We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we needed!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Everything we needed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My family of four (my husband and I and our two little boys, ages 4 and 1.5) stayed for four nights and have no complaints... except maybe crappy coffee :) But we planned for that and brought some VIA.

*It was easily in our budget, with a AAA rate of around $70/night.
*It was CLOSE to the park; we were waiting to enter the park within 5-10 minutes.
*Quiet! This may have been due to the fact that we were on the 5th (top) floor and were there in January.
*Free breakfast, which wasn't extremely impressive, but we made ourselves happy with instant oatmeal and fruit. If something more substantial is needed, Denny's is right next door.
*Large, clean rooms. Our room had a separate "living room" from the bedroom which made it easy for my boys to have some room to play with the toys we brought.
*Friendly, helpful staff. We were greeted with a smile and they helped us order a taxi for our departure. Helped that we were pretty low maintenance :)

We would/will definitely stay here again.
One other note: if you want some lunch or dinner outside the park, we discovered "Pizza Press", just a few minutes walk away from the hotel and were very pleased! $10 personal sized pizzas with as many toppings as you want (of which they have a decent variety), and salads, and an interesting selection of beer. Try it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Cristen K,

I appreciate your comments and i'm sure glad that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the Disneyland Resort, i hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    904
    294
    102
    63
See reviews for
1,463
128
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Well after much deliberation and reading reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to stay here for almost 2 weeks. We have stayed at quite a few hotels in this area - and being summer decided to go for one a bit closer to the park... Can i say that you get what you pay for. WHATS GOOD: The staff are reasonably polite, but dont expect anything else. Its Cheap and position to the park is directly opposite the park(great for little ones) You get a safe (which works). The rooms are clean and the beds are moderately comfortable (they dont sag, but are firm) and thats about where the quality stops. WHATS BAD: Staff dont attend to you other than at the front desk. The linen is cheap(but clean). Our phone didnt work at first and took 5 days to fix. The breakfast is poor quality (often stale and served on paper plates & foam cups) be quick, or you wont get any...we stopped eating it after 2 days it was so bad... The windows either dont open(fixed shut) or there is no locks on them, so you cant open them at night a little and be secure. I had to buy locks and chains to lock the window shut in one room and the other we couldnt open..Staff did not fix this. In the rooms air con struggles in hot weather and is very noisy(you cant sleep with it on). All the front part of the hotel faces towards Dennys. This means that at midnight till 1am the staff are packing up and leaving and it is very noisy. Then you will get woken up at 6am by the dumpster trucks every morning (we asked for a quiet room - and got put right above the pool and opposite the dumpsters) - so dont bother asking staff, even when i asked if there was another room i got a shrug and was ignored as they dont care one bit. If you can get a room WAY up the back that would be best. Security is non existent at the hotel. You cant open a window and lock it open. the closing locks (and i looked in a few rooms that were vacant) are all worthless. all access to all of the hotel is from the outside walkways so anyone off the street can wander around. We didnt have a car, but dont leave anything in your car as the parking is unsecure. Also the hotel is not kid safe. From the low rainlings on every level to the desintegrating starcases and non-monitored pool area. The pool is inside via external ground floor access (and too hot in summer to cool off), and dirty. I would not recommend letting your kids going to the pool alone as any one can walk off the street and go in there - there is NO security. There are no kids facilities. The wi-fi is free but near to useless. I had to go to the foyer every night to use it - along with other people doing the same, and then it was slow....Dennys had a stronger signal..all of us where complaining and nothing was done. dont stay here if you rely in the internet for business or pleasure.. There is no porters or staff to help you with bags and lifts are strategicall placed so you will have to walk a long way to get to your room. So if you are a single mum, disabled, aged, infirm or need assistance of any sort, DONT stay here. The hotel is old and the walls are thin. so you can hear the people above you, beside you and below you...hope you dont get a noisy family next door like we did. Staff do nothing to address this at 2 am in the morning. They have valet parking - but not enough parking spots. In summary the worst 2 weeks sleep i have ever had in the best located hotel. Pick your act up Desert Inn... every hotel around you is better. Where would we stay next time? We will go back to Carousel, Tropicanna, Best Western, Plaza, Howard J or the Castle if you want close, affordable, quiet, clean accomodation and things that work.

Room Tip: Right at the rear of the hotel on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Dave S,

On behalf of our entire staff, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The rooms at this hotel are exactly as you see in the pictures, clean and functional with comfortable beds. The best part about this hotel is the location it's is directly across the road from the Disneyland entry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Scot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello Scot W,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and sure hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanford
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had no expectations for the hotel other than it was very close to Disneyland. We were pleasantly surprised at how wonderful it turned out to be. We arrived at the hotel right before Disneyland opened and parked our car immediately. It was less than a five minute walk to the entrance to the park. We returned to check in when the park closed at 8. We were 5 and had a suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and a little "sitting room" There were three televisions. The rooms were very clean and we were happy that the sink area was separate from the toilet. With two teenage girls, this made everything much easier for us. The beds were very comfortable and we were able to regulate the heat easily. There was an inviting indoor pool which we didn't try. As mentioned, the breakfast was light but given the price, it was fine. We would definitely stay there again.

We were able to print out boarding passes also and the desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mizlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello mizlibrarian,

On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you for your kind words and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for the fifth or sixth time last week and the hotel consistently fits our needs. Don't go here, or any motel near Disneyland, with 4 star expectations. If that is what you need, pay much more for a much smaller room at the Grand CA. This hotel offers consistently good service, clean rooms and about the closest location to Disneyland you can get. Check in staff, parking attendants and maids are always friendly.

Draw backs: You will hear people outside the rooms in the morning, but we have stayed at many hotels in the area, and it is the same or less here.

Breakfast: Don't have too high expectations. It's good for what it is: Juice, toast, cereal, danish, fruit. We drive in, so we bring our own fruit and a few Via packs. The breakfast is free, so I consider it a bonus. Again, if you want more, pay more elsewhere. We have stayed at motels in the area that offer smaller rooms, comparable prices and no breakfast.

What you get at the Desert Inn that you don't get elsewhere are large separate room areas where parents can unwind, watch TV and make plans for the next day after the kid(s) go to sleep in the next room. For my money, it's the best value in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissingCabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello MissingCabo,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really value your feedback. It helps us look at the things we excel in and the areas that need improvement. Hope to be of service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites. It was so convenient for my family. We will definitely stay there again. The rooms were very clean. Their continental breakfast is a little skimpy, but for a fast on the go breakfast it is fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello Kristina B,

Thank you for your feedback, it was our pleasure to be of service and we look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights during the week for our two day Disney trip. Positives- Great location steps from Disney entrance, rooms aren't spectacular but above par compared to a Motel 6 , no problems parking ($8 day), continental breakfast with danishes cereal fruit juice coffee, and heated indoor pool. We stayed in the jr suite and it fit our family of 4 well. I stayed at the HoJo last time and while the rooms were nicer, this location with decent rooms, (and cheaper), was better overall.
Negatives- there was some trash left in my room along with a screw driver that my 2 yr old found on the floor, and the beds are not comfortable, especially after walking around all day!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeside83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello lakeside83,

I appreciate your review, i apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while at our hotel, i have spoken to our housekeeping department about the importance of cleanliness of our rooms and they have promised to go the extra mile to ensure that this does not happen again. Thank you and i hope to see you at the Desert Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.1 mi away
Grand Legacy At The Park
Grand Legacy At The Park
#64 of 118 in Anaheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
0.4 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Property: Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
Address: 1600 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want to stay at one of the close to the magic of Disney, you can't do any better than the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites hotel in Anaheim, CA. Located directly across the street from the Disneyland(R) Park, Disney's California Adventure(R) Park, and the Downtown Disney(R), District, the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites offers you the best value for family accommodations as well as the business traveler. Choose from a variety of rooms and suites to accommodate the needs of travelers from our Deluxe King room to our spacious 10 person suites. Our hotel offers all of the benefits of friendly service and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate! The Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites guarantees an exciting and comfortable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Desert Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Desert Motel
Desert Inn Suites
Desert Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing