We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location. Ok hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in a queen room for 4 nights and just checked out a couple of days ago. The hotel needs some renovations. The beds were nice, but there is an ugly orange color on the door to the room and one of the walls. The room we were put in was facing Katella and the noise was so loud at night it sounded like the window was open. Also, we came back to rest during a long day at the park one day and a man (I'm guessing part of housekeeping) was knocking on every door on our floor. We could hear vacuum cleaners, but I'm not sure what they were doing. It was late in the afternoon. The next day we asked to be moved to the back of the hotel and the staff moved our belongings while we were at Disneyland which was nice because we didn't have to go back and do it ourselves. It was a lot quieter in the back of the hotel. The only issue we had in the second room was that we were on the 2nd floor and the main elevators don't go to the second floor for some reason. So we had to go to the 1st floor and take a the main elevators to the 5th floor for breakfast. Breakfast was great. They had a variety of items everyday of our stay. All in all it was a decent stay for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, but not on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    653
    273
    104
    99
See reviews for
1,344
152
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

first impressions of hotel were great, the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. the rooms were clean and inviting, the breakfast was great a lot of options, the sandbox bar and grill had great food and the portions were a lot bigger than expected. the food was also priced very well. we were a little disappointed that we did not get to enjoy your pool as it was under construction, but no big deal. I do want to state that this was our very first family trip, and it was our very first time ever going to Disneyland. we enjoyed it so much that we are planning on returning sometime this November. based on our experience with your Hotel, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VANESSA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently stayed at this Hotel for our trip to Disneyland. We stayed in a one bedroom suite that included the frig, microwave and living roonm with sofa sleeper. The sofa sleeper was in poor condition, very uncomfortable and I felt badly for my daughter and son-in-law. The queen beds were average, sheets seemed older. The bathroom was a good size but towels were very thin and seemed older also. It was really nice having the refrigerator for water and my grandson snacks. We did not use the microwave or the stove. The TV was newer which was nice. We did have a suite that was located right next to the elevator which was good but really bad for noise. We were on the 3rd floor and the upstairs was noisy also. Staff seemed really friendly though. We tried to have dinner at their restaurant but they had to close due to some problem with the kitchen. The server was really friendly and suggested several places down the street, which included a lot of really good restaurants, which we decidedly on Cheescake Factory and the food was GREAT! Service was wonderful. I would recommend this Hotel to families due to the price, convenience of location to Disneyland, pool (the kids there seemed to LOVE it) and the breakfast in the morning (but expect long lines if you are not there very early).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerbear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My first stay and I will surely come back again! Hotel is clean, rooms are nice and the hotel staff is great! I have always left a small note in the morning to thank the cleaning staff. It wasn't until last week, at this hotel, that I received a response back - nice!! Location is close to convention center. Convenient store right next door. Walking distance to many restaurants. I appreciated the morning breakfast adding some different options each day.

Room Tip: Depending on how much time you plan to stay - check out room options. Some have small accomodations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Desert Palms. Overall an enjoyable experience and I would recommend it to future Disneyland travelers. The one drawback would be how busy the breakfast room is in the morning, the line would backup up quite a bit and often they'd be out of stuff and not have in refilled quick enough. The breakfast room looks limited in seating but there is a deck outside with table and chairs with umbrellas which was nice. Options for breakfast are limited and so we only ate there a few times and did character breakfasts the other days.

When we first checked in we were bumped up to a family suite that had a separate room with a bunkbed and TV. My son loved this! It was nice for him to play with his toys while we got ready for the parks each morning. Thankfully we were on the first floor and didn't have to deal with elevators except when going to the breakfast room. The room overall was clean and nice. Plenty of closet space and a nice shelf area with the fridge and microwave. Safe was in the closet and uses a key, which I didn't like because you have to keep track of the key with you. I prefer a safe that has a code locking system. Lots of sink space. Towels are a bit thin. The carpet was stained though so that was the one problem I had with the room, made me wonder exactly how clean the floor was so I kept all our stuff up off the ground. Beds were adequate but nothing great. Rooms are very narrow so even in the suite don't expect a whole lot of room. There was more room in the separate room with bunkbeds. My parents had a standard king room and they said the room was very small and no shelf with the fridge and microwave. Really friendly staff and they were very helpful. The walk was only about 10 minutes and wasn't a big deal since our son was in the stroller.

I'd rate this an average hotel. FYI, used a central air conditioning which was nice and quiet and could be adjusted as needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dis3fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Borrego Suite was perfect for our trip! We had 4 adults and two children and had plenty of space for everyone.The tv room was a great addition as well as the mini fridge and microwave! I have an infant and would have been in big trouble without it!! The staff was super friendly and helpful, even the house keepers were great help! The complex was clean and safe. The restaurant had GREAT food and good pricing.The extra bonus was the free breakfast. They had eggs, sausage, cereal, burritos everything that would suit anyone! I would definitaly stay there again as well as recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SASHI023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Here are the good points about this hotel:
-Clean rooms, decent size
-Easy 10 minute walk to Disneyland
-Next to 7-Eleven for convenient items
-Small restaurant in hotel
-Just a couple of blocks to shopping mall area with nice restaurants
-Friendly staff
-Affordable

Here's what we didn't like:
-The buffet was horrible. Crowded, stuffy eating area. Limited food items. Cheap, low quality food. This wouldn't be that big of a deal, but this was one of the primary reasons we booked this hotel, for the free buffet breakfast.
-Small pool area with limited seating. Very crowded feeling with any more than about 3 families using the pool at one time.
-Stuffy hallways
-Poor lighting in the rooms

Room Tip: We upgraded our room to one with a "living room" area. We definitely took advantage of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseyjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
1,638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing