We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel but terrible room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Anaheim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ranked #6 of 116 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Anaheim, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel but terrible room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and have always had great times. This time though we got room 201. Horrible! It's on the corner and all you hear are cars the entire time. Stopping and going constantly. No peace and quite. What a waste of $160! If you ever stay here get a room away from the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bluebat1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresMgr, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Bluebat1428,

Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant night's rest. While we very rarely receive noise complaints, if they were to happen it would be on that corner and during this time of year. The cooler weather means that the air-conditioners are not on and they serve to provide an effective noise blanket through all the white noise they generate. Concert nights certainly exacerbate the noise from the traffic.
I have been in contact privately and look forward to hearing from you.

With best regards,

Marcus Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    439
    91
    21
    9
See reviews for
837
410
46
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Awesome location right off the highway. My family and I really enjoyed this place. It was clean and the staff was nice. Our room was clean and the bed was super comfortable. The hotel is located across the street from the Honda Center and about 5 minutes to Disneyland. The hotel theme has a European boutique feel which felt warm and inviting. We will be coming back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was just perfect for my recent trip to see the Ducks play at the Honda Center. In fact, that is the prime reason I chose the Ayres Hotel...because it is directly across the street from the entrance to the Honda Center. You couldn't ask for a better location, but on a side note, I would not choose this hotel if I had intentions to spend most of my time at Disneyland. I know they have a shuttle that is free and convenient to Disney, but the hotel feels very far removed from the hustle and bustle of Disneyland. I'm sure for some people, being away from the action is preferred, but I prefer a location nearer the action of Disney.

There are a few positives and negatives with this hotel, so I will be brief in my summary.
Positive: Comfy beds, clean, boutique feel, exquisite staff, free parking, and a free breakfast
Negatives:pool is lacking, no on site restaurants...other than buffet breakfast, lacking amenities, feels far away from everything.

When I was booking my room online, through the Ayres site, I booked for one price and then a few days later saw that the price had dropped by 30 dollars. I called later that day to see if they could honor the new price on my current reservation, and the girl explained that she didn't see where the price had dropped, and I must have been looking at a weekday rate. I chalked it up to my mistake, but soon received an email that they had lowered my rate to the weekday rate that saved me $30. They didn't have to do that, but it was very much appreciated, since it was probably an error on my part. For that reason alone, I will always recommend this hotel and will make it a point to stay here each and every time I go to a Ducks game!!! Thank you Ayres.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spindalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference in Orange. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel maintains their particular image as evidenced by their decor both in the rooms and in the main building. By this I refer for example to the small elevators, furnishings, light fixtures - felt early 20th century. Charming and consistent.
The upgrades are a huge plus. Solid wifi signal in most places, nice cable signal and picture quality, good water pressure in the shower, and sink, low flow toilet and CFL light usage. coffee maker worked great, lots of storage spaces.
The only downsides I might mention are the dim lighting in the room, the fairly thin walls and doors (one can hear most anything in the hallway and usage of bathrooms in adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerrzbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel, had a boutique feel which was nice. Reception was very helpful and changed money for us so we could use their washing facility which were very good. Room was nice and clean with a VERY comfy bed. Couldn't work out the curtains as we only could pull the netting across not the full curtain. Breakfast was aeusome with the food being coked freshly in front of you and had a great selection, we had the pancakes which were tasty.

Room Tip: higher up is best away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ev-Court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Found this hotel thru Expedia and booked as it was on the Disney trolley route. Was pleasantly surprised to find the trolley stops at the reception door! Convenient that the hotel also sells passes for the trolley. The hotel and staff were terrific! Beds were very comfy and breakfast was tasty. The wee shop at the hotel was also handy. The restaurant located behind the hotel was also excellent. 8 of us stayed here 2 nights and had a great time. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting value for money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Lyndiva59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here over 1 week for our Disney trip.....very affordable with the most comfortable beds! The breakfast buffet was hot and delicious every morning! The whole staff was very courteous and helpful! Would recommend!!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
2.3 mi away
Stanford Inn & Suites
Stanford Inn & Suites
#13 of 116 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Anaheim

Property: Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Address: 2550 E Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92806-5902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel Anaheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Anaheim! You’ll find all of the 133 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Anaheim are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, microwaves, well lit work desks, Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. Every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast buffet which includes freshly cooked eggs, potatoes, sausage or bacon, pancakes or french toast, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. Ayres Hotel Anaheim welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Southern California has to offer. Across the street is the Honda Center that plays hosts to numerous sporting and entertainment events including Anaheim Duck ice hockey and popular music artist concerts. For baseball fans,catch an Anaheim Angles of Los Angeles game at the Angels Stadium, literally steps away. Guests can catch the Anaheim Resort Transit system to the Anaheim Convention Center, Disneyland Resort, Disney California Adventure, or for shops, restaurants, and bars the Downtown Disney District or Anaheim Garden Walk. The Ayres Hotel Anaheim is perfect for your family vacation, date night, or for the girls or guys night out on the town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ayres Hotel Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Ayres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing