We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We won't stay anywhere else now!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We won't stay anywhere else now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed at the Desert Inn for 12 nights from December 20th through to New Years Day. We are from Australia and wanted to experince a Disney Christmas, but without the Disney accommodation price tag.

"We" is myself and my husband, along with both of our mothers. We stayed in the C2 Parlour Suite, and from all of my research, it seems to be the best value room of its kind on Harbor Blvd. After our stay, I can honeslty say that I would not stay anywhere else. On previous trips we have stayed at the Fairfield Inn (which we do really like!) and Howard Johnson. The sheer closeness of the hotel to Disneyland (especially compared to Howard Johnson's!) is the sole reason I would stay here again, and luckily there are many other reasons that support this too.

I am extremely picky when it comes to cleanliness (I am the type to bring my own pillow covers etc.) and I loved how clean the Desert Inn was. The cleaning staff were lovely and there was just a sense that they serviced the rooms very thoroughly each day and were proud of it. When I say that the rooms were basic, I mean this in a good way...the furniture in our room was nice, basic hotel furniture, but wasn't old and worn out like many other hotels. The room had no strange smells or anything like that and we were happy to return to them each day.

The staff were very helpful each time we needed assistance (such as with buying laundry powder from them or arranging taxis etc.) and I loved both the free wi-fi in our room and the internet in the lobby, which was the fastest hotel internet I have ever used. The guest laundry was exellent, as was the convenience store on the property too.

I get really confused when people talk about how basic the breakfast is...there was toast, juice, coffee, fruit and scrolls...what more were you expecting??? If the breakfast room was busy or we were too early, we just popped into Denny's or I-Hop....no problem!

There is now a parking fee, however most other hotels in the area now have one too so it's not a complaint, so much as it is an observation. The good thing now is that the staff look after parking, so people who were complaining before about how hard it was to find a park won't encounter this problem anymore.

I really laugh at a lot of the picky things that are commenetd on in regards to this hotel....for the price and the location it is just wonderful. We were really so impressed with our stay and it definitely exceeded all of our expectations. There is NO question about where we would stay in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnMgmnt, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Thank you for your great review and your loyalty. I will gladly assist you on your next trip and help make your stay memorable once again. Thank you and hope to have you with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    929
    308
    105
    68
See reviews for
1,524
130
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

You couldn't pick a better location for a visit to Disneyland. It's right across the street, with plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Beds were not too comfortable - woke up with a backache both days. So glad they had a laundry room available. It was raining both days we were there, so we were able to go back to the motel and throw our clothes in the dryer. This is the second time I've stayed at this motel and both times, I was disappointed with the continental breakfast. But at least there's a Denny's right next door, and an IHOP a couple of doors down. Very good value for the location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingForFun1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnMgmnt, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Thank you for your review, we will definetely keep in mind your comment about our breakfast for any future upgrades that we might want to do. Thank you and hope to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

My family of 6 stayed here after Thanksgiving. We have 4 kids (10, 13, 15, 17) and stayed in the parlor family suite C2. It has 4 queen beds and a sofa bed.

The good:

Rooms were clean and spacious.
Front desk very friendly.
Parking was free (until our last day when the new parking fees were started, but still $8/day wasn't much.)
Location is fantastic.

The not so good:
Check to make sure the fridge is plugged in before you put anything in it. (our mistake, not theirs)
The microwave in our room did not work. When we asked for a replacement, the man who brought a different one seemed put out that we'd asked. He pulled out the table it was on, replaced it and left without testing it....it also did not work. The third still didn't work correctly but we gave up. We had counted on having some quick microwavable snacks in our room, but we couldn't.
The breakfast was just barely meh. I read a review that mentioned waffles, but there were none to be had during our 5 night stay. There were apples (that were not very good), oranges (on two of those days), danishes, cheerios, corn flakes and toast. To drink: coffee, tea, orange juice, milk, raspberry lemonade (?).
If showering after 6 am, the water was iffy. It would go from hot to cold to hot, etc.

All in all, I would stay here again, but I would definitely budget for breakfast elsewhere and I'd bring my own microwave. You really can't beat the price, especially for a large family, and the location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jusacuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed here for 8 nights in October We had a family suite with two large rooms, two washrooms and 4 queen size beds(basically adjoining rooms with one entry) the rooms were very large, very clean and comfortable and well stocked with lots of towels everyday.
The continental breakfast was decent with toast, cereal, danish small selection of fresh fruit, coffe tea juice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel can't be beat it is a few steps from the crosswalk to disneyland entrance. There is a Dennys, IHOP Tony Romas and McD's all just a short walk away. We have stayed at several hotels within walking distance to the parks and this is our new favourite, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

Loved this place! Has a good continental breakfast (that doesn't skimp) and that saved us money each morning of our 5 day stay while visiting Disneyland. The room was spacious and clean. Property nice looking and well taken care of. Also liked the underground parking.
Only complaint was location of our room, next to a service door that shut LOUDLY throughout the day and night. But the hotel and services were wonderful. Looking forward to staying here again.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scrappyliz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnMgmnt, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments about your rescent stay at the Anaheim Desert Inn and are glad that our hotel met your expectations. We once again thank you and hope to have you back with us in the near feature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Five of my friends and I went for a girl's only trip to Disneyland for five days. This place was perfect for us. It's directly across the street from the Disneyland Resort entrance on Harbour Blvd.
We initially chose this hotel because it's amazingly affordable, but it turns out that it is also very clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff was great. Very helpful. We had 2 adjoining rooms w/2 queen beds in each room for about 119.00 a night. They call it the B Family Suite I think.
Housekeeping did a great job too.
We did not make use of the free continental breakfast. We bought food at Costco and Trader Joe's and had breakfast in the room. Each room had a microwave and a good size fridge.
Especially for the price, I don't know if there's a better chioce on Harbour Blvd.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Danabalana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnMgmnt, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a comment about your stay at the Anaheim Desert Inn, it is a pleasure to know what we are did a good job at making your stay a memorable one. The Anaheim Desert Inn Staff would like to again thank you for your patronage and hopes to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

This hotel was just across the street from Disneyland. Easy access to the Park. They offer a freee breakfast in the morning which included fresh waffles. The rooms are small but clean and it even has a great pool. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnMgmnt, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Dear Guest,

The Anaheim Desert Inn Staff would like to thank you for your review and is always striving at making our guests' stay memorable, we again thank you and hope to have you with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Legacy At The Park
Grand Legacy At The Park
#60 of 118 in Anaheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Property: Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
Address: 1600 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want to stay at one of the close to the magic of Disney, you can't do any better than the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites hotel in Anaheim, CA. Located directly across the street from the Disneyland(R) Park, Disney's California Adventure(R) Park, and the Downtown Disney(R), District, the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites offers you the best value for family accommodations as well as the business traveler. Choose from a variety of rooms and suites to accommodate the needs of travelers from our Deluxe King room to our spacious 10 person suites. Our hotel offers all of the benefits of friendly service and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate! The Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites guarantees an exciting and comfortable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Desert Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Desert Motel
Desert Inn Suites
Desert Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing