We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
Nearby Hotels
$143
$139
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Raffles Inn & Suites(Anaheim)(Great Value!)
$134
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$109
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$524
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$806
$677
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,381)
Filter reviews
2,381 results
Traveler rating
804
1,031
346
122
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
804
1,031
346
122
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparlor suiteindoor poolacross the streetcontinental breakfastviewing deckhard boiled eggsdenny's and ihopfamily suitecan't beat the locationdisneyland entrancemain entranceright next doorrooms are cleanbagelslarge familyfridge and microwavewould stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
1,814 - 1,819 of 2,381 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

There is absolutely nothing special about this hotel. Clean rooms. Perfectly comfortable beds. Extremely standard continental breakfast spread in the morning. But you can't get much closer to Disneyland without staying (and paying) on site. In fact, I'd be willing to wager that this hotel is closer to the parks' main gates than the Disneyland Hotel itself.

We left in the morning at 8 am and came back around 11 pm.

What do you need in between? Clean bathroom and shower. Check. Comfortable beds. Check. Someplace to keep your stuff. Check. And it's close enough that you can easily trek back to the room from the park mid-day if you need to put your feet up or if you forgot something.

We didn't avail ourselves of the pool. There's a Denny's right next door if you need more to start your day than danish and cereal.

I will say that I found the staff to be very friendly and accomodating. We were there with a group, so had several rooms, and they made sure that our needs were met (with storing luggage on our checkout day, for instance).

I'll stay here again. When I want to treat myself to something more, I can go across the street and stay at one of the three on-site options ... but as long as economy figures into the equation, this fits the bill in all the important ways.

Room Tip: They have some suite-style rooms available for families that sleep up to 6 or more. We stayed mainly in the deluxe rooms (2 beds). We put our luggage in "Room 101" which is a very small but very well appointed single, with small kitchen bar and microwave. I may ask about that one if I find myself only needing the one bed in the future.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pdxhalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Hello pdxhalls,

It sure makes us happy to hear that we have met all your needs, thank you for your kind words and we'll definetely enjoy having you with us again when you visit the Disneyland Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. We had booked a family suite (4 double beds in 2 large rooms) but on arrival were informed they had upgraded us to another family suite with an extra little entrance room containing a sofa bed and tv. This proved to be very handy, as whoever stayed up late or woke early could use this room without disturbing others, so I'm rating this slightly higher than I otherwise might have out of appreciation for this thoughtfulness. Rooms were large and comfortable. Although there's free wifi it was very very slow and we mostly gave up trying to use it.
Location was brilliant as the entry to downtown Disney is across the road. Staff were reasonably helpful but did seem very busy. Breakfast was adequate but served in far too small a room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydbunyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Hell sydbunyip,

We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to be of service again in the near future when you visit the Disneyland Resort, thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent the holiday season at the Happiest Place in the World. This wasn't our first choice in hotels but it was all that was available that fit our criteria. The goal was to get an affordable hotel that could comfortably fit 5, within walking distance to Disneyland, and had a complimentary breakfast. Well the "mini-suite" did fit the five of us with room to spread out, but I didn't like the layout of the room. When you first enter the "suite" you are in a small front room with a sofa-sleeper, dresser, mini fridge, microwave and tv. If the sleeper is closed, then there was lots of room but once you open it up, it filled the entire room and you had to scoot around it. Step through that first room and you enter the main room with 2 double beds, a "closet area", desk, dresser and tv. Off to the other end of the room was the wash basin. Only the shower and toilet were behind a door. This made it difficult for the early riser (me) to get ready, as I had to be quiet as the others were still asleep. Aside from the layout, the room was clean and well kept. I think they recently went through a renovation because the bathroom fixtures looked very new.

The breakfast was a simple continental breakfast consisting of fresh fruits, danish, cereal, toast and a selection of juices and coffee.

They do have a laundry room, downstairs on the first floor. The laundry room is clean but our room was far away.Parking is tight but they do have a valet service.

The one bad thing was that when we checked out, we got our bill and they tried to charge us for park tickets which we didn't buy from them. After going back and forth they finally fixed the bill and comped our parking fee.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tundraguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Hello Tundraguy808,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really value your feedback as It helps us look at the things we excel in and the areas that need improvement. Hope to be of service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My family of four (my husband and I and our two little boys, ages 4 and 1.5) stayed for four nights and have no complaints... except maybe crappy coffee :) But we planned for that and brought some VIA.

*It was easily in our budget, with a AAA rate of around $70/night.
*It was CLOSE to the park; we were waiting to enter the park within 5-10 minutes.
*Quiet! This may have been due to the fact that we were on the 5th (top) floor and were there in January.
*Free breakfast, which wasn't extremely impressive, but we made ourselves happy with instant oatmeal and fruit. If something more substantial is needed, Denny's is right next door.
*Large, clean rooms. Our room had a separate "living room" from the bedroom which made it easy for my boys to have some room to play with the toys we brought.
*Friendly, helpful staff. We were greeted with a smile and they helped us order a taxi for our departure. Helped that we were pretty low maintenance :)

We would/will definitely stay here again.
One other note: if you want some lunch or dinner outside the park, we discovered "Pizza Press", just a few minutes walk away from the hotel and were very pleased! $10 personal sized pizzas with as many toppings as you want (of which they have a decent variety), and salads, and an interesting selection of beer. Try it!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Hello Cristen K,

I appreciate your comments and i'm sure glad that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the Disneyland Resort, i hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Well after much deliberation and reading reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to stay here for almost 2 weeks. We have stayed at quite a few hotels in this area - and being summer decided to go for one a bit closer to the park... Can i say that you get what you pay for. WHATS GOOD: The staff are reasonably polite, but dont expect anything else. Its Cheap and position to the park is directly opposite the park(great for little ones) You get a safe (which works). The rooms are clean and the beds are moderately comfortable (they dont sag, but are firm) and thats about where the quality stops. WHATS BAD: Staff dont attend to you other than at the front desk. The linen is cheap(but clean). Our phone didnt work at first and took 5 days to fix. The breakfast is poor quality (often stale and served on paper plates & foam cups) be quick, or you wont get any...we stopped eating it after 2 days it was so bad... The windows either dont open(fixed shut) or there is no locks on them, so you cant open them at night a little and be secure. I had to buy locks and chains to lock the window shut in one room and the other we couldnt open..Staff did not fix this. In the rooms air con struggles in hot weather and is very noisy(you cant sleep with it on). All the front part of the hotel faces towards Dennys. This means that at midnight till 1am the staff are packing up and leaving and it is very noisy. Then you will get woken up at 6am by the dumpster trucks every morning (we asked for a quiet room - and got put right above the pool and opposite the dumpsters) - so dont bother asking staff, even when i asked if there was another room i got a shrug and was ignored as they dont care one bit. If you can get a room WAY up the back that would be best. Security is non existent at the hotel. You cant open a window and lock it open. the closing locks (and i looked in a few rooms that were vacant) are all worthless. all access to all of the hotel is from the outside walkways so anyone off the street can wander around. We didnt have a car, but dont leave anything in your car as the parking is unsecure. Also the hotel is not kid safe. From the low rainlings on every level to the desintegrating starcases and non-monitored pool area. The pool is inside via external ground floor access (and too hot in summer to cool off), and dirty. I would not recommend letting your kids going to the pool alone as any one can walk off the street and go in there - there is NO security. There are no kids facilities. The wi-fi is free but near to useless. I had to go to the foyer every night to use it - along with other people doing the same, and then it was slow....Dennys had a stronger signal..all of us where complaining and nothing was done. dont stay here if you rely in the internet for business or pleasure.. There is no porters or staff to help you with bags and lifts are strategicall placed so you will have to walk a long way to get to your room. So if you are a single mum, disabled, aged, infirm or need assistance of any sort, DONT stay here. The hotel is old and the walls are thin. so you can hear the people above you, beside you and below you...hope you dont get a noisy family next door like we did. Staff do nothing to address this at 2 am in the morning. They have valet parking - but not enough parking spots. In summary the worst 2 weeks sleep i have ever had in the best located hotel. Pick your act up Desert Inn... every hotel around you is better. Where would we stay next time? We will go back to Carousel, Tropicanna, Best Western, Plaza, Howard J or the Castle if you want close, affordable, quiet, clean accomodation and things that work.

Room Tip: Right at the rear of the hotel on the top floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Hello Dave S,

On behalf of our entire staff, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews