We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Loved It!”
Review of Hotel Pepper Tree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Pepper Tree
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Millersburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We Loved It!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were in town for the NAMM show at the Anaheim Convention Center and stayed at Hotel Pepper Tree. In reading the reviews and seeing the pictures, I knew it wasn't your run of the mill chain hotel, which we were happy with. We can do that at home. We enjoyed our stay there. We were there for 4 nights. Our room had a king size bed and a kitchen with a microwave, full size fridge, coffee maker and the basic items like cups, mugs, plates, and utensils as well as cleaning supplies for dishes. We used that to our advantage to eat leftovers and save some cash on eating out too often. The bathroom was very spacious with a huge closet and dresser inside and extra hangers if needed. The only issue we found in there was that the tub "squeaked" when we were in it but that's not anything that concerns me. The hotel is older and not what you'd consider up to date but to me, that's the beauty of it. We were near the elevator on the bottom floor and I heard nothing. A lot of complaints about the elevator but we had no issues with that or with any odd or annoying noises.

The staff was great and so helpful in getting us transportation when we needed it and telling us about area restaurants. We ate at the Peruvian place down the street called the Peru Peru Grill and tried Yucca for the first time. Highly recommended! There is a grocery store across the street if you want to get some things to keep on hand.

I would stay there again for sure. I liked the feel of the place and it made for a great addition to memories we created while in Cali.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    1,078
    377
    145
    61
See reviews for
1,496
681
90
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for nearly a week in late 2013. If you're looking for a "resort experience" this isn't it. But we weren't looking for that. Our "suite" had 2 queen beds, a small sofa, a pleasant enough terrace overlooking the hotel parking lot behind the building. The beds, sofa, and kitchen area are all in one room: more a studio situation than a suite IMHO. Overall the staff were very helpful and pleasant. There were 2 days when we put the "please clean this room" sign on the door when leaving in the morning, but upon our late evening return we found unmade beds and a lack of fresh towels; the cleaning hadn't happened. Other than that problem, the hotel ticked all the boxes. The decor is reminiscent of the 1960s, very Spanish-colonial retro. We found the beds to be a bit soft and they sloped to either side, so we ending up using both and sleeping in the center of the beds as much as possible to avoid rolling out. Despite the softness of the mattresses, we both slept well. We weren't disturbed by any noise but are early risers so perhaps we missed out on the noisy children reported elsewhere. The price was right, would certainly consider staying again. Bath/shower rooms could do with modernization though. Still, all-in-all, a very satisfactory hotel stay, and convenient to Orange County freeways and local theme park attractions!

Room Tip: Might try for a fireplace room? That could outweigh the somewhat dated nature of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel while we were visiting for a swim meet in Irvine this past August. We chose the hotel for the price and the full kitchen. It is a bit dated, but we enjoyed the charm and decor. We found the room to be clean, comfortable and everything was in working order. It was a bit noisy in the halls, but the air conditioner drowned out most of the noise. Internet was spotty at best.... Probably our biggest complaint. We used the pool one afternoon, it is in need of some repair, around the pool deck. The lounge chairs were comfy and the pool is secluded from parking lot. We cooked breakfast and dinner in the room and had everything we needed. I didn't love the neighborhood, but I think it is just older! not unsafe. Shopping was convenient. We drove to Downtown Disney one evening and we were there in 10 min. Overall this hotel suited our needs.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived soon after the 2pm checkin time and our rooms (2 for 6 of us) were ready. The rooms are almost like small apartments, in size, and could be used for an extended stay. One room had a king size bed and a very nice patio on the ground floor. The room was clean. the kitchen was equipped with a full size refrigerator, small "stove" with an oven and 2 burners, and a sink. There was a really nice fireplace, with a comfortable couch, cozy for two. The heater and AC both worked (we had very cool nights and an 80 degree daytime temperature).
The other room, on the 3rd floor, had a balcony, 2 queen beds and a similar kitchen (although the oven/stove was a full size unit). There were 2 arm chairs, rather than a couch, and no fireplace. This was great for the younger folks.
We stayed 2 nights and noticed lots of noise in the hallways during the morning and late afternoon, due to several other families with kids. There was a very simple "continental breakfast", milk, juice, coffee, danish, muffins, cereal and fruit. The staff were extremely friendly.
The property is about half-way between Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm, each of which is a few miles away, which made the location ideal for our activities. We do plan to stay there in the future. This was our first stay at this location (they used to have another hotel a few miles away).
The hotel is slightly "hidden" as the sign is blocked by a large palm tree. The entry is across from an ethnic supermarket, which made it easy to stock snacks for the family.
Having stayed at hotels closer to the parks, this hotel seems to be in a much quieter, urban neighborhood. There is a restaurant building that is currently closed, trying to get a new tenant, and seemed to be undergoing some maintenance work. We found the night time security to be fine, and the area to be much, much better than hotels that we have stayed at in Chicago, north of Los Angeles, Las Vegas and so on. There were some "street" people walking down the block, but none on the hotel premises.
Again, we were quite happy with the accomodations and plan to stay there during our next trip to Southern Calif.

Room Tip: You might want to phone the hotel and ask a few details about the particular room that you are reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhxWhiteJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I did a lot of research prior to selecting a good hotel , I read thousands of comments on this website and I finally decided on this hotel due to the good reviews . Fortunately I was right , we found the hotel very comfortable, clean , well located, close to parks but had to go by car . We had a room on the first floor with a nice terrace, large , clean and nice room. loved it. We had a car so going out to eat at night or to buy something was no problem at all. The reception staff was very attentive and helpful . I send some shopping I did online a few days before my arrival and they kept my things until I reached the hotel. Rate included breakfast, which consisted of coffee, juice box , some fruit and some packaged muffins . Basic but clean and enough to get to the parks early . In addition , the rooms have full kitchens so you can have breakfast in the room if you want something more elaborated. We left very happy and was as expected for the rate we paid . I will definetly come back to this hotel if I have the chance. I travelled with my husband and two children ages 7 and 4.

Room Tip: We got a room on the first floor near the front desk, it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamagochi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I saw no bugs, contrary to other reviews. The service was great. Its noisy during the day because the maid's cart rattles going across those lovely tiles in the foyer and near the elevator. So if you want to nap during the day, specify a room above x20. We stayed in 222.

The neighborhood was nice enough. We walked to a Vietnamese Pho restaurant, up the street. It was nice and cheap.

The Mexican grocery across the street was very handy.

We had some problems with the coffee pot, but it was quickly replaced.

The water was just barely warm enough for a shower.

I think this is a great family hotel, the fountains out front run all night and cover the traffic noise. This was a nice touch as well.

Room Tip: Day nappers Should stay in rooms greater than x20, like 120,220,320 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel. It was a reasonable price near Disneyland with free parking and reviews were middle of the road. We arrived after a full day at Disney and parking was easy but a bit dark - a few more lights in the parking lot would be very welcome.

Front staff were nice and - JOY! - an elevator! Or not.

We unfortunately got stuck in room 302 which is right on the elevator. Every single time it moved in any direction our room started to vibrate and a extremely loud hum filled the room to the point that we had to stop talking until the noise stopped.

The room was very large with a kitchenette and a large balcony. The furniture is dated but nice and the bed was comfortable. We were lucky and had a heater in our room - and as it was 45 that night it was necessary.

I would stay here again but insist upon being as far away from the elevator as possible. I suggest you make that request as well.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor as far from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurenantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
5.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
4.0 mi away
Stanford Inn & Suites
Stanford Inn & Suites
#11 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
3.8 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pepper Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pepper Tree

Property: Hotel Pepper Tree
Address: 2375 W Lincoln Ave, Anaheim, CA 92801-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pepper Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover old fashioned hospitality at Hotel Pepper Tree, a unique extended stay hotel with kitchens in Southern California style and rustic Spanish influence. With warm earthy decor, hand–crafted wood furniture, and Hollywood memorabilia, our home–style boutique hotel is the perfect place to work or unwind in Orange County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pepper Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Anaheim
Pepper Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing