We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best not the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best not the worst”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Only thing this hotel has going for it the front desk staff and location. Rooms are small, restaurant is nothing to write home about , breakfast is gross , pool didn't work and got ripped off by the private tour they set us up on.My advice do not use Regal Tours , racists and rip off artists

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    659
    277
    105
    99
See reviews for
1,361
153
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading many good reviews. We arrived and found the hotel staff very pleasant and friendly. Checking in took less than five minutes. We had a suite which had 2 bedrooms (one King, one bunk beds and a sofa bed) with sliding door and a good size bathroom. Our room had a partial view of the park. We were told that we could see the fireworks from our room but not sure how true that was since we saw the fireworks at the actual park.

Our rooms were cleaned everyday and they gave us more towels than we needed (there were 3 of us) which was a good thing.

We used the Sand Box on the night of our arrival, the staff were very friendly and the food was good and the price was also pretty good. The Hotel brochure also featured a number of local restaurants which will deliver to your room. We used the Panda House a couple times, they were good value for money and always plenty of food though they can take a long time in delivering the food despite they were only 2 minutes away across the road.

There was a 7 Eleven and an ABC mini market next door to the hotel which was really useful for buying water and various amenties as they were cheaper than the hotel shop.

The Disney Parks and Downtown Disney were about 5 - 10 minutes walks (depending on how fast your walk) so the location is perfect. The Garden Walk Shopping Mall (not fantastic shopping but OK)is on the way to the Disney Parks. Johnny Rockets and Bubba Gump Shrimps were located there and the food was always good at these places.

There was a small pool in the hotel but we didn't manage to find time to use it but there were always people in there when we walked past and it looked nice and clean with a number of sunbeds around the pool.

The buffet breakfast was adequate. Scramble eggs, waffles, breads etc. It wasn't gourment and the variety was limited but it was fresh and OK to keep you going until lunch time. Although it was a busy place but was kept clean constantly by the the staff.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who planned to visit the Disney Parks. Great location, friendly staff. Nice size rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fierce-Spicy-Chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was adequate to our needs. We had a very small kids' suite, containing bunk beds, a foldout couch and a double bed. Since we were only there to sleep it was ok.

Staff were generally polite, although we were ambushed by the concierge after a 13 hour flight - offered a free lunch, which it turned out we had to sit through a two hour presentation to accept. By the time we got to that bit if news, we'd wasted a lot of time.

The free breakfast was worth what we paid for it, and not a penny more!!

The location was convenient to the Disney precinct, but next time, we'll look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindy_Craddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The rooms are way outdated, smelly, dirty, non functional. I was checked into my first room and the door handle didnt work. The second room was on the bottom floor with a window directly into the parking garage. The third and final room was so gross I kept my sandals on at all times. Had things falling apart and breaking on me daily, the door stop, the TV, the shower rod. Service doesnt have a clue what they are doing there at check in either. I wouldnt have paid more than 60 a night had I known what the hotel was like. Never stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaellcoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had an awesome stay and my kids loved the room. It was an easy walk to disney and the stores next to the hotel were a plus. We had a few problems but I gotta say they didn't bother our stay thanks to the staff. As soon as we called the front desk they send someone to fix the problems right away, they were always friendly and courteous. We will definately stay here again next time we go to disney.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadiscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great staff, they were all very friendly and kind. Rooms were clean and neat. The room wasnt very big but i had eveything i needed, breakfast was delicious as well. Made my trip to Disneyland even better. Everything was great, definitely coming back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reyrey023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Our visit was wonderful!  Terrific hospitality and great customer service! The staff was helpful with any questions, the morning lattes were great to pick up on our quick walk to Disney, and the towels sculpted into animals made it extra special. We have stayed multiple times in the Disney hotels (Californian and the original), but value can't be beat here. We even had the bunks for tee kids in a separate room with a door from ours! Lovely suite to relax in each evening.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocookie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing