We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ayres Hotel Fan, But Not The Anaheim Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An Ayres Hotel Fan, But Not The Anaheim Location”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed at a number of Ayres Hotels in Orange County, CA, and while I have enjoyed most of my stays, the Anaheim location is the least desireable. This was my third time at the Anaheim location, however the first time I have used some of their amenities. The interior lobby is always kept neat and attractive, as are most of the public areas. The rooms, however, appear to be aging, evidenced by damaged bath fixtures and cracked floor tiles. The last room I stayed in had some type of plumbing pipe sticking through the shower wall, with no useful purpose. I had not yet enjoyed the complimentary breakfast at this location and was disappointed to discover that this location does not offer "cooked to order omelets", as do their other of locations where I have stayed. The guest services director told me that they did not employ an "omelet chef", yet they still had a "chef" standing over a very large grill cooking eggs, bacon, and potatoes. My greatest concern with this location was their business arrangement with the Anaheim Resort Transportation (ART) system. The hotel will not provide guests with transportation to local attractions, but will sell you a ticket to use a shuttle bus run by ART. They charge the guest $5.00 per pass, roundtrip. I bought one, but was suprised to note, after boarding the bus, that, as a senior citizen, I could have purchased the same rountrip ticket for $2.00, a fare which is clearly posted on the bus meter. I would certainly return to an Ayres Hotel on my next visit, but not the Anaheim location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinInaDavlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    524
    112
    27
    11
See reviews for
996
481
54
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We too chose the Ayres Anaheim as it was the top rated hotel but it is really just middle of the road in our books. The hotel is nice with larger than average rooms which are clean & modern and the ammenities are well kept. The breakfast offered a varied selection of hot & cold items however, it ends at 9am which is a little early for our liking. They also offer an evening reception during the week which we were not able to take advantage of. While it is close to Disneyland (about a 6 mins drive to the Toy Story parking lots), there are plenty of same level hotels within walking distance which would save you the $ on parking at the park. Our only true complaint with the hotel is the plumbing in the bathroom which kept chaning from scalding hot to freezing cold during the shower (ok for an adult to deal with, not so good for kids & also not really a relaxing way to start your vacation day) and it's the reason we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresMgr, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your positive comments about the cleanliness of the rooms and how well kept the property is. I have shared the comments with our housekeeping staff.
I am sorry that you found the breakfast to shut a little early. We do extend our hours during the peak seasons in the knowledge that Disneyland shuts at midnight, but we have much less demand on weekdays during off-season. It is certainly worth review and I will be checking to see how many people are coming to breakfast between 8.30 and 9.00. Our weekend hours are always 7am until 10am.
I am afraid that you were unfortunate with the shower. Within the shower there is a mixer that must have malfunctioned. It happens very rarely and is easy to replace. I am sorry that we did not address this for you. Please believe me that a shower functioning in this way is not an acceptable state of affairs. Please do let me know which room you were in so we can have it addressed right away.
I hope you will reconsider returning and that we will have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.

All the best,

Marcus Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Average hotel. We stayed here for one night and visited Disneyland. Its just a few miles drive to the park and is right off the expressway, so it was convenient for our trip. Parking was free and the hotel was quiet. The decor and rooms could use some renovation, but the bed was newer and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresMgr, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear db1985,

I was disappointed to read that we had not met your expectations, and that you found the hotel to be just OK. I am glad that you found the bed comfortable. You are right, the beds are very new, as is much of the room, including the desk, the desk chair, the fridge, microwave, phones, dresser, and TV. I am concerned that you felt the room needed renovation and would be curious to know which room it was. We do have an active preventative maintenance program to keep on top of any issues, so we are particularly keen to address any wear and tear that has detrimentally affected a guest stay. I would very much appreciate your response to my private message providing the room number that you stayed in, so that we can address any wear and tear in the room that might have been missed.

Please accept my apologies for your experience and my hope that you will reconsider staying with us again.

Best regards,

Marcus Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We just stayed at the Ayres Hotel Anaheim because it was ranked #1 in Tripadvisor. Seriously? What a very average hotel! When we checked in we weren't even told that you had to put your room key in a slot to turn on the power in the room so I had to call down to the desk right away. We were never told about the code for the wifi and had to call down again. Went to the hot tub and all the towels were gone, had to go to desk again. We were woken up at 6:00 am with a wake up call that we did not set. The toilet did not work, had to call down again. The elevators were horribly slow. The line for food in the morning was atrocious. My husband asked me why in the world did I book this "dump" and I had to answer that it was ranked #1 on Tripadvisor. This is the first time that I have been disappointed with a hotel that has ranked so high.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresMgr, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Mygx470,

I am so very sorry that you had such a very disappointing experience staying at our hotel. I am so sorry that we did not explain the energy saving mechanism. We typically do, so this was definitely the exception and not the rule. I am sorry about the wifi code confusion. At the time you stayed there was no code requirement. I am so sorry that we did not have the towels stocked at the pool. We keep the towels for the pool in the Fitness Center in two racks. I was surprised to find that there were none. However there is a phone if you do need anything while at the pool, that will dial directly to the front desk. I am sorry that you were frustrated by the line in the morning for the hot freshly cooked breakfast. I am afraid that we do have a lot of demand on our breakfast at particular times in the morning.

With regards to your comments and those of your husband related to our position on Tripadvisor, I believe I should explain the nature of the site. We do not place ourselves in this position. This is purely based on our customer's opinions. We receive similar results on the online travel agent websites too. However what I would also point out is that the place on Tripadvisor is not like a star rating. A high popularity rating does not also mean 5 star services and resort amenities. The guests that rate the hotel highly are looking for a comfy bed, a clean, pleasantly decorated room and a hearty breakfast. You were unfortunate in many aspects of your stay, but our level of service and amenities is typically consistent.

With best regards,

Marcus Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here as part of our Disneyland leg of our LA experience. Large room, comfortable bed and informative, helpful staff complete the package. No bar or restaurant but they cater for breakfast which is plentiful and typically 'American'. Plenty of nearby bars and food outlets including Hooters! Disneyland only a 15 minute shuttle bus away.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank blueshark_m4ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We picked the Ayres Anaheim because it was number one on tripadvisor.
The hotel was clean. The staff were wonderful and helpful. I loved the complimentary breakfast and took my son down every morning we were there. The housekeeping staff did an awesome job. The room was always clean when we came back to it no matter how short or long we were gone.
We had very few sound issues. The only one I can think of was on the weekend we were there a wedding party was staying at the hotel and they were pretty noisy. We were also in town for a wedding, so we understand celebrations can get loud. I think the only reason we heard them was because they were RIGHT next door and screaming. I never heard any noise otherwise from any of the guest rooms above, below, or next to us.
After I checked in, there was a lady that almost followed me into my room the first time I went into it. The door was shutting and she straight up opened it and almost walked in. She quickly apologized and shut the door. People are weird, what can I say.
The reason I didn't give it a 5 was because of two issues. 1st, someone kept changing the temp on the A/C. The Ayres has this wonderful set up where you can take your room key and shut off and on the power in the room. We always shut it off when we left and turned it back on when we got back. But someone still turned the A/C up to 80 everytime they came in the room. It was a little annoying, but not a deal breaker. The second issue was that we called down 3 times for foam pillows since my sister has a feather allergy. But we didn't get them until the last night. She woke up with a swollen eyes after the first night. The hotel was booked the weekend we were there for an event at the honda center, so we understood that they might not have any available. That being said, I wish someone would have told us one way or the other if they were available or not.
Some minor things I ran into were that there was a guy hanging around the pools outside the gate that creeped me out. Maybe adding some privacy there would be nice. The pools had a couple bugs in them, but that happens sometimes, so it wasn't a big issue for me.
The shuttle service was a great idea. We didn't use it because with three of us going to Disneyland, 2 dollars difference between parking and shuttle made deciding to drive just seem like a better idea because it allowed us some freedom.
We were on the third floor looking over the intersection just outside the honda center and at night the neon light signs would flood the room with green light. The black out curtains helped alot but a little light would always seem to creep in through the crack between them. Adding some weight to the bottom of the curtains or some way to connect them might take care of that issue all together.
I would stay here again. Like I said, great service and a great value.
The biggest issue we had were the pillows since my sister had an allergy. I wish there had been better follow up.
We loved our stay. I know I listed a bunch of issues, but don't let that distract from the good job this hotel does overall.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side if you plan to swim so you don't have to walk through the halls as much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank facesofangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Free wi fi, free excellent breakfast (home fries were soooo good), free parking and rooms with plenty of space and comfy beds with mini fridge and microwave. We drove to Disney Toy Story lot every day (we had free parking and was less than 10 minutes) and it was awesome. Will definitely stay here again when we go to Disneyland. I was worried about Angels traffic but we had no issue. Room 438 overlooked the pool and had excellent wi fi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzScrapbookingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
2.4 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#26 of 118 in Anaheim
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Anaheim

Property: Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Address: 2550 E Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92806-5902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel Anaheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Anaheim! You’ll find all of the 133 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Anaheim are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, microwaves, well lit work desks, Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. Every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast buffet which includes freshly cooked eggs, potatoes, sausage or bacon, pancakes or french toast, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. Ayres Hotel Anaheim welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Southern California has to offer. Across the street is the Honda Center that plays hosts to numerous sporting and entertainment events including Anaheim Duck ice hockey and popular music artist concerts. For baseball fans,catch an Anaheim Angles of Los Angeles game at the Angels Stadium, literally steps away. Guests can catch the Anaheim Resort Transit system to the Anaheim Convention Center, Disneyland Resort, Disney California Adventure, or for shops, restaurants, and bars the Downtown Disney District or Anaheim Garden Walk. The Ayres Hotel Anaheim is perfect for your family vacation, date night, or for the girls or guys night out on the town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Hotel Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Ayres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing