We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Hotel Menage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Menage
Ranked #61 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Everett, WA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for our trip to Disneyland. It is definitely an old motel trying to be something nicer but not really succeeding. We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking Harbor Blvd. This was the quiet side of the hotel. The other side was facing the freeway and 24 hour pool with music. Our room was not as clean as it could have been. I am pretty sure there was a blood splatter on the wall that wasn't cleaned the whole time we were there. Housekeeping could not seem to figure out that we had 4 people in the room and never left enough towels and washcloths. I had to call down twice for more towels. If you want to walk to DL, it is a long way and over the overpass. We drove to the parks everyday, not worth the walk. I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisinEars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment; your comments regarding housekeeping have been reviewed and are being addressed within the department.
For your future reference, there is an ART shuttle (separate company) that maintains a stop at our front door and has many stops throughout the surrounding area, including Disneyland. It is only $4pp for all day transportation, and can be much more convenient and affordable than driving and paying parking fees everywhere.
Thanks again for your feedback,
Charlotte
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    595
    360
    189
    157
See reviews for
878
593
46
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed early June on recommendation from travel agent....What a brillant hotel, all the staff were amazingly friendly. We have three boys aged 14, 12 & 10 so had 2 rooms interconnecting. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The pool is open 24 hours 7 days a week so after a full day at Disney a spa at midnight was bliss. They have a happy hour from 5-7.30pm at the pool bar, really nice and relaxing and a way to meet fellow guests, the cocktails devine. Because it is situated between freeways it is noisey when you step outside especially towards the pool but in rooms you didnt hear it. The restaurant prices are excellent, nothing over $10, again very friendly, helpful staff. Getting to disney is not a problem, you can purchase a Anaheim transit bus pass for $4 adult, children slightly cheaper and that is for a full day, last bus 11.30pm, you can use that pass on all their routes and they go everywhere. The drivers are helpful so if in doubt I just asked them. There are 2 bus routes that take in The Menage so we never had to wait long. If we ever get the chance to go back would have no hesitation on booking the Menage again.......Thanks everyone who works there, you helped make our trip unforgetable!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The good: For a family, especially one who might want a cocktail while the kids swim, this is a good place. The restaurant's kid-friendly wide-ranging menu never exceeds $10 -- you get what you pay for, but it is a good value. There is a nice bar adjacent to the pool area.

Staff are exceedingly well-trained in welcoming and thanking guests.

In the pool area, the noise from the freeway is compounded by the noise of the fountain and continuous music. You need to speak loudly even if you kid is just a few feet away.

Great view of the fireworks from the pool. Don't ever think of going to bed before the fireworks (9:30pm in the summer) -- then again why would you? The fireworks set off car alarms to add to the fun.

The not-as-good" I clipped this from a review below because it summarizes things nicely.
"It is a motel style layout. That means your window and entry face a common exterior walkway. If you leave your drapes open people can see you inside your room (especially at night)... makes lounging around in the room a bit dark if you like your privacy. The rooms are small but typical for the price and were nicely designed."
The sink is part of the room, so when you turn on the light to brush your teeth, the whole room is lit. The tiny toilet/shower area has an inward facing door that makes it difficult to negotiate.

The rooms that face Ball Road or the freeway are subject to continuous traffic noise -- there seem to be more motorcyclists in LA (no doubt because of the weather), many of who love to gun their machines as fast as possible from a stoplight. One day one of kids was sick and staying in the room all day was not fun with all the road noise. But usually you aren't in your room anyway if you are staying here.

It is a bit of a walk (over the freeway, and along a busy road). Hold onto the little ones hands -- the speed limit is 40 and drivers seem oblivious to the walkers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkeley2TheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel Menage and for your detailed review of your stay. Your kind comments regarding the staff and service are appreciated and have been passed on. We hope to have the opportunity to host you and your family again soon!

Warm Regards,
Charlotte
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Menage to visit Disneyland in mid June. I was initially assigned to a ground floor room but requested a room on a higher floor and was duly assigned to room 207. The rooms above the ground floor can only be accessed through locked gates opened by room keys but rooms on the ground floor can be accessed by anyone.

The rooms are located on a long outdoor corridor. My room was facing the 24hr swimming pool however there was no issues with noise. There is free in-room wifi, a fridge, a large screen TV, hair dryer, air conditioning but no in-room safe. The bathroom is small with the basin located outside the bathroom.

It will take 15 mins walk along Harbor Boulevard to reach the front entrance of Disneyland. There is an ART bus that serves between the hotel and Disneyland. The fare can be found online. Car parking is available at the hotel at $10/night and there are ample spaces.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sky0000547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here while going to Disneyland. The pool area is nice, and the room is adequate. The hotel was a priceline win. I had a problem with my room key one morning, and they immediately sent up a maintenance worker (except did they have to do that at 7am?). The maid service was spotty, one day we got 4 towels, the next day we got two towels and a bottle of cleaning fluid was left in our room. I could watch the Disney fireworks from the hotel, and its only a quick drive to the parks. The pool area and lobby are nice, but be careful of which side of the hotel you get - it borders a major freeway.

Room Tip: Be careful of which side of the hotel your room is located - the freeway borders the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bavenell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place is perfect for trips to disneyland. The first night we watched the fireworks from the pool while drinking cocktails. Then in the morning we purchased our tickets near reception and got the shuttle to disneyland. It's the last hotel on the shuttle route before Disneyland so it only took about 5 minutes to get to Disneyland. The hotel itself is really clean. ALL the staff are friendly, the facilities are great and the dining/drinking is also good and affordable. The only thing I'd say is if you're not a fan of kids I'd look somewhere else. Didn't bother us so we didn't mind and would highly recommend for families.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrandmrshoneymoonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary so we would be accessible to the Disneyland parks. Being the early summer, many of the hotels across from the park were booked. After reading the reviews of Hotel Menage, we thought it would be fine for us.

It is about a 10 minute walk for adults without kids which was easiest although there is a shuttle that runs every 10-15 minutes if you want to preserve your sore feet.

The rooms were great, nothing flashy but clean nonetheless. We had a slow draining tub the first day and mentioned it to the front desk and it was fixed by the time we got back to our room at the end of the day. We had requested a room facing the park which was fantastic as we could see the fireworks so clearly from the balcony every night.

The restaurant in the hotel was fantastic for dinner and breakfast as nothing on the menu costs over $10 and the food was great! The pool looked great although we didn't have time to enjoy it. The hot tub was quite small and was quite packed every evening otherwise we may have tried it out.

Overall, a great hotel if you are just looking for somewhere to rest your body at the end of a long day at the happiest place on earth!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park on the top floor. It provides the perfect view for the fireworks in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
The Colony
Anaheim Majestic Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Menage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Menage

Property: Hotel Menage
Address: 1221 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92805-6004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Menage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of California in the freshest and most unique boutique hotel in the Anaheim and Disneyland resort district. Conveniently located (block away from Disneyland and 2 miles from the Convention Center), Hotel Menage is the place to see and be seen in Orange County. Enjoy our newly renovated 244 perfectly appointed guest rooms and suites, with 42" plasmas, 24 hr pool, fitness center, business center, and complimentary hi-speed wireless internet, award winning American Tavern restaurant..."Create Your Experience..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Menage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menage Hotel Anaheim
Hotel Menage Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing