We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Inn good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We stayed at the Desert Inn for 6 nights recently. I found the whole place quite ok. Our deluxe room had plenty of room and was clean. Pool and Jacuzzi were heated and comfortable. The only thing I had an issue with were their shady business practices with the local cab companies. I had the front desk call me a cab and was charged 20 dollars to go from the hotel to the Anaheim Plaza shopping centre thats about 2 miles away. When we arrived at the shopping centre I questioned the driver over the price and he rang the hotel and confirmed the price of 20 dollars. We rang one ourselves to get back and it cost $12.... DONT RING A CAB THROUGH THE FRONT DESK. THEY ARE IN AN ARRANGEMENT WITH THE CAB COMPANY TO MAKE MORE MONEY OUT OF YOU. RING ONE YOURSELF AND SAVE YOURSELF FROM BEING RIPPED OFF.
Internet connection was free but very slow. I used the one in the lobby a few times as it was much quicker. Other than the cab issue this hotel was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BordoNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,071 - 2,077 of 2,299 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed in a two bedroom suite for one night. When we checked in, we were greeted by the security guard. From reading past reviews, I was expecting the worst about check in but I was definitely impressed. Check in was very fast and the person who checked us in was also very nice. The room was decent and basic. No big thrills but very clean. We had no problem with parking. There is an underground garage. We parked by the elevator and when straight up to our room. Right next door is Denny's and IHOP. Further down is more places to eat. Use the walkway to Disney. So much faster and easier than parking and using the tram, it is really about a five minute walk from hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellie035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Loved this hotel...Always came back to the room completely made up by 2pm. Would reccomend to everyone....

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katsassy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

This is not a destination hotel, but for its location and price it is exceptional. We stayed in a suite three nights in January (over a weekend) for the same price it would have cost us to stay one night in other hotels in the area. The rooms were clean, quiet, and functional which is all we needed because we spent all our waking hours at Disneyland. Not only is the hotel right across the street from Disneyland, but it is right next door to Denny's and many other family style restaraunts are within easy walking distance. Do not expect fancy furnishings or frilly extras, but if you're looking for clean, safe, convenient, and inexpensive Disney accommodations, this place is it!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mceis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Like all the other reviews state, the location can't be beat. We stayed for 4 nights in a suite with 2 queen beds and a hide-a-bed in a separate room.
The Good: Location: In less than 5 minutes you are in the main entry plaze at Disneyland/California Adventure. The crosswalk is right there just 25 feet off the front driveway.
I would also rate the service as being good. I had absolutely no issue with check in or check out. The Security Guard was there to greet you back from Disneyland on our way back to our room. The cleaning staff was very friendly.
We arrived to our first room (we were on the 5th floor) but my wife didn't like the way the door closed. You could pull on it and it would move about 1/4 of an inch. You could also plainly see the daylight around the entire edge of the door. We asked for another room and was accomodated with the exact same room next door without the door issue. By the time we got our bags moved over, a maintenance man was there working on the door.
We had no issues with the pool. It was clean and well maintained.
The Bad: Parking is an issue if you use your car alot. We were pretty lucky that we only left the property with the car on one occasion.
When you turn the TV on, the volume sets to the highest setting and you have to turn it down. IT just blares when you turn it on.
There were no plastic liners in the garbage containers. Not a biggy but I think it would be easier on the cleaning staff.
The Ugly: Having to leave Anaheim to go home. It snowed at home every day that we were away.

This hotel is not the Hilton by any stretch but it's clean, comfortable and close.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Was there with my family October of 2008. Rooms were acceptable and location to Disneyland and restaurants is perfect. The problem came on our last night when we came back to our room the room had been cleaned but some very important gifts had been taken. My 6 year old daughters camera, new toys and items with tags were no where to be found. The staff treated us like we did not know what we were talking about but I am convinced someone stole from us. They did nothing for us. If you choose this hotel DO NOT have the cleaners come in. You will be better off sleeping in a bed made by yourself than explaining to your child why her pictures can not be replaced.

Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
4  Thank CanadaMommaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed in a C2 suite and were very happy with our accommodations. The room was basic but spacious for our family of five and very clean.

At check-in the staff was friendly, we had no problem with parking our supercrew truck. We loved the location, it is an easy 5 minute walk to the gate of DisneyLand.

Our issues with the hotel are these:
-There are no liners in the trash cans and no laundry bags in the room, which I thought was really strange.

-Breakfast was very basic: oranges, danishes, sugary cereal, juice, milk. Only a few minutes after eating breakfast we were hungry again (we usually have eggs, bacon or sausage or ham, yogurt, oatmeal, ect for breakfast). The remainder of the mornings of our stay we went to Denny's for breakfast which is right next door. They were quick, friendly, and breakfast was delicious.

-The last issue we had was we could hear the people above us walking all through the night, so request a room on the 5th floor if you can.

Overall, should we return I would happily stay here again because of the location and price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rebekahj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.1 mi away
Grand Legacy At The Park
Grand Legacy At The Park
#60 of 118 in Anaheim
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Anaheim Resort
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Anaheim Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Address: 1600 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $172 - $721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want to stay at one of the close to the magic of Disney, you can't do any better than the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites hotel in Anaheim, CA. Located directly across the street from the Disneyland(R) Park, Disney's California Adventure(R) Park, and the Downtown Disney(R), District, the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites offers you the best value for family accommodations as well as the business traveler. Choose from a variety of rooms and suites to accommodate the needs of travelers from our Deluxe King room to our spacious 10 person suites. Our hotel offers all of the benefits of friendly service and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate! The Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites guarantees an exciting and comfortable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Desert Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Desert Motel
Desert Inn Suites
Desert Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing