We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book this for the free breakfast buffet… but the rooms are decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Happy Valley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't book this for the free breakfast buffet… but the rooms are decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Here are the good points about this hotel:
-Clean rooms, decent size
-Easy 10 minute walk to Disneyland
-Next to 7-Eleven for convenient items
-Small restaurant in hotel
-Just a couple of blocks to shopping mall area with nice restaurants
-Friendly staff
-Affordable

Here's what we didn't like:
-The buffet was horrible. Crowded, stuffy eating area. Limited food items. Cheap, low quality food. This wouldn't be that big of a deal, but this was one of the primary reasons we booked this hotel, for the free buffet breakfast.
-Small pool area with limited seating. Very crowded feeling with any more than about 3 families using the pool at one time.
-Stuffy hallways
-Poor lighting in the rooms

Room Tip: We upgraded our room to one with a "living room" area. We definitely took advantage of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseyjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    644
    271
    104
    99
See reviews for
1,327
148
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed one year with a group, next time tried another hotel. Not a good move... This place not only was it Very clean, it had Great food and everyday upon return from our adventures out. The wonderful people caring for our room did extra things for our daughter to enjoy.

Room Tip: If anything doesn't work or you need something, this place will go out of their way to assist yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here briefly during our trip and it was quite a mediocre place to stay. The hotel lobby is okay, but the rooms were quite outdated and dark. Our room was nicely sized and the beds were comfortable but the bathroom was a hassle to shower in due to the pressure and placement of the shower head.

I only attended the free breakfast once and was not impressed at all. The downstairs cafe was okay, but the waiter there could not understand anything I was saying despite repeating myself and speaking clearly for him, and all of our orders were messed up. I would probably look elsewhere if I returned.

Great location however as it was only about a 10 minute walk to Disneyland, but it can feel like so much further when you have been walking around the park in the heat for roughly 15 hours!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Took our family to Disney, but didn't want to stay at one of the Disneyland hotels. Decided that this would be close enough to walk, but not with the cost of the park hotels. We were very pleasantly surprised when we checked in. Jessika helped us check in and was wonderful. Very nice and professional. Told us everything we needed to know about times, places, and even Disney. Got to our room and it was a great two-room suite with a pool view. It was perfect for our family. The kids had bunk beds and were able to sit and watch tv or play, and we were able to go to our "room" and relax after the long day. It was great (and clean!). We will definitely be going back soon!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for a few days when visiting Disneyland. The location is great, because there is a 7-11 next door and Disneyland is within walking distance. There is free parking and wi-fi which was nice :) There is a free breakfast every morning that was always crowded. They had coffee (which tasted terribly watered down), oatmeal (which also was greatly watered down), and your standard cereals, juice, eggs, meat, potatoes, pastries, and waffles. It seemed no matter what time my friends and I went down for breakfast, it was always crowded. For two days we couldn't find any seats so we took our food upstairs to our room to eat...which wasn't so bad because it was almost like room service :) The pool was always crowded, and then was closed for 3-4 days for some renovations/cleaning/maintenance. My only major gripe was that the shower pressure was terrible in the morning!!! It took so much longer to shower because the water would trickle out of the shower head and it would take at least and extra 10 minutes to get all the soap out of my hair (I have medium length hair). Overall though, for the price, the view (we saw fireworks from our room the first night we arrived - we had the sunken living room), the free parking & breakfast, and the location, the hotel was an overall good experience.

Room Tip: If traveling with more than two people in a room, reserve a sunken living room! It was nice and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the desert palms and were really happy.ok it's not the Wynn but for the price it represents excellent value for any family visiting Disney.it really is the easiest walk to the park along nice big sidewalk and not even 10 minutes.there are nearer hotels but they won't be any better than the palm as the Service is great.ignore the bad reviews-the staff go out of their way to help-we had to change rooms as our street side room was too noisy for me (I'm a very very light sleeper) and after already upgrading us at check in, they moved us to a fab 2 bed room on the internal pool side and moved all our stuff while we were at the park!they let us look at rooms first too and never pressured us into choosing.breakfast is typical mid budget hotel choice-scrambled eggs,sausage patties,waffles etc but more than decent to get you going-you can pick up a nice coffee at the sandbox restaurant on your way out anyway! pool looked nice and they're busy refurbing surrounds. Pn site shop and ABC next door have plenty of cheap disney and LA tat to take home ad gifts too. if you want fancy pay the $500+ a night at one of the Disney but don't forget you'll be out all day at the park! To all the haters out there-stop booking budget then complaining about everything! You'll have an easy and happy stay at the desert palm.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darkfavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel has a great location to Dland main gate. Free parking and free breakfast among the perks. The Dland shuttle stop is right outside the front of the hotel, so for $5 a day you have continuous shuttle to and from Dland and DCA, well worth it especially at the end of a long day. The Yuha kids suites are great and have plenty of room, king bed+bunk beds+sofa sleeper. Clean and nice. The breakfast is nothing to write home about-avoid the baked eggs and sausage and potatoes. The waffles, cereal, fruit and muffins are fine. Otherwise a very friendly staff and great location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hsmith9742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing