We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed May 10, 2005

We first stayed at the Park Place on April 9th 2005 after staying here last year. We stayed one night and returned again April 28th for four more nights. The first night was uneventful and the front office staff were very polite and helpful. In fact the young man suggested to us that we pre book our return rooms (we had two), which he very nicely did for us. We made note of the room no's and left to tour the USA.

On arrival back at this hotel we interupted the desk clerk's telephone conversation and with no greeting from her at all were told that they did not pre book rooms especially if you booked with Expedia. Yes STRIKE US DOWN we booked with EXPEDIA. All of our Hotel rooms in the entire USA were booked with Expedia and we were never treated this badly by any other hotel.

We were given rooms overlooking the pool and the childrens room was on the oposite side of the hotel to ours. As we had prepaid we did contemplate forfeiting and going to the Marriot but decided that such bad service should not be rewarded. We did not however use the reception again until checkout, the checkout staff were very polite.

We have complained to Best Western Head Office and their response is they are looking into it. Nevertheless we would not stay here again, unfortunately it's closeness to Disney ensures it is full most of the time and they do not need to make any effort to remedy problems.

Helpful?
17 Thank Aussie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    1,108
    290
    94
    51
See reviews for
1,792
314
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2005

Great location for Disneyland. Very clean rooms, plenty of room. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Laundry on-site, which was great. Staff was friendly, helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Pool is very small, but that is the only negative.

Helpful?
7 Thank Joellyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94022
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2005

We just stayed in the BW for 4 nights / 5 days. We have 2 adults and 2 young kids.

The BW is the closest hotel to Disney. Right outside the Disney entrance. About 2-3 minutes to Disney's security check-point. The hotel is a bit old and small. Parking is tight. We stayed on the 2nd floor in a mini-suite (2 Queen size beds and one sofa bed, one bathroom, one fridge, one TV). The hotel has a small pool and spa (we did not use it). The free breakfast is offered in the resturant next to the hotel, 20 steps away.

The room and bathroom is very clean. Everything is in nice order. House-keeping does a great job. The front-end is quick for check-in and check-out. They even called me at night informing me that my car's inside light was ON. That was nice. We have NO problem with hot-water, fridge, bed, door, noise, security, safety or anything at all. This is definitely NOT a 5-star hotel, and I would rate it as a top-end 3-star hotel.

Since it is so close to Disney, and it is in good shape, I will definitely recommend it for family's Disney vacations.

-- Mike

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank my8286432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 26, 2005

We just returned last night from 5 nights at the Park Place Inn. Like everyone else has said the location absolutely cannot be beat. The last thing I wanted to do after a long day at Disney was drag myself and 3 hot, tired, hungry kids on a shuttle to a hotel. The room was great, nothing fancy but very clean. We had the 2 queens with the pull out and it suited our family of 5 fine. My only complaint would be the height of the shower head. I am only 5'4 and felt like I had to stoop down to wash my hair. If I raised it up, water sprayed all over the wall and on the floor. The pool was small, but our kids still thought it was fine. The room was very quiet we didn't hear much noise at all and at night if we stepped outside of our 3rd floor room, we could see the fireworks over at Disneyland. The front desk staff was friendly enough, we only checked in and out, we didn't require anything else. We only used the breakfast coupons twice mostly for coffee and juice and a quick bowl of cereal for the kids. The room comes with a mini fridge and micro, so we purchased some snacks to have on hand (carrots, string cheese, apples, instant oatmeal cups etc) to supplement the minimal options at the breakfast. Each day we would walk down to Mimi's cafe for an early dinner/late lunch. That way we beat the crowds and our party of 9 only had to wait a max of 15 minutes for a table. And that is great when it seems like all you do is stand in lines all day!! They have lots of options, very reasonably priced, huge portions (we would either share a meal or take leftovers home and keep in the fridge for later or the next day) and terrific service. We went to Disneyland last year and stayed at the Candy Cane which was fine, but this experience was so much nicer and more pleasant I will definately return to the Park Place Inn.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2005

It's not fancy; there's no room service, doors are external, the pool is small, and the tub in the bathroom is narrow, with a low shower head. BUT...it's squeaky clean. The pool and hot tub are nice, even though they're small, the fridge is a good size, the continental breakfast is fine, pretty much par for the course (muffins, cereal, toast, juice, etc). We were on the north side, 2nd floor, in a minisuite, and it was quiet and convenient. I felt safe staying here, and I can't emphasize enough how very clean it was. Good family atmosphere, and the location can't be beat. Free parking, helpful staff. They directed us to pizza places and grocery stores, replaced our lost breakfast vouchers, accommodated our slightly late checkout, and responded promptly to our requests. I would definitely stay here again, and probably will!

Helpful?
10 Thank chazcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 24, 2005

A friend and I stayed here for one night on April 22nd, 2005. I booked my stay online through the Best Western website. I was very happy to get a hotel right across the street from Disneyland. I requested a non-smoking room, since I dont smoke, and neither does my friend.

We were coming from another hotel in Los Angeles and checked in around 8am. I mainly just wanted to park the car and get across the street to start my Disney Day! I was informed by the lady at the desk, that there were no more non-smoking room, and I would be given a smoking room. I asked since it was so early, and I didnt need the room right now, if they would have some open up. She said she wasnt sure, but most likely. They said if not, they would spray some air freshener in the room to make it smell better. I was confident they could place me in a non smoking room, as SOMEONE would probably have checked out that day.

I went to Disneyland and had a blast. After a while I called the hotel to ask if they had any non smoking rooms available. I was told by a desk service member, that there were no non smoking rooms available, and that I would be given a smoking room. I then politely told them that I couldnt sleep in a smoking room as I am not a smoker. I then asked if I could get a refund if the room was unsleepable. He told me to hold on while he talked to the manager. When he came back, he told me that they would be able to upgrade me to a non smoking room with two queen beds for no extra charge. I thanked him very much for his trouble, and went on my way. I definately believe that I would have gotten nothing if I was rude. I was nice, polite and thanked him for taking the time to check for me. It makes ALL the difference in the world when you are nice when you ask for something.

When I got to the hotel, and talked to the desk clerk to get my room, I was tired and happy to be getting to bed. We got to the room, and saw immediately that it was a ADA (handicapped) room. It was spacious, and the bathroom shower had a detachable head, which I believe all hotels should have!

All in all, I was happy with the stay. The hotel desk clerks were always helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was meager to say the least so we went downstairs to the restaurant and ordered the breakfast buffet. It was good, and filling and was only $8.00.

The beds were very comfortable, and I slept better there than I had the entire week. I would definately recommend the Park Place Inn and Mini Suites.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2005

Our family of 5 stayed from the 8-13 Apr. Mini-Suite was just right for us. It was clean and well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast ( toast, 2 types of ceral, fruit ) was okay for a couple of days. Try Millies down the street at Fairfields. The pool and hot tub was a great way to end the day, or, since we were so close to DL, it made a nice mid day break. Shower head was low, 5 1/2 feet, maybe. A/C was quiet and worked well. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cmscms66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.3 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Address: 1544 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-2312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn and Mini Suites is located at the pedestrian crosswalk for the "Happiest Place on Earth". We offer a gift shop, 24 -hour front desk, and an outdoor heated pool and hot tub. Outdoor parking is also available for one vehicle per room, at nominal rate of $10 per night, with the benefit of parking up until 3:00 pm the day of departure. Start your morning off right with a complimentary breakfast. Enjoy a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi in your room. Book a stay today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn and Mini Suites for a magical and unforgettable trip to Disneyland(R)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn & Mini Hotel Anaheim
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn And Mini Suites
Best Western Anaheim
Best Western Park Place Inn Anaheim California
Best Western In Anaheim Ca
Anaheim Best Western
Best Western Park Place Inn Mini Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing