has free wifi and 2 computers that can be used free of charge in the lobby. Would highly recommend for famillies with young children travelling to Disneyland.

Room Tip: rooms on the street side will minimise noise from the pool and higher room numbers will minimise noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have stayed here a few times now and each has been a positive experience. The suite with the step-down living room is wonderful when traveling with the baby. We're able to draw the curtain and give him a quiet nap time without having to be in the dark ourselves.
The "basic" room isn't as nice, but still clean and comfortable. Very helpful having a fridge and microwave. Bathroom is decent size.
Breakfast buffet on the roof is a great way to start the day (can usually at least get some eggs or oatmeal for a heartier breakfast). Have hot and cold foods available. View from the patio lets you see the back side of DCA.
I think this is becoming our preferred place to stay when we visit the park. It is indeed a walk, but it's very doable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing