We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the krakatoa punch”

Trader Sam's Enchanted Tiki Bar
Ranked #28 of 861 Restaurants in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Bar, Polynesian, Hawaiian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome, Brave Adventurers! Dock your tramp steamer at the cement shores of the Disneyland Hotel pool area and enter this mystical, interactive experience. Bold and unforgettable cruise-ine awaits at this tiki bar inspired by the world-famous Jungle Cruise. Trader Sam's - named for the "head" salesman of the Amazon — features some of the exotic wares he has collected over the years. But beware...he's always looking for a good trade.
Camp Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved the krakatoa punch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Tried the Uh Oa, the Shipwreck, and the Krakatoa Punch. Our bartender was generous with the rum and after 4 intense days of dashing from ride to ride, he created some Disney magic: he made our feet stop hurting. Okay it was really the krakatoas which were our favorite, they really were yummy. We look forward to returning. And when our feet are killing us and we don't feel like we can take another step, we'll return to Trader Sam's for some Krakatoa therapy. It'll cure what ails ya.
Oh and take the time to look at all the tongue-in-cheek jokes mixed into the decor. If you like the jungle cruise, you'll appreciate this place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TinkerbellPatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    104
    45
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The tiki room without the birds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

A friend told me about this place that I never would have found on my own. Nestled between the hotels and by the pool, the inside lounge is small, but belly up to the bar and have a seat on a magical stool (no spoilers here). Order a Krakatoa, a Shipwreck, or an Uh-Oha. Order a draft beer and hear the drums. Sure, the drinks are pricey (about $12 for a Krakatoa, but the experience is second to none. My only beef about this place is that I think that the bartenders have been there a little too long. They haven't always been the most friendly types, so my advice is to go in, enjoy the drinks and experience and ignore the days-gone-by personalities of the folks serving you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique spot for a getaway drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

No time for a quick vacation? Drop in to Trader Sam's for a one to two-hour kickback that refreshes. Good tropical drinks and appetizers. Enough activity to amuse but not enough to irritate. Depending upon your mood, and the weather, outside might be the better choice. Worth a try!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great drinks good entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I enjoyed being on deck at trader sams while waiting for reservation time for dinner at steakhouse 55. All of our drinks were delicious and the pupu platter appetizer was very tasty. The entertainment was such a lovely touch, the two island singers were very talented. Good place to stop by on the way to dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dashLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy drinks, fun atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Trader Sam's is a great place to grab a drink while visiting Disneyland Resort. The only down sides are that it's a bit of a walk (at the hotel - the far end of Downtown) and it's pricey. However, the atmosphere IN the bar is VERY Disney-esque. The outside is more relaxed. Make sure you are aware of where you sit if you are outside, as one area has table service and the other has counter service which is not ideal if you want drinks from the bar (you have to go to the bar). It gets very busy after park closing, so I'd recommend trying to go when you can get a seat in the bar (take a break in the middle of the day).

The Piranha Pool is delicious!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyMcG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Sam's Enchanted Tiki Bar also viewed

 
Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Trader Sam's Enchanted Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing