We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Return visit as good as before” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Return visit as good as before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We've stayed at the Desert Inn several times and it's always been good. We get the two bedroom suite with the "parlor" which provides lots of room for four ladies at a price that can't be beat. The room this time looked like it had been redone not too long ago. Everything was clean and shining. The morning breakfast includes fruit, packaged danish, toast, cereal, oatmeal and juice and is good enough to get us started even though the coffee is pretty awful. The location is perfect -- right across from the main gate. This made it easy to take a mid-day break to rest our feet.

We've stayed in many of the motels around Disneyland over the years and it's nice to have found one that we can rely on for quality, convenience and pleasant, helpful staff. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (5th) in a corner suite with a view of the park. No patter of little feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MV Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello MV Gal,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that your stay was great and that you are a loyal guest at the Desert Inn. We are not perfect but we work very hard at providing great customer service and a clean and comfortable place to stay. We hope to see you soon.

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    806
    252
    91
    60
See reviews for
1,259
115
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Essentially right across the street from Disneyland. The place is somewhat older but certainly well kept. The staff were fantastic and unlike others, I have no complaints about the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMSurfdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
HI EMSurfdoc,

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad that we met all of your expectations. On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you for your kind words and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My room clean and I really liked that it was recently renovated. I loved having oatmeal for breakfast as that is how I tend to start my day back at home. Check in clerks were pleasant as were the valets. We had an oversized vehicle, but they had no problems getting it out quickly for us.

Room Tip: The king sized bed rooms have a pullout sofa. Great for when you have an extra person come along at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello lowsushi,

Thank you for giving us feedback about your recent stay at the Desert Inn. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and your family once again. We hope that you'll say with us on future dates when you comeback to the Disneyland Resort.

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My family stayed here at the begging of October for four nights, one being Disneyland's Mickey's Halloween Party. The hotel was completely booked because of the event.

Room: The hotel is a bit on the older side (no more then any of the other hotels in the area) but they are in the middle of a remodel. We headed out everyday as soon as the park opened and came back close to / if not when the park closed. There was no noise from the remodel whenever we were in the hotel. The hotel staff come every day to clean the room and bring fresh towels.

Location: It could not be better! You are right across the street from the entrance to Disneyland / California adventures.

Parking: There is parking on site, but they charge a daily fee. Yes, parking does fill up on Friday and Saturday nights but they do guarantee you a spot for at least one car per room.

Breakfast: They do offer a free breakfast. Its the same at every hotel; you get pastries and juice and coffee. There are mini fridges in the room. I would advise you to buy some milk or juice and just have cereal in room.

Clean: The property is clean, but old.

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone staying at a good neighbor hotel outside Disney. For the location, the price can not be beat!

Room Tip: Try to get a room near an elevator but not next to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shannon878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
HI Shannon878,

We are glad that you had a wonderful time at the Desert Inn. We are delighted to know that your stay was great and hope to see you when you again come back to the Disneyland Resort.

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Desert Inn several times and are happy with the service we receive every time. The staff responds to requests and issues quickly keeping us comfortable and happy. While the price has risen considerably since the first time we stayed it's still one of the best prices near Disneyland. We find the rooms comfortable and clean. It amazes me when people complain about the included breakfast. When we're on vacation we try to eat minimally and find toast, fruit and coffee does us well. I would like to see peanut butter included but we have learned to bring our own. While there are signs up saying it's a non smoking facility there are ashtrays around and we walked past smokers several times. It would be nice to see it enforced. We are hoping to do another family vacation in 2015 and the Desert Inn will be on the list of ones to check first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello katfowler,

Thank you for your review and for being a loyal guest to the Desert Inn & Suites. We are happy that your stay was great as usual. We are not perfect but we work very hard at providing great customer service and a clean and comfortable place to stay. We hope to see you soon.

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The room was decent and clean. The maid service was quick and efficient. The fridge was a good size for storing food to cook in our room.

My only complaint and room for improvement is the breakfast. There is toast, danish, cold cereal, oatmeal, apple/banana, and juices. Not much variety for 5 mornings. But I did come prepared and brought bacon/eggs and other breakfast foods to supplement with the microwave and waffle maker we brought for our room.

As everyone says, the location is excellent and for a family of 8, the parlor suite was a great option and a reasonable price.

The parking/valet service was excellent. They always helped us find the best spot for our large vehicle and if there wasn't a spot they would reserve one for us to move to as soon as someone left. Well worth the parking fee and the additional employees to help regulate the parking.

Room Tip: The family suites that have more than one bathroom are an excellent very useful option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donalee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello Donalee B,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. It is our goal to make every guest experience memorable and take pride in our work. Again, we thank you for your review and we cannot wait for your next stay!

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We checked in last weekend to a C-1 room for a weeks stay. The C-1 size was perfect. Rooms were clean and quiet. The in-room safe is a nice plus. The beds were so comfortable. Kids used the free Wi-Fi for their handheld devices and said it worked fine. I loved the location, an easy walk to the parks. Restaurants close by for a full meal, before or after a day in the parks. I really appreciated the front desk staff's assistance with a last minute reservation change. It made the stay so much more enjoyable. Juan S. @ DI&S Thanks !!
We have stayed here before and will stay here on future trips to Disneyland!!
D.B. and family

Room Tip: Ask for your specific preference/needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello D.B. and family,

We always enjoy having you and your family at the DI&S when you visit the Disneyland Resort. I have passed your kind words to Juan and he's very thankful for your comments. it was our pleasure to be of service and we look forward to future visits.

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.1 mi away
Carousel Inn and Suites
Carousel Inn and Suites
#42 of 116 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#14 of 116 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Legacy At The Park
Grand Legacy At The Park
#60 of 116 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Property: Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
Address: 1600 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want to stay at one of the close to the magic of Disney, you can't do any better than the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites hotel in Anaheim, CA. Located directly across the street from the Disneyland(R) Park, Disney's California Adventure(R) Park, and the Downtown Disney(R), District, the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites offers you the best value for family accommodations as well as the business traveler. Choose from a variety of rooms and suites to accommodate the needs of travelers from our Deluxe King room to our spacious 10 person suites. Our hotel offers all of the benefits of friendly service and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate! The Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites guarantees an exciting and comfortable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Desert Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Desert Motel
Desert Inn Suites
Desert Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing