We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I recently stayed at the Ayres Hotel Anaheim and thought it was great. We went for Disney but did an assorment of things. I did my research before I left and this hotel had the best reviews and I'm glad we went with this place. The hotel was clean and the beds were very comfortable, with many amenities, including free breakfast, free parking, and a kitchenette. I travelled to and from LA. Disneyland isn't that far from the hotel as others had suggested, especially since there was a bus that left every hour and returned you back to the hotel. I had heard a lot of negativity about this shuttle service. I thought it was great and they were always there the times that the wonderful hotel staff told us. You purchase a bus ticket and away you go. The front desk staff were perfect, they took the time to make sure you felt at home and answered all of your questions. Gabby was one of the many front desk staff who helped us and was very friendly!!! Thank you for that! One of the best hotels I have stayed at and I am very picky. I would stay time and time again!! The only thing I would say bothered me as someone from out of town was that the brochures for things to do in California weren't readily available but they were in the breakfest room.

Room Tip: I had a room not facing the highway and I thought it was great, not a lot of noise at anytime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D-NYC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,347
    503
    108
    25
    11
See reviews for
961
465
53
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

I selected the hotel because of its proximity to Disneyland, as well as my planned drive to LA and San Diego (almost centrally located between the two cities).
The room is comfortable, with great amenities like free WiFi and cabled connection and kitchenette. The only thing I wished they have is a room safe, but it's not a big deal.
All staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly. They really make you feel at home, and they are genuine at it. Kudos to all of them, from front desk to the breakfast room staff.
The other great thing is the free and ample parking at the hotel, and it's situated near several amenities like gas stations (ARCO and SHELL), restaurants like Denny's, Panda Express etc. Just take a 5 minutes drive and you are there.
All in all, I enjoyed my stay there. My reply to one of the breakfast room staff, when he asked me whether would I come back again, was a resounding YES. You would not go wrong with Ayres Anaheim.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

No frills here but it's perfect, clean, and comfortable for our family of 4. We spent a Fri and Sat night for a total of $240 with our Triple AAA discount. (This would be the same cost for a one night's stay at a hotel like Sheraton, Hilton, Crowne Plaza.) We've done these other hotels but this one is just fine for us. Free made to order breakfast, parking, and WiFi. Yes, you have to drive to Dland (parking is $15) but not that big a deal. Queen/double beds were super comfortable. This is the 2nd time that we stayed here.

Room Tip: Check for Triple AAA or fall 20% discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcsyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a short trip to Disneyland and paid 1/3 of the cost we have previously paid for one of the DLand hotels. This hotel offers way more for your money and is in close proximity to many attractions.

To start with, parking and WIFI is free! The hotel is close to the freeway and also has several eateries nearby. One of the most impressive ammenities was the free breakfast. There was a plentiful supply of cereals, fruit, yogurt, muffins, bagles, toast, juice and coffee. The cook also served freshly cooked eggs, potatoes, bacon and sausage. They also make pancakes on request. This was one of the more impressive breakfast selections and much more plentiful than the one we paid dearly for at the Disney California Hotel.

The room was large, clean and well appointed. The beds were comfortable and the linens were nice quality. I was also able to print our boarding passes at no charge in the hotel lobby.

The only negative was on friday night. There was a UFC fight at the Honda Center across the street. To begin, there were scalpers everywhere selling tickets and knockoff merchadise. All the while OCPD looked the other way. The fight was minutes long whereupon several of the patons converged on the hotel lobby and proceded to take over the lounge and lobby restrooms. I overheard (7) different individuals request the hotel clerk to call them cabs. Many of these individuals were intoxicated, some brought their own alcohol to consume as they waited. These "loiterers" were not hotel guests and acted as though they had paid for some services.

I complained to the hotel clerk who advised she was pregnant and not comfortable with asking them to leave which I fully understood. She stated she was awaiting her male counterpart to return to assist. When I asked about security, she advised there was none on the premises which caused me concern.

After our stay I received an email to inquire as to how things went from the manager with the following:

Marcus Collins
General Manager
We Care About People
We Value Teamwork
We Deliver Results

Well I did respond regarding our concerns and it's now more than two weeks later with no acknowlegement - obviousdly no delivered results.

While our concerns were not addressed, the value still exceeded the annoyance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeeLee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

The Ayres is a great hotel with European antique style decor, very comfortable rooms and a very welcoming environment. The breakfasts were good and the evening reception was a bonus after a long day at Disney.
The only minor downside was the 2 mile or so journey to Disney, however the bus stopped at the hotel lobby so not a major issue. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L1ttlest_h0b0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

A great hotel for families while visiting Disneyland. Large, clean rooms with free wifi, breakfast and parking. Only criticism is proximity to the freeway which can make room noisy. Overall, brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here for a week. To be honest, I was a little shocked that it was rated #1 when I first got there. It definitely needs some updating. However, after the second day, I realized that it was a really nice place to be. The staff was very nice. The housekeepers did an amazing job and they offered a free breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresMgr, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Britt21,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you found the housekeepers to be amazing and the staff very nice and I do appreciate your comments. I will certainly be sure to pass on your comments to my staff, in particular housekeeping

I was disappointed and surprised to find that you thought the hotel needed updating. We do have a more traditional style, but we are actually towards the end of renovating much of the hotel. The exterior part of the property has a new paint job, new landscaping and decorative lighting. On the interior we have new beds, dressers, flat-screen TVs, desks, desk chairs, ihome alarm clocks, breakfast room chairs and hallway carpeting. However I am interested to know where you feel we need to update the hotel, as our renovation is still ongoing and ultimately the renovations are for the benefit of our guests.

I look forward to hearing from you and hope that we will also have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Best regards,

Marcus Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
2.3 mi away
Stanford Inn & Suites
Stanford Inn & Suites
#11 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Anaheim

Property: Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Address: 2550 E Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92806-5902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel Anaheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Anaheim! You’ll find all of the 133 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Anaheim are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, microwaves, well lit work desks, Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. Every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast buffet which includes freshly cooked eggs, potatoes, sausage or bacon, pancakes or french toast, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. Ayres Hotel Anaheim welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Southern California has to offer. Across the street is the Honda Center that plays hosts to numerous sporting and entertainment events including Anaheim Duck ice hockey and popular music artist concerts. For baseball fans,catch an Anaheim Angles of Los Angeles game at the Angels Stadium, literally steps away. Guests can catch the Anaheim Resort Transit system to the Anaheim Convention Center, Disneyland Resort, Disney California Adventure, or for shops, restaurants, and bars the Downtown Disney District or Anaheim Garden Walk. The Ayres Hotel Anaheim is perfect for your family vacation, date night, or for the girls or guys night out on the town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Hotel Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Ayres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing