We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tasty but Expensive - great for world of color!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carthay Circle Restaurant

Carthay Circle Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 847 Restaurants in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tasty but Expensive - great for world of color!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We went here as part of the world of color dinner package, which would have been very worth it if the show had not been cancelled because of the weather. :(. The seats were right in the middle of the viewing area. We had an appetizer, two entrees, two craft cocktails (they had a pretty interesting list of choices), and two glasses of wine, and enjoyed all of it. The final bill was expensive, but it is fine dining in Disney so that is to be expected. If we had been able to see the show the price would have been completely justified.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingspartan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    181
    87
    48
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Dinner at the Disney Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is the best meal I've had the Disney Resort and that includes the hotels and Club 33. I really enjoyed myself. The restaurant is new and beautiful. The dining area is broken into cozy areas that really transform you out of the park. If you want a break from the hubbub of the parks, this is an oasis. The food was the delicious and the portions were a good size.
You can order off the menu or go with "World of Color" package that includes a fixed price 3-course dinner with selections off the main menu. The "World of Color" package also includes a reserved viewing area for the "World of Color" show. This is really nice because the viewing area is in the premium viewing area and you can arrive a few minutes before the show and still have a great place to see it. If you were planning to see "World of Color" anyway, this is a great way to enjoy dinner and have some of the best viewing available without waiting.
Just be prepared to spend a little more than you might be used to at Disneyland for a meal. The fixed price menu is about $60 before alcohol or any additional appetizers or side dishes you might also want to order. Adding tax and tip and you are over $70 per person.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedondoSurferDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good food, very expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The service and the steaks were cooked to perfection! The only drawback was the price. The other thing that they do is give you tickets (with a meal and dessert purchase) to the colored water show at California Adventure. Overall it is great!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoneJackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nicest Restaurant in the Disneyland Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We went to Carthay Circle for dinner and had an amazing time. When you arrive they check you in for your reservation and have you take a seat in a beautiful lounge. Just as a little background the Carthay Circle Theater was where Walt Disney premiered Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, and you are invited to come along for the VIP treatment. The ambience was breath taking, and we really felt like we were in a five star restaurant. The service was extremely attentive. The food was very good as well and they have a nice selection. As a side note we did the world of color package, so I'm not sure if the regular menu is more expansive. Since this restaurant is in DCA, liquor is available. I had the scotch Mist, which is Walt's signature drink, and my friend had a glass of wine. For World of Color package, meal is $60 per person excluding alcohol, however; that includes soup or salad, generous sized entree, and dessert. Additionally, Carthay provides excellent viewing section for World of Color Show. Overall and excellent experience I would recommend to everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent setting and service. Wait staff extremely attentive. Pretty good wine list. Limited menu with someone for everyone. Made mistake of getting price fixed menu, to get premium spot for World of Color. Would have been better to use fast passes for it and to eat off menu instead. Regardless, food was very well prepared with reasonable portions. Will dine there again, but remember, this is inside California Adventure so you need to be in the park to eat here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GateHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carthay Circle Restaurant also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Carthay Circle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing