We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayres Hotel Anaheim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Norwich, Vt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I am so glad I went with my gut after reading so many positive reviews. I was not disappointed. I originally booked a king room for 3 nights but within a few hours after checking in, decided to extend our stay. The staff is friendly and accommodating, property is beautifully decorated and maintained, rooms are generous in size (except the compact bathroom), pool and hot tub very clean and the breakfast is excellent. We plan to use the ART shuttle for our journey into Disneyland which conveniently stops at the front door. This hotel far exceeds my expectations for off Disney property accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sewnquilt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    474
    100
    25
    9
See reviews for
892
438
48
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our first trip to LA and we are glad we chose the Ayres Hotel. The hotel is very comfortable and only a 15 minute shuttle ride to Disneyland. We specifically chose this hotel as we did not want to be right across the road and the reviews we read were very complimentary. We have to say that the previous reviewers are very accurate and this is a great hotel. The complimentary breakfast each morning was a fantastic way to start the day and the chef Jose always greeted you with a smile and made a great breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteandCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was our first stay in the USA, as part of a 6 week holiday.
After the very long flight (14 hrs) this was a welcome sight and although we arrived before check-in we were able to go straight to the room. Room and the rest of the hotel was very clean and well presented. The housekeeping staff did a great job. Having the ART bus at the door made the daily trips to Disney a breeze and we also used the same ART bus from the hotel as a shuttle for other day trips just by changing to other routes at the Disney Park, very convenient and good value for money. We were very pleased to be able to stay away from the park area and the ART makes Ayers a great option. Had a front facing room but did not hear the highway at night.
The only disappointment for the 5 day stay was the lack of local knowledge of the reception staff. It seemed that any question we asked, such as "which bus do we catch for..." or "where is .." was met with the same response, "I don't know" or "I,m not sure". However this changed when Mai came on duty, she was what we expected, helpful and full of local knowledge.
Would recommend the hotel and stay again, just come prepared with your own local research.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

What a breath of freash air this hotel was.
Pleasently surprised at the lobby. It felt like we had stepped into a classy hotel in England.
The room was comfy and well decorated again with an english flair. Even the hallways were well adorned. The view was not great and I am unsure which direction would give a good view. Didn't matter though. It was a fab stay
The free breakfast and WiFi made it even more pleasurable
We stayed there as we were attending a concert at the Honda Centre
If you are going to Disneyland or anywhere in Anaheim.....STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLePew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We picked this hotel because it was across the street from the Honda Center. For me, it was an added bonus the hotel has a beautiful the interior. We like to sail, so we enjoyed looking at all the pictures of ships on the walls. The front desk was friendly and very welcoming whenever we had a question or needed help. The hotel offer a delicious breakfast. We enjoying the scramble eggs, bacon, potatoes, coffee and fresh fruit. They also offer toast, danishes, cold cereal, juices, yogurt and hot chocolate (I know there are a few other items I'm forgetting).

Our room was spacious and very clean. Walking into the room it was nice that the room was not ice cold or too warm. FYI: you will need to place you hotel key in a slot on the wall to turn on most of the lights. We are accustomed to a medium firm mattress, so the soft bed was a bit uncomfortable for us But we understand a lot of folks find soft mattresses comfy. The pillows are feather pillows. I'm not a fan of feather but I made do. It was nice that the sheet were not to short for the bed and did not come untuck while we were sleeping. I will never understand why some hotel place sheets that are too short of their beds. I did love the headboard, is was beautiful and made me forget I dislike feather pillows There was a bar area in the room with a refrigerator. I used that mirror to put on my make-up because of the lighting. The bathroom had the usual amenities - hair dryer, iron, tissue and lots of towels. One big (huge) plus about the room, is the windows actually open and we were able to circulate the air in the room with fresh air.

We did use the Town Car service through the hotel. It was a bit pricey but if was very convenient for us and got us back to the airport on time. The car was clean and comfy and te driver was pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EastBayGoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Decided to stay here for our Disney trip. The room is spacious compared to Disneyland Resort hotels, with a decent size bathroom, and wet bar with small fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and sink. Rooms and public areas were very clean, the beds are very very comfortable! Housekeeping during stay was minimal, but we witnessed the in-depth cleaning upon checkout.

Free parking, wifi, & breakfast were perks considering many hotels within walking distance of Disney charge a lot for parking. They had eggs, sausage or bacon, potatoes or hash browns, bagels, toast, donuts, pastries, cereals, yogurt, and fresh fruit for breakfast. The chef made great potatoes and bacon! Only very small complaints were that internet was very slow, and tv reception was terrible on certain channels (no Disney channel either :-()

Staff we encountered was very friendly! There was a happy hour one weeknight when we came home a little earlier than usual from Disney - not sure if that happens regularly or not....but there was wine, beer, chips with salsa and guacamole (very very good guacamole too!)

Don't expect to have a super quiet hotel - remember it is close to Disney, so we heard a lot of stomping going on above us - but luckily they were on the same schedule as us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamboo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresMgr, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Bamboo2010,

Thank you for the lovely review. We love to hear such kind comments about housekeeping and our front desk staff. I am so sorry that you had such trouble with the wifi and TV but quite glad you posted your comments. The reason being that we have just completed a massive infrastructure upgrade in our wifi system, which has trasnformed the system. We previously had issues with ipads and iphones in particular but we now have a completely different system. On Tuesday of next week we will be testing our new cable service, and hopefully within one week we will go live complete with the long-awaited Disney channel (and our beloved Lakers).

Thanks again for your feedback. It is feedback like yours that makes the difference in getting the investment for these upgrades.

With warm regards,

Marcus Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Easy to see why this hotel is ranked #1 in Anaheim.
My partner and I stayed at Ayres for 6 nights in October while we visited LA. The customer service here is amazing and everyone was very helpful.
We really enjoyed the complimentary cooked breakfast every morning and the chips, dips and drinks in the evening were great, the best part being the freshly baked cookies!
The king size bed we had was also amazing, hands down the most comfortable bed we had on our entire stay.
Easy enough to get to places like Disneyland by jumping on the shuttle and as we had a car, the free parking space was really handy. Most places charge for parking per day!
The pool and Spa was nice to relax after a hard day of shopping.
Although Ayres doesn't have its own restaurant the brewery/restaurant next door was great and had some really nice food & drink!

If we ever return to LA we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 117 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Anaheim

Property: Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Address: 2550 E Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92806-5902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#11 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel Anaheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Anaheim! You’ll find all of the 133 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Anaheim are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, microwaves, well lit work desks, Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. Every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast buffet which includes freshly cooked eggs, potatoes, sausage or bacon, pancakes or french toast, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. Ayres Hotel Anaheim welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Southern California has to offer. Across the street is the Honda Center that plays hosts to numerous sporting and entertainment events including Anaheim Duck ice hockey and popular music artist concerts. For baseball fans,catch an Anaheim Angles of Los Angeles game at the Angels Stadium, literally steps away. Guests can catch the Anaheim Resort Transit system to the Anaheim Convention Center, Disneyland Resort, Disney California Adventure, or for shops, restaurants, and bars the Downtown Disney District or Anaheim Garden Walk. The Ayres Hotel Anaheim is perfect for your family vacation, date night, or for the girls or guys night out on the town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Ayres Hotel Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Ayres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing