We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“This budget hotel thinks it's a resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1240 South Walnut, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #40 of 116 Hotels in Anaheim
Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This budget hotel thinks it's a resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

PRO: 1. Close enough to Disneyland to walk to, although is it a long walk.
2. All of the personnel that we dealt with were very friendly and helpful.
3. WiFi is free

CON: 1. The room had 2 double beds, not queens.
2. The room itself was so small that the double beds barely fit, there was about 6 inches between the side of the beds and the walls.
3. $10 dollars a night for parking
4. No lounge area for guests to sit, read the paper, and have coffee in the morning. There is a sofa and 2 chairs outside the restuarant, but it is very loud and crowded.
5. Regular room rates are very expensive. We got a deal on our room though one of the discount travel sites, but they slipped someone else's bill under our door one night and the standard rate was twice what I paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjdmlhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear tjdmlhw,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am more than happy that you liked our location and found our staff to be very friendly. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had on some aspect during your stay. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    456
    210
    77
    34
See reviews for
593
169
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Check in was excellent and quick. Roy was awesome. The manager that we talked to (did not get his name) was super.
This place far exceeded our expectations.
We walked to Downtown Disney and Disneyland about (7) times without problems. It was about 20 min. Parking was fine. The room was great. Maintenence help us fix a stroller. Food was OK....Kids at Free! The pool was nice....kids had fun....it was nice a warm. Our whole family of (5) would recommend this property to anyone and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank castanza0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon!

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My bf and I are locals and wanted a night out at Disney with a show at House of Blues to finish the night. We booked Holiday Inn & Suites through Priceline and it was great. The room was updated, the beds were comfortable (amazingly soft sheets) and the convenience of the $5/pp shuttle to and from Disney was awesome. Would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kllbagsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. If you have an annual pass we have a great package deal for you so next time call the hotel directly when you need a room!

Thank you!

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here in the fall for a week long Disneyland trip. It was our fourth time to Disney and first time to this hotel. I don't know why people complain about the distance to the park. We walked it in the morning and again around 11pm everyday with three kids easily (no strollers either). In the long scheme of things when you are walking around the park all day what's a 10 minute walk back to your hotel!

We got the large top floor suite. It had living area, bar with sink, fridge and stools to sit at and then another large room with two queens. The only complaint would be the uncomfortable hide a bed mattress. It was pretty bad. We tried laying blankets on the mattress for our son but it didn't help with the springs and we were pretty close to buying a novaform mattress to throw on top. It was nice to have lots of space, it was super clean and the price was amazing.

We ate in the restaurant every morning and their waitstaff were great. Super friendly and happy. We've stayed in 5 star hotels and didn't have staff that great! Out of the now 5 places we have stayed in the Disney area we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Families should choose the top floor large family suites. Three kids and we had tons of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarouzosSteakhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is pretty good overall. The room itself is nice, but the bathroom is very cramped (toilet paper hidden behind the bathroom door, etc) and the shower was very difficult to turn on. The in house restaurant was nice, we ate there twice and were happy with prices/service. The free wifi was "busy" on our first night, and Reception didn't care when we complained. There is a $10 per day parking fee, which we weren't aware of before arrival. A bit rich when it's just an outside car park - no security or under cover area, and it is purely a 'first come first served' basis. We were on the ground floor, which was great for ease of access to our room from the carpark, but annoying when the car park could see directly into our room. Every day the maid opened the curtains up! On our first night's stay, we had an in house phone call at about midnight. We didn't answer it. Next thing, someone was knocking at our room door. Before I had a chance to get up and answer it, the person was letting themselves in! It was a member of staff checking to see if we had settled in okay. Seriously? At midnight? He seemed to think we had requested two rooms (which we hadn't) so I still think he had mistaken us for someone else. Either way, a midnight drop by is unacceptable for any reason. Its proximity to Disneyland is excellent, a 10 minute walk to the Disneyland car park and a quick tram ride later and you're at the front gate. I'd recommend the tram because walking the whole way is a bit of a distance. I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy-S-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mandy-S-Oz,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for your nice comment regarding our restaurant.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and the bathroom experience. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Right after booking, I've written a letter to the address at hotel's web site to clarify my needs. No feedback at all.
Upon arrival, the staff at the reception seemed to be too tired. They just wanted to check you in and not willing to help for further questions.
Holding a Gold Ambassador card and knewing what are the benefits of it, all my attempts were rejected politely. The attitude was "so what you have that card"
Room was comfortable for us. Bathroom was excellent, having everything we needed and expected.
The air conditioning was trouble. It worked so strong that, we could not turn it on continuously. In five minutes the room was hot, but after two hours it is cold again. Therefore, night was quite uncomfortable.
Hotel is 15-20 minutes walk from Disneyland downtown. A spectacular view of fire works from parking area. You do not need to be at Disneyland.
We tried to purchase Disneyland tickets from hotel. There is a computer at reception dedicated for this purpose. When we went there, the staff on duty told Disneyland internet system is down, so we could not book. When we told him, we could not connect internet from the room, he had to accept that the hotel system is down. I did not understand why he did not tell us the truth. At the end we had to walk to Disneyland at 21.00 to buy tickets.
After adding service charge and tax, breakfast is expensive. Kids free menu is ridiculous. Hotel forces you to pay for kids as well.
Overall hotel is not bad, but I could not say the same for the service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Eyrice,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Did not seem suited to families going to Disneyland. No free Disneyland shuttle. No breakfast buffet. Daily parking charge which was not disclosed on the online booking. Room was a bit cramped. Commode and shower very cramped. Next time staying elsewhere.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Steve S,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I apologize you were not fully satisfied with your accommodations and the service you received during your stay. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are sorry we fell below your expectations this particular day. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of breakfast and services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
1.6 mi away
The Comfort Inn & Suites Anaheim, Disneyland Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
1.7 mi away
Stanford Inn & Suites
Stanford Inn & Suites
#13 of 116 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Address: 1240 South Walnut, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#36 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated property presents guests with a fun and modern art deco ambiance suitable for both business travelers and families alike. This amenities-rich, full-service hotel offers spacious guestrooms and suites at an affordable rate right in the heart of Orange County, adjacent to Disneyland(R), Disney's California Adventure(R), Downtown Disney(R), and with easy access to the Anaheim Convention Center, and many other Southern California attractions. Now welcoming small dogs!! A fee does apply. Book our 60th Anniversary package and receive a $60 food and beverage credit during your stay. (One $60 credit voucher per stay) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Anaheim (1 Blk/Disneyland)
Holiday Inn Hotel Anaheim
Holiday Inn Anaheim
Anaheim Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing