We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a memorable experience”
Review of Napa Rose

Napa Rose
Ranked #11 of 861 Restaurants in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Disneyland
Description: This elegant award-winning restaurant offers an incomparable selection of wines and serves contemporary cuisine inspired by California's rich bounty of fine, fresh ingredients. Whether you celebrate a special occasion or take a break from a busy day at Disneyland Resort, you'll savor an exceptional dining experience.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
327 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Always a memorable experience”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We been here many times over the years and find the dining experience exceptional. For myself, I started with a Plymouth Gin Martini extra dry with two olives, and we shared an interesting Cheese Plate during cocktail hour. We started with the Sizzling Beach Rock, a combination Appetizer of Garlic Seared Shrimp, Soy Glazed Spare Ribs, Lemon Grass Chicken Skewers cooked on a Hot Beach Stone. Incredible appetizer and presentation! For dinner I ordered the Braised Beef Short Rib, the meat was falling off the bone and was absolutely delicious. My friend ordered the Rack of Lamb that also looked spectacular. We shared a bottle of the Duckhorn Merlot that matched perfectly with our dinner. The bread selection was wonderful as well. We all had coffee and a Chocolate Dessert (can't remember the name of it) that was decadent and to die for. Our waiter was friendly, professional, and humorous and helped make the dining experience outstanding. Bravo to the restaurant for maintaing such a high level of dining in the Grand Californian Hotel!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    143
    91
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was the third time we've been to Napa Rose. The first time was fabulous, the second time good but not as good as the first. This time was awesome again.

We were staying at the Grand Californian and we were also celebrating my husband's birthday. It was the perfect meal. Our waiter was very good in helping us select a wonderful meal. We shared everything we ordered.

We started with the Morel Mushroom Risotto. So delicious and not overly mushroomy (if that makes sense). We've had food where the chef makes it too strong of a certain ingredient and we are always cautious when ordering. But this was perfect!

We then shared the Beet Salad. Again, it was just wonderful!

We shared the fish of the day (don't remember it now) and it was heavenly! For the side our waiter suggested the Truffled "Mac & Cheese" Orecchiette Pasta with Parmigiano-Reggiano. I was hesitant but went ahead with it. Boy, I'm sure glad we did! It was perfect! I thought it would be too rich but it was just melt in your mouth wonderful!

I don't remember the dessert but it was the perfect ending to our meal.

The waiter also helped us with wine pairings that really complemented our food.

We couldn't have been more pleased! It was especially nice that since it was my husband's birthday, they let him pick a dessert and it was complimentary! Many times we've been some place celebrating and they ask if you want dessert and we order dessert and then they bring out the complimentary dessert. That's too much dessert for us! And it isn't always something you would necessarily pick. We just thought it was so classy that they let him pick one of the desserts off the menu.

We will definitely be back! Next time we hope to get a couple of seats to watch the cooks in the kitchen!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
192 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Great Service”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

For about $90 per person you can enjoy an appetizer, main course, wine, cocktail, and after dinner expresso or cappuccino. The Buffalo Carpaccio Appetizer was excellent as was the mixed green salad, Fish, and Duck. Service was excellent, and this is the ultimate special occasion restaurant if you are visiting Disneyland, California Adventure or attending a conference.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Critics_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A small town in Northwest Washington
Level Contributor
250 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food- but not quite the prices”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

When you are going to pay $300 for dinner, tip, tax, and. $110 bottle of wine you want top notch food. It was good, but not great. It was fun to watch the chefs work in the open kitchen. The sommeliers were knowledgable and had stories about the wines. We had a very nice Napa Cab that paired well with our wine and steak. Very good service.

Helpful?
Thank chumsockeyesalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The food was good but”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We do not mind paying for good food and have been to many Disney restaurants and have enjoyed the food and paid the price because the food and service were worth it but this is NOT one of those places. The waiter felt the need to explain everything on the menu even though we told him we were not interested in certain items. They were not very busy the night we visited but everything seemed to take a very long time. It took us 2 1/2 hours for an entree and dessert. The food was flavorful but we have had better in the park. Would not recommend eating here unless you like wine and have plenty of money and time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napa Rose also viewed

 
Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Napa Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing