We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with one minor hiccup”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stay with one minor hiccup”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have been to Anaheim multiple times over the years and came here with no intention of doing the Disney or Universal theme parks. As others have mentioned, the Anaheim Resort Transport stops on the property. Depending on how many there are in your group this may well work out cheaper than parking at places like Disney.

I notice that a couple of other reviewers have commented that it is not really close to the local shops and restaurants. I would agree with this (we had rented a car).

Overall the stay was absolutely fine apart from:

The computers in the lobby were not working (not a major issue as I have a smart phone and they provide free Wi-Fi) so when I wanted to print off a booking confirmation I went next door to the Staybridge Suites that is part of the same site (as suggested by reception).

The "hiccup" was that I was given 1 voucher for 1 free breakfast for every night of the stay (I am a Priority Club Member). As this was 6 nights and there were 3 of us I thought we would we use 3 each for 2 days. The "duty manager" initially made quite a fuss over this and said it was not possible. In they end they relented and agreed that we could use the vouchers as I wanted. My wife however was not impressed with the initial "attitude" and so we ate breakfast out after the first two mornings using up the vouchers!

Apart from the breakfast issue the staff were great and very friendly. No problem with the room (clean and well maintained) apart from the fact that the air conditioning was a bit loud.

I would be happy to return here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRealEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    446
    180
    83
    77
See reviews for
505
164
58
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The biggest issue we had with this hotel was our room. The cleanliness was terrible. We actually found a hair brush as well as a used kleenex in the hotel room when we checked in. Our entire floor stunk of smoke. We complained to front desk and they said they had temp cleaning staff in and apologized. It is a pain to take the shuttle to the park. Personally we were much happier when we stayed at hotels closer to the park main gate. I would never recommend or stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear maggie286,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on cleanliness, poor housekeeping and poor shuttle service. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonora, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We placed our spare shoes in a plastic bag, left for disneyland and when we came back in the afternoon, the bag is nowhere to be found! We searched high and low for it but we never found it, we complained to the people in the front desk and to the manager the following day,yeah they said they'll investigate but we didn't feel the concern, we just lost material things which probably costs about $200, it's not about the worth of shoes but the emotional impact it gave to my family, my son was devastated because his favorite jordan shoes was in the bag. It was traumatizing experience to us and I hope they realize it. We'll never stay in that hotel again and God bless to the person who took it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimenSonora_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Not a bad hotel, relatively quite although some residents would do well to realise that there are other residents in the hotel who don't wish to be woken up in the early hours with screaming and shouting.
Air con in the room was very noisy so we didn't have it on during the night.
Buffet breakfast was reasonable value for money but the restaurant should be open for longer hours.
Hotel staff were helpful and friendly.
Hotel is rather dated and in need of an internal facelift.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor ( 3 or above), chances are you will get a view. Check the aircon wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Marshall58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I came to California with a tour group and we stayed at Holiday Inn due to the price. The location was rubbish! Unless you're getting the shuttle bus to Disney you will be bored. We only stayed the one night and stop off point on the way to San Diego. The room was clean and breakfast wasn't bad. The hotel shop was basically unattended, half of the things unpriced and when we wanted to pay, the receptionist just said "leave it on the counter" - good thing we didn't need change!

Also, although our fault, we left our coats behind. When we rang to say could you FedEx it to our next hotel in Vegas (and saying we would pay whatever the price!) they made a real issue of it! It was crap customer service. Here we were saying we would pay anything to get our coats back, all you need to do it FedEx it to our next hotel and it took them 2 days to make a decision!!!!! Awful!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca_Lobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Rebecca_Lobb,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I am glad that our room accommodations were satisfactory to your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the staff may have caused. I will follow up with the staff to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel staff not friendly. I didn't feel welcome at hotel. Not once did the hotel staff smile. Buffet breakfast at hotel was cold numerous times. I informed them about that but nothing changed every morning. Our room wasn't comfy as it stunck of smoke! Also there was soap left in shower from previous hotel guest when we arrived in room and a kid scribbled on wall in room. Will not stay at hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mim2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Mim2510,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret the service you received from our staff fell below your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I arrived with email confirmation for a king suite. Received a queen bed with horrible mattress and pillows. Desk clerk suggested I try the sofa bed. Next to noisy freeway construction. Restaurant closed at 10 so no after park snacking. Bacon at breakfast crumbled into bits. No preference offered for priority member with 100+ visits/year. Huge disappointment

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear elizabeth u,

Thank you for your being a Priority Club Member and for leaving us a feedback about your stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.2 mi away
The Comfort Inn & Suites Anaheim, Disneyland Resort
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Menage
Hotel Menage
#61 of 118 in Anaheim
2,004 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area

Property: Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
Address: 1915 S Manchester Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Anaheim Resort is located in the heart of Anaheim, just minutes from Disneyland, is a full service hotel with 264 guestrooms, including upgraded executive king rooms. The Holiday Inn Anaheim Resort also offers free wireless high-speed Internet throughout the hotel, including the Pacifica Ballroom, ideal for meetings and social functions. The Holiday Inn Anaheim Resort sells Disneyland Tickets in the Disneyland Resort. Located just 1 mile from the Anaheim Convention Center. Other entertainment venues within one mile include: Anaheim Stadium/Honda Center, the Home of the Anaheim Angels, Downtown Disney and Disney's California Adventure. The perfect hotel for a Disneyland vacation. Enjoy breakfast and dinner in our American Brasserie Restaurant and Bar, featuring pool and watch sporting events. Pool side drinks and dining from the Cabana Bar (seasonal), are available. Located just 4 blocks from the hotel is the Block & Garden Walk, offering movie theaters, several restaurants and shopping options. The newest Holiday Inn in Anaheim, built in 2001. A full service hotel with friendly amenities of a resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing