We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Budget hotel in the Area. Would go back again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Budget hotel in the Area. Would go back again.”
Reviewed January 6, 2006

The hotel dose shows its age in the area of carpeting and a few other minor things, but I must say it was Very Clean. I have stayed at other hotels of the same class in this area, and I must say this is by far the best in the area. I stayed with my family and, we utilized the pool and sauna every night. The pool was heated to about 75 degrees Fahrenheit, not as warm as I would of liked but, It was very swim able in January. The only interaction I had with the staff was at check in and check out. Both were extremely nice and quick. If you would like to walk to Disneyland from this hotel It is possible but, I would not recommend it. The Distance would be about a half mile each direction. Going there is not bad but coming back after a log day can be a pain. If your children are under the age of 9 I would suggest the Buss system. It’s not that expensive. But for a family of 4 it’s just as cheap to drive to the main gate and pay the $10.00 for parking. (Plus you can leave stuff in your car, a cooler with food can save you a lot of cash as Disney food is expensive). If you stay at this hotel be aware that the Pool area closes at 10pm (but the hotel staff didn’t actually close it down until about 10:30) My family came back from the part at 9 so that we could sit in the hot tub for an hr and soak our feet. It was Nice to take that time and meet some of the other guests from around the country/world. Another nice feature was the towels at the pool. We never had to bring out towels out of our room, there were always plenty at the pool. This hotel left me and my family with some good memory; we will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tpolston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    515
    235
    85
    38
See reviews for
678
192
33
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2005

First off, the rooms. Lovely, clean, looked like they'd recently been refurbished. Cannot fault them at all. Amongst the nicest during our trip.

Next, the staff - helpful and friendly, although at times it would have been nice if another staffer could have been called to assist. I had to wait at times whilst the receptionist dealt with a (long) phone call... and a developing queue - if someone could have come to assist, this would not have happened.

Pool and spa area were very good - great whirlpool spa. If you stay here, definitely make use of this facility.

Breakfast was of a reasonable standard. Which is just as well bearing in mind this hotel isn't really near much. Which brings me to the minus points.

This hotel is not as close to Disney as the publicity would make out. And the shuttle bus service - which is supposed to be every 20 minutes - is awful. We had to wait over an hour in both directions. And they might look nice from the outside, but inside are like tatty wooden cattle trucks.

So... if you're looking to use this hotel as a base to visit Disney, bear this in mind. Given that this hotel makes a big thing of Disney, perhaps they should put pressure on to improve the standard of the shuttle service - or maybe even run their own? A couple of (comfortable) buses on permanent rotation would give them a real edge over the competition.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BOBJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2005

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nites. For the price we paid, I think its really quite good. Great value for money. Situated at a very quiet and homely neigbourhood. The hotel corridoor is abit old, but the rooms and the building exterior looks perfectly fine. No complain at all. Front desk is fairly helpful.

Just pay $3 for unlimited rides on shuttle just at the entrance of the hotel to Disney area (the bus ride is about 10 mins). Dont thk you want to try walking to Disney - the $3 shuttle is worth it.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank Pink_Pong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2005

Had a three night stay here on the way to Hawaii in November. I had mixed feelings about staying here after hearing up and down comments. I must say we were pleasantly surprised with this accommodation.

The Disneyland Coach from LAX International Airport will take you direct from the terminal to the Holiday Inn for 19 dollars one way per person.
The room we had was clean we had adequate space. Bathroom was clean had a shower/bath.
It was about $11 dollars extra per night to hire a refrigerator. The room we had was air conditioned, it does make a slight noise but not too bad.
Staff were ok answered any questions we had, we bought our Disneyland tickets from reception which saved queuing up at the park.

Location is not bad, although it is not the nearest hotel to the Disney complex. It will take approx 10 to 15 minutes walk to reach the downtown Disney complex which has a nice atmosphere in the evening. Disney theme parks are walkable from the hotel it will take approx 15 to 20 minutes. There is a bus service which costs $3.00 a day you can buy the tickets from the machine in the lobby area. This service can take just as long as walking. A cab is about $10 dollars from the hotel to the Disney main entrance.

The hotel food is ok but slightly expensive. There are many restaurants opposite the main entrance to Disney’s main entrance on Harbor Blvd like Denny’s, Mcdonalds etc. These are also cheaper then Downtown Disney places if you are on a budget. Also there is a Subway sandwich place a few yards to the right of the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2005

I immediately need to clarify the information supplied by the hotel. This HI is located on Walnut Ave between Ball Road and Magic Way behind the Disneyland Resort, (NOT theme parks). It is one long block away from the DLR property line, but 3/4 mile away from the theme parks. The hotel is Stop 3 on the "B" line of the Anaheim Resort Shuttle service, and the bus stops approx every 20 minutes at the front door of the HI. If you're not walkers like we are at Disneyland, you'll appreciate the service. Single day and multi-day shuttle tickets can be purchased in the lobby.

The only Disney property this hotel is one block away from is the parking structure next door!

But, you know what?, we enjoyed our two-day stay on October 19 and 20. We were roomed in 3205, a second-story, double-double room, with no view to speak of.
I was concerned about noise from the parking lot, and the adjacent Disney parking structure, but it never materialized, and I slept very well.

Due to it's location, you feel like your staying in a residential area, and not the Disneyland Resort area.
Whether this is a good thing or not, I'll leave that to you to decide.

The room was very clean, and appeared to have been recently renovated. Small bathroom with good water pressure in the shower. Sink is outside the bath in an alcove. In-room coffee, but no refrigerator, microwave, or mini-bar. Good TV with the usual channels, pay-per-view, and video games.

SMALL restaurant and lounge in the main lobby, in keeping with HI standards. We were Getaway Today customers, and the comp breakfast was excellent and well worth getting up early for. The service we received was excellent - friendly and efficient.

Nice pool and spa. Appeared to be VERY popular the nights we were there. I might have needed a FastPass
to use the spa, but I called it an early night.

The theme parks are as busy as I've seen them, due to the 50th Anniversary and year-round schools on fall break. Be in line before opening, and take advantage of any "Early Entry" days you might be eligible for.
You can get A LOT of attractions done between 8:00 am
(Early Entry) or 9:00 am (Regular Entry), and 10:30 am, when the Magic Kingdom began to feel fully subscribed.

An above-average Holiday Inn, with the potential for lots of exercise for Disney guests. You won't need the treadmill in the exercise room, either...

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank GrumpyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2005

i stayed at the hotel first they gave us a room that was not finished then a couple of nights boy racers turned up playing loud music and shouting

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 10, 2005

The hotel was okay, I am not sure I would stay here again. The staff is hit and miss for quality especially in the resturant (which does not serve lunch). If you stay here be sure you get a room away from any main door or ice machine or you will hear everything! If you do stay here the walk to Disneyland maingate is 10 min. but a nice walk. You can catch the parking area tram and shave off some time and walking distance. you can catch it just before you go into the park or at the parking garage area. You will see the parking area as you start walking towards the park.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Colony
Anaheim Majestic Garden Hotel
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Address: 1240 South Walnut, Anaheim, CA 92802-2241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#36 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated property presents guests with a fun and modern art deco ambiance suitable for both business travelers and families alike. This amenities-rich, full-service hotel offers spacious guestrooms and suites at an affordable rate right in the heart of Orange County, adjacent to Disneyland(R), Disney's California Adventure(R), Downtown Disney(R), and with easy access to the Anaheim Convention Center, and many other Southern California attractions. Now welcoming small dogs!! A fee does apply. Book our 60th Anniversary package and receive a $60 food and beverage credit during your stay. (One $60 credit voucher per stay) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Anaheim (1 Blk/Disneyland)
Holiday Inn Hotel Anaheim
Holiday Inn Anaheim
Anaheim Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing