We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Pepper Tree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pepper Tree
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The value for the money here is unbeatable. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, basically a studio apartment. The furniture is all rustic, yet very clean and well maintained, which gives character to the hotel.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, and helped guide us around Anaheim and LA.
It's a 5-minute drive away from Disney and Knott's, with many services/shops/restaurants around. It's a 40-minute drive away from LA and the parking is free and spacious.
The hotel has a beautiful small restaurant with a tiny breakfast buffet and very friendly staff.
In summary, this is one of the cutest hotels we've ever been to, and would DEFINITELY stay here again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    1,150
    398
    147
    63
See reviews for
1,614
707
95
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Unlike the Lemon Tree, the Pepper Tree was very nice. Clean, quiet and low prices. The pool also needs to be resealed. Large black spots on bottom. Not inviting to swim in. But other that that very nice. Very friendly staff. I will stay here again. Hard to believe both hotels owned by same person.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugenia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu Beach
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Pepper Tree last month and I have been slow to report. We arrived late at night, having made a major booking error, a day early, the wonderful man at the desk couldn't book us into the room we were going into the next day as they were full, he gave us an upgraded room instead. We stayed for a weeks R & R on our way back to New Zealand, what a lovely base to have. We used the Mexican supermarket across the road for our supplies, we washed our clothes in the launderette across the other road, the cheapest in the world I think! We visited the beaches and shops, we avoided Disney, not our thing! We relaxed by the pool and on our verandah. When we had a late night flight we were kindly given a late checkout. These people were very kind and helpful to a pair of very tired Kiwis! The Pepper Tree is not a 4 star hotel, it is a comfortable and relaxing 3 star studio block with well kitted kitchens and decent sized rooms. Big thanks to those helpful staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corronz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark4464, Owner at Hotel Pepper Tree, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again one day when you get back to California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was a little leery when we drove in late in the evening as the property seemed a little tired. Entering the lobby, I was surprised to find that the hotel was done in a Spanish Mission-style and was quite attractive. The property is a little old, and does show some of its age, but it was well-maintained otherwise, and could easily be described as "quaint". Our room was good sized with a king bed. The mini-kitchen had a microwave, refrigerator and all the necessary plates, cups, glasses and cooking utensils. The bathroom was small - a family would find it hard to use - but it was fine for two people. Everything was clean and neat. air conditioning unit is in the wall, and is a little noisy. We had to turn it off because it would wake us when it cycled on and off. Fortunately, the evening was cool enough to allow this.

Front desk help was a little iffy late at night. The lady clerk was very nice, but very new, and did not know how to handle the pre-paid reservation we made through an on-line service. We got it worked out and I will say that she was very pleasant the entire time.

Our stay was very pleasant and despite my initial impression, this is a hotel I would come back to again!

Room Tip: Avoid the ends of the building as they have more street noise. This hotel has interior hallways so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrop, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews, therefore, I now have to give my own. This is 2.5 stars, not a 4. It was old and outdated, making it feel dirty. Overall it was pretty clean. It had old dirty drapes and the bathtub a bit of painted over mold and mildew. They went cheap all the way with furnishings. It wouldn't take much to update certain things to bring it to a 4 level. The pool was nice and so was the staff. We will not recommend or be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwendaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark4464, Owner at Hotel Pepper Tree, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations of a 4 star hotel. We are a 3 star hotel and we do have a rustic spanish style that most of our guests find quite appealing compared to more generic hotel styles. It was nice that you recognised the high standard that we maintain in keeping the hotel clean and presentable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This property has a nice Spanish-style and the rooms have anything you would need for a long stay. Unfortunately, some of the pots and pans weren't very clean. The same goes for the shower which was had little, but still existent, stains.

The room itself was very nice. We were there for an extended stay so the fridge and utilities were very useful. The bed and room were very clean. The staff was really helpful. Free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark4464, Owner at Hotel Pepper Tree, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Could you please let the front desk manager know your room number so that we can be sure to follow up on the pots.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We are a family of four and live in Seoul Korea. We planned to stay in Anaheim for 3 months or so and we literally read like thousands of reviews for longterm hotels with kitchens around Anaheim. Eventually we decided to stay with the Peppertree Hotel, cuz from the moment we contacted them via email, their service was outstanding. We constantly received all answers to our questions (and we really asked a lot), additionally they have awesome rates for extended stays.

We have been staying here for almost 2.5 months and unfortunately we have to leave this weekend. Since we contracted for 3 months, we expected a penalty for moving out earlier, since we actually blocked the room for the rest of the month. But once again, the management was outstanding and helped us out instantly. Neither did they insist on fulfillment of the lease agreement, nor did they charge us any penalty or tax whatsoever, they just let us out of our lease. Special thanks to Christopher and Deycy for making it possible, we really appreciate it.


We are staying in the 1-bedroom courtyard suite and there is plenty of space. Each room has an enclosed patio. The extra bedroom has a Kingsize bed, a large wall closet, a flatscreen TV and the main room has 2 twin beds, a fully equipped kitchen, cable TV and also a big wall closet. The bathtub is clean and everything is well maintained. We have a sitting area in- and outside, which is very nice, too. All beds were very comfy and they do have many different pillows to choose from. For a longterm stay, housekeeping is once a week (on Tuesday), and the room is kept very clean. If you need lines or towels in between, no problem, just go ask the friendly staff at the frontdesk and they will supply you with almost everything. We didn't have any noise issues during our stay, so actually in our opinion the walls are not thinner than in other hotels.

If you are looking for a place with great staff, service and nice, spacious and clean rooms for short- or extended stays, you should definitely consider the Peppertree Hotel. We will definitely come back. "Truly a gem in all aspects"!

Room Tip: 1-bedroom Courtyard suite for a family of 4 is spacious and perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
5.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,124 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
4.2 mi away
The Comfort Inn & Suites Anaheim, Disneyland Resort
3.1 mi away
Hotel Menage
Hotel Menage
#61 of 118 in Anaheim
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pepper Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pepper Tree

Property: Hotel Pepper Tree
Address: 2375 W Lincoln Ave, Anaheim, CA 92801-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pepper Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover old fashioned hospitality at Hotel Pepper Tree, a unique extended stay hotel with kitchens in Southern California style and rustic Spanish influence. With warm earthy decor, hand–crafted wood furniture, and Hollywood memorabilia, our home–style boutique hotel is the perfect place to work or unwind in Orange County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Pepper Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Anaheim
Pepper Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing