We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2004

Perfect! This is the hotel to stay at if you are touring not only Disneyland but also southern CA. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. You can ride the free shuttle to Disneyland or walk (we did both). There is a 7-11 right beside the hotel where we bought bottled water and snacks to take to the park. There's a Target right down the road in case you forget anything from home. The hotel is also very close to Knotts theme park and the Angels stadium. The rates are very reasonable. Enjoy!

Stayed August 2004
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    737
    166
    59
    47
See reviews for
1,679
322
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2004

Have stayed her twice and both times I have received fast excellent service at the front desk.
The handicap rooms actually have 2 double beds which many hotels/motels don't (I guess they figure handicap people only travel alone-DUH).
They were convenietly located on the first floor and very nicely decorated. The one I just stayed in could have used a handicap parking space in front like the one I had two years ago but otherwise it was a wonderful stay. Great easy transpotation to Disney and very nice drivers who helped you.

Helpful?
1 Thank carouseltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2004

This is a very nice motel for the money. It was clean, comfortable and very close to the main entrance to Disney. In fact it is on the same side of the street so there is no crossing the very busy Harbor Blvd. The breakfast is your usual bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, OJ , milk and coffee. It ends at 9am so dont be late. The deluxe rooms are nicely decorated and the beds were very confortable. The pool and pool area were well maintained. The entire grounds are well maintained. The pool is a bit small and the pool gets very crowded from 9PM to 11PM. They have their on shuttle to Disney, it only takes a few minutes to get there. We were very happy with our stay!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
218 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2004

Basically a motel type place, but they seem to do everything right. For a start it is walking distance to Disneyland and the free shuttle even reduces that to a few minutes. Rooms are large with the bathroom separated from a sink area, useful with lots of women around ages 8 plus! Clean and generally well looked after. Breafast is spartan - breads and spreads and fruit, but nice as long as you got there early or latish. The hotel sells all tickets to Disneyland and even has a little kiosk for Disney items. The entrance is attractive and gives a feeling of being well maintained. Plenty of eating alternatives in the area, if you can hack American fast food. We are from overseas so we travelled by bus from LA (take Mickey's shuttle service - much cheaper and you can book it at LA airport!). Without a car we seemed to be an oddity. The staff have little clue how to deal with public transport users, but the Anaheim visitors centre is around the corner. There is a bus service just down the road which will get you to Costa Mesa and Newport/Bilbao Island (beautiful place) - try the bus its cheap, frequent and fun. Given the hotel's value and the access to Disneyland, hard to beat! A special ride must not be missed - the simulated flight over California and the Bugs World show is very "4D"!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2004

My family holds a membership of the danish automobile association, which is associated with AAA.

When our daughters checked in at the hotel they refused to give the discount claiming the card was not valid.

After their return to Denmark I made a complaint and forwarded proof of membership and other material. The hotel know said the card was OK, but claimed I should have been present in order to get the discount - although our membership is a family-membership.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2004

We spent three nights here and really appreciated the shuttle to and from Disney, which was extremely dependable. The outside areas were nice and well kept. The pool was small but never seemed over crowded. The pool area was also nice. The breakfast was basic - breads, cereals, bagels, muffins, juices and coffee, etc. Because of outside entry, there was a noise factor but nothing untolerable. Mostly people coming and going from Disney. Our biggest complaint was the old, odd smell in the room. It was seemingly clean, but had a musty, old smell. Our shower had good pressure, but went from cold to hot - back and forth throughout the entire shower, every shower. At least the temperature changes were quick spurts so not too much discomfort. We had a deluxe room and was sufficient for the three of us. The hotel is an older one and though a good attempt has been made to update, the rooms still look old. Not bad for the price, and the shuttle is excellent. Also we booked with an AARP rate and were told when booking we would not receive the rate when checking in unless we presented our AARP card. I noticed in an earlier post someone else had a problem regarding the discounted rates. They do require presentation of the card.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2004

We (Mom, Sister 9 and Me 15) loved the place! We had a premium room in the back of the hotel. (144) We were there from July 12-18th.

Right away when we got there I knew I had made a good choice. We checked in, purchased Disney and Universal tickets all from the front desk. They even had candy canes on the shelf! How cute!

The room was great. Very spacious for the 3 of us. The bath was separate from the sink area which was a major plus as 3 girls do not share bathrooms very well. The whole place was very clean. The room was stocked with water, coffee, tea, and chocolate biscottis which my mom especially enjoyed. Everyday housekeeping would restock all of the goods.

The breakfast in a basket was so yummy. I wish they would have come back with us. Every morning we asked that it be delivered between 7:15 and 7:30 and every morning it was. The house keeping staff was very nice and you could tell they really took their time.

Noise was basically just the bus going by on it's late trips to the parks when they were open til midnight. The shuttle service was wonderful although we walked a lot. At night it would get crowded but the driver would make an extra trip to make sure everyone was picked up.

The pool was a bit small but I only went in it once. It was very warm too. I'm used to our pool being 90 and I'd say this one was in the mid 80s. Very nice! The spa was great too. Always nice to relax those tired feet. The gardening was spectacular.

We couldn't have asked for any more. Our cousins even transferred from the Stovall Inn to Candy Cane because they liked it so much! If you're going to Anaheim be sure to stay at the Candy Cane Inn! And get a premium room! :)

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Property: Candy Cane Inn
Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim
Candy Cane Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing