We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff and convenient to both the Convention Center and Disneyland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elk River, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff and convenient to both the Convention Center and Disneyland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I came from Minnesota for a national conference at the Anaheim Convention Center. I am not a regular to California but my stay at the Desert Palms was pleasant and enjoyable. The rooms were comfortable and it was very convenient to both the Convention Center and Disneyland – where I spent my entire five day stay. While I did not bring my five children, I found the Hotel to be very family friendly.

The breakfast was quick and good. I did want to mention the staff who work in the breakfast room. They are very quick at cleaning up and keeping everything well stocked. It seemed to be crazy and wild at times with all of the small children running around and I witnessed one of the staff persons (a male) stop a very small child from getting hurt in the back kitchen. A very small little girl ran in the back with no parent around and the male staff person mentioned to me how concerned he was that this little girl could have burned herself with all of the hot food. The staff are very aware of their surroundings and work hard. Everyone has good customer service skills including the cleaning staff who greeted me with a smile each day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    642
    270
    104
    97
See reviews for
1,317
148
17
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were rarely at the hotel, but when we were it was pretty nice. Decent beds after a long day at Disney, clean, and the staff was courteous. Be prepared to walk 10 minutes to Disney which is no biggie, however, after 12 hours a day of walking, it's no fun going back especially with crabby tired kids. You can purchase tickets at the hotel for a shuttle back, but it ends up costing close to twenty bucks (cant remember). We just sucked it up and walked back most nights, and it doesn't take that long. Other than that, it was a nice hotel, decent price. I wasn't wowed by the hotel, but like I said we weren't there for the hotel, just a place to sleep. They have free breakfast which saves money. All in all, if the price was low again next time we go, I'd definitely stay there again. If you need to have a fancy ultra wonderful hotel like Disney downtown, stay there. If you want to save some money and stay at a very nice hotel and don't mind walking come here. the pool is very basic, no slides, but we had no desire to go swimming and spent all our waking hours at Disney. One last thing, there is a convenient store right next to this hotel, so yo can load up on water, drinks and snacks to bring to the park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyq314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We go to disneyland about every two to three years. Have stayed in four different hotels over the last ten years. The Desert palms hotel was good, not great. The price was fair for our stay (everything is overpriced in Anaheim, but what do you expect) Overall it was a good stay, no bells and whistles, but very comfortable and decent.

The Good-

Location was really nice for a walk to the parks. Free parking was nice. The room we stayed in was completely quiet even though the hotel was pretty full for the entire week we were there. We stayed in a yuha suite at the end of the hallway. Most other hotels we have stayed in have been noisier than this one. Beds were comfortable with the exception of the hide a bed. Employees were nice. The breakfast was free. One evening we ended up ordering food from the bar and grill on the premises and were surprised to find the food was above our expectations.

The Bad-

The breakfast was free, yes, but did not boast much in the way of food choices as have some other hotels we have stayed in. The Yuha room feels smaller than the photo online. A little cramped for six. I mentioned the uncomfortable hide a bed, but I dont think weve ever had a completely comfortable hide a bed in any hotel weve stayed at.

The Ugly-

Nothing was so bad that it was a turnoff.

Overall it served the purpose it needed to. Close lodging to the parks with free parking and free breakfast. Anytime you go to Disneyland, there is going to be give and take and nowhere is going to be perfect. This hotel was fine for our stay but we probably will try another property the next time we go. That being said, it was overall ok. I'm just being picky.

Room Tip: we had a room at the end of a hallway and it was completely quiet. This was the quietest hotel weve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We go to disneyland twice a year and we always try a different hotel each time! We love this hotel. We had the kid suite, which was wonderful. The bunk beds were very nice, the sofa couch was ok. My 9 y o, liked the couch, but for an adult it would not be very comfortable. It was a plus having breakfast each morning, eggs, sausage, potatos, waffels, cereal, yougert, pastries and juice. The ladies did a great job with the breakfast and kept the area clean and the food coming. The breakfast is the same each day.
The only compliant we had was the pool, it is not heated. The kids wanted to swim in the evening, and it was just too cold. Also, the ac was not very cool, our room seemed warm. Over all , we had a great stay and in the future would stay agin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Everything was fantastic. Clean room - had a room ready for our very early check-in. Would stay there again when returning to Anaheim. Thank you.

Now onto the 200 word minimum requirement - that makes this absolutely absurd - hopefully I am at 200 now or I am not going to do a review.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesaulgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thank you for a great stay at your hotel. The room and hotel were exactly as we expected from photos and reviews. Your staff were very helpful with requests both via email before we arrived and during our time at your hotel. Our room and the hotel was clean and tidy and every staff member we met were friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold items. We loved that you were only 10 minutes walk from Disneyland and close to many food outlets. We will recommend your hotel to others without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and it is always clean and the staff are curteous. It it fairly close to Disneyland and they have a couple of different room sizes to accomodate families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing