We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“met all expectations”
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2005

I just want to add to all the positve reviews the Candycane Inn in Anaheim seems to always get. We stayed there last week for three nights and then went to Mexico for one night and then returned to the Candycane for three more nights. The inn is indeed everything that people seem to say it is. It's VERY CLEAN, with extremely comfortable beds. The grounds are kept immaculate, and the rooms themselves are very cozy. I found everyone who works there, from the manager to the maintanence to the housekeeping to the front desk to be extremely friendly and very efficient. When we went to Mexico they offered to let me leave our excess luggage with them which I did.
I just want to express my thanks to Kim and Jeff for that.
The daily continental breakfast was presented very well, and they never seemed to run out of any particular food (altough it's basically doughnuts, croisants, bread, fruit, and cereals).
The free shuttle was for the most part on time and nice to have though a couple of times we walked and it only took about eight minutes to go from door to the security check at the park.
In brief, I would whole heartedly recommend the Candy Cane to anyone and everyone.

13  Thank calforniakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,565 - 2,571 of 2,817 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
112
Reviewed November 1, 2005

Our family just returned from a most memorable and pleasant holiday in Disneyland. We were able to get adjoining rooms to share with my sister and her family. The rooms were clean, comfortable, quiet and most important--affordable!

The inn has lots of rooms and the service both front desk and the cleaning staff were excellent. This inn is located a 7-10 minute walk from Disneyland main gates. Great to go home for a nap with the kids or to take a break at the pool, hot tub or wading pool during the day from walking through the parks. The hot tub was well used after all the walking we did at Disneyland everyday.

The continental breakfast suited our family well and was well balanced and fresh. The laundry facilities were close and useful. The inn was located next to an ABC store, 7-Eleven, several discount souvenior and T-shirt stores as well as wonderful restaurants (indian, hot dogs, smoothies, chinese, steak, ribs, chicken (Outbacks, Tony Romas, etc). There is also a Target about 5 blocks away.

Overall a great place to stay. We will be back to stay at Candy Cane Inn.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2005

Stayed here this summer with my wife and two teenage sons. It was our first time in LA. Booked the room as a result of Trip Adivsors positive comments. Checked in by friendly staff who allocated our rooms. The rooms were large, clean, and connecting, as per our request. Although the property is more like a Motel in design rather than a Hotel, it is very difficult to find fault as regards the value for money.
My only criticism of the stay would be that our room was situated at the top of the staircase. At the bottom of the staircase there was a drinks machine. At the top was a seated area with a table. On some nights, this would attract other guests to congregate outside our room. This did not affect the rest of my family but did wake me on one occasion. The first floor rooms are in a desirable location (ie watching the Disney friework display) just make sure that you dont get one of the two rooms situated at the top of any of the the staircases.
There is a small pool (quite deep) which the kids loved. The breakfast was fresh, free and adequate (do arrive early for best selection and dont be afraid to ask staff if they seem to have run out of something). The Laundry machines were a bonus and there was a garage/gas station next door selling everything you need. A number of fast food take aways are within easy walking distance. Oh, and I nearly forgot, Disney is literally NEXT DOOR. The walk to Disney is about 10 to 15 mins (due to the size of the place) but a regular shuttle bus takes you to and from the parks. The bus is run by the Candy Cane and is free of charge (the drivers are very helpful and knowledgable of the best places to eat in the area).
The Disney Parks are fun. Our teenage sons preferred Disneys California Adventure to Disneyland Park. If you are going with teenagers, make sure to visit Universal (as we all thought it was a better day out than Disney).
I gave the Candy Cane a 4 out of 5. I would have given it a five if the seats were removed form outside the rooms. Overall, this place is pretty near perfect.
If you're travelling to Disney with your family, dont waste your money at the branded hotels. Stay here and with the money you've saved, treat your family to a city tour with 'Tony The Limo King' - we did and we loved it. Thumbs up to the Candy Cane!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank KVC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2005

My bestfriend and I stayed at the Candy Cane Inn Oct. 24-27, 2005. We have both stayed at the Disneyland Hotel in the past and we both agree that the Candy Cane Inn has a much friendlier & helpful staff, cleaner rooms and the best all-around value for your money. The location is just as good if not better than the Disneyland Hotel. We enjoyed the terrific expanded continental breakfast in the mornings. Our room was tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The staff were all extremely nice, polite and helpful. The shuttle to and from the park is free (we usually walked) and the parking is free as well. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank anamacbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Anthem, AZ
110
Reviewed October 30, 2005

I saw them cleaning the carpets in the rooms. I've never seen that at any hotel ever. Rooms were very clean. We upgraded to the Premium room and it was big. We liked having the continental breakfast delivered to the room in the mornings. I am already going back in November. You can see the fire works from the park perfectly. The walk to Disney is 5 minutes. For the money I say this GREAT! Pool is small, but you've got Disneyland down the street. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2005

We chose the Candy Cane Inn after researching on Tripadvisor.com and we were not disppointed. The proximity to Disneyland was fantastic and we utilized the shuttle service as well. The free parking and continental breakfast were wonderful perks as well. We would definitley stay here the next time we travel to Disneyland.

Stayed: October 2005
7  Thank bambam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2005

Our family stayed 5 nights in September and couldn't fault the Candy Cane Inn. Check in mid afternoon was quick and easy, staff pleasant and same when we checked out. We had upgraded to a deluxe room, and had requested a room near the back of the property so as not to be bothered by street noise. We were pleased we did this as South Harbour Blvd is a very busy road. Our room was lovely, tastefully decorated, clean, very comfy beds and with the peaceful location we slept extremely well every night.
Breakfast was fantastic, the largest selection of foods we found anywhere on our month long trip. Yes, the breakfast room is small, but we enjoyed sitting around the pool to eat, and you could also take your food back to your room if you wished. We found sitting around the pool area a good way to meet other visitors and then we seemed to often catch up with them again sitting in the spa pool in the evening.
The pool area was always clean, and there was no shortage of towels. The whole property is kept immaculate, there were always staff to be seen cleaning, gardening etc, and they were, without exception friendly and polite.
In our opinion the location can't be beat. Same side of road as DL, only a five minute walk at most, and if you can't face that short distance the Candy Cane Inn have their own shuttle, which runs frequently. We initially didn't think we'd use it, but we did several times, and found it perfect after a long day out and especially after our girls had been shopping at Downtown Disney!
Our youngest daughter fell very sick on our last night there and staff were instantly familiar with a service where we could ring a Dr to come to the hotel to see her, which was great as we didn't have our rental car until the next day.
Wouldn't look anywhere else for accommodation if lucky enough to visit Anaheim again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank kiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
1,695 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $85 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim
Candy Cane Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing