We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Quality and Close to Disneyland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Quality and Close to Disneyland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and found the quality of the accommodation was good and the closeness to Disneyland and some decent restaurants was great. The included breakfast wasn't great, but it didn't detract from our stay. Would stay again on the next trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jcb-Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    598
    257
    102
    94
See reviews for
1,212
134
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

So this isn't The Ritz, but for the money, it is a great place for families on a budget. We were a party of 8 - two of us (older folks) in a double queen room and a family of 6 in room 460, a room with 2 queens and a sort-of separate space (divided by a curtain) with a sleeper sofa. Plenty of room for a wild bunch of kids - that is why grandpa & grandma opted for a separate room. The rooms were older, but clean and I really inspected the place. The beds were fine, but you may want to ask for additional blankets if you get cold at night and I always bring my own pillow no matter where I stay. The rooms were very quiet. Again, a good value for the money.

The free breakfast was exactly what you would expect, waffle stations, fruit, eggs, donuts, cereal and the staff was always there to replenish supplies. It did get crowded at certain times, but it seemed to clear out quickly and the staff was right on top of keeping the tables and area clean.

The walk to Disneyland was very doable, even with all the kids. If you are going to complain about the distance you have to walk to get to Disneyland, then stay home - you are going to be on your feet and walking all day, so consider this a little warm up!

We used the pool one evening - the water took a little getting used to, but the kids did not care in the least. The hot tub was very relaxing and everything was clean. A bit heavy on the chlorine, but at least that kept the germs away.

The staff was always helpful and courteous and the parking is free. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarsedSantaRosa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We are a family of 4 and can really recommend this hotel. Very close to Disney, 15 min walk. Free parking, great location. The rooms were a great size and or a high standard for the money. The family room was awesome with 2 TV's. The free breakfast was great. Offered excellent value for money. The only negative was our fridge was quite noisy in the middle of the night, which I'm sure is fixed by now. free Wi-fi :).

Room Tip: If you have kids get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astina31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our stay at the Desert Plams was great! Our kids had a fantastic time and loved the breakfast (we did to, but they are harder to please). We especially liked having the 2 TV's in our suite (that way the kids and dad did not fight over what channel to watch). We enjoyed the walk to and from Disneyland, it was really nice not haveing to take the shuttle. Thanks for making our hotel stay wonderful. Staying in a nice, clean place makes for a better vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel! We have stayed in several area hotels for Disneyland, and this has by far been the best! This was our first year staying at the Desert Palms Hotel during the first of December (we stayed 11 days), and we will be back next year. From the very moment that you walk through the door, you are greeted by welcoming and caring staff and a beautiful foyer. Check-in was a breeze. We stayed on the 4th floor in the deluxe suite. The interior hallways were a plus. We were greeted by a cute little elephant constructed of washcloths on the bed! The room was fresh, clean and inviting. All looks recently renovated. The ART shuttle stops right outside of the hotel, but you can save a boat load of money by just taking a short 10 minute walk to the park just down the street. The breakfast is amazing! They rotate what they serve each day. Overall they serve: sausage patties, eggs, doughnuts, different kinds of cinnamon rolls, breakfast burritos, potatoes (YUM!), fresh fruit, waffles, toast, biscuits & gravy, cottage cheese, yogurt, cereal, milk, orange juice, water, + soooo much more! And to top it all off, this is all included FREE! The breakfast staff are so nice and restock very fast! The pool and hot tub are nice for relaxing after a fun day at the park. The maids are fast and do a very nice job and all are very kind! I have no complaints about his hotel.......not sure how anyone could have any sort of complaints!!! We will definitely be back again and again!!

Room Tip: Any room is perfect! Air conditioning works excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colorado_Fun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galahad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Desert Palms was a great place for our family to stay. We had one suite and one regular room and we were happy with both rooms. The staff were great and the complimentary breakfast was very good. Within very short walking distance to Disneyland we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Cali
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in the condo suite with our 2 kids ages 5 and 9. It had 2 queen beds and it was nice to shut the door to the living room for privacy for them or us, if anyone wanted extra sleep. It was great to have a fridge, stove, and microwave. Also, the vanity was separate from the shower/toilet, which is good for getting ready in the morning. We ate at the buffet breakfast 3 out 5 mornings, and the kids enjoyed it. We would also stop next door at 7-11 before going to Disneyland and pack our backpack with bottled water and snacks, very convenient. My husband and kids used the pool once or twice too. The only real complaint I have is that with kids it is about a +/-10 minute walk to Disneyland. In the morning, not a problem. But after a long day, more so. And the hotel DOES NOT offer a shuttle. Would probably stay at a closer hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoCali-momof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertPalms, General Manager at Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear NoCali-momof2,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Desert Palms Hotel. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our Sahara Condo Suite.

I wanted to inform you that the hotel does offer a shuttle to Disneyland and am very sorry that this was not relayed to you properly at check-in. The Anaheim Resort Transportation Shuttle picks up at the 7-11, right next door to our hotel every 20 minutes. Desert Palms Hotel is on Route 9 and All-Day shuttle passes can be purchased at the Front Desk.

With this in mind, we hope to see you and your family again next time you are in Anaheim!

Fred Brown, General Manger
Desert Palms Hotel I& Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#14 of 116 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#32 of 116 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing