We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best combination of location and value”
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Snohomish, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best combination of location and value”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Candy Cane Inn is the best overall combination of location and value. It is an easy 5-10 minute walk to the park entrance, as close as any of the non-Disney hotels and the price can't be beat. It is a clean hotel with an adequate continental breakfast. The rooms are fairly small and basic but I don't imagine many people staying in this area are going to be spending much time there. It was perfect for our family to enjoy the day in the park and then basically walk back to the hotel and crash. There is a shuttle that goes back and forth every half hour or so if you can time it right.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so very much for your staying with us and your kind comments and review. We too feel that we honestly try our very best to provide exceptional product and service while being mindful on family travelers on a modest budget. Again, thank you for staying with us. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,752
    747
    168
    59
    47
See reviews for
1,719
327
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If cheap and close to Disneyland is what you are looking for, this is the place for you. But if you want any amount of quality with your stay, you'll be absolutely disappointed.

Though the room appeared clean, the towels were old and very discolored with a yellow tint to them. The bed was extremely lumpy and uncomfortable. The sheets were as thin as tissue paper and the bed spread, ick ick ick: it was old, ratty and seemed dirty.

To top it off, we *might* have had fleas in the bed. I had a slew of bug bites on my body the next morning (though my husband was fine).

Room Tip: Don't take room 126 (if I remember correctly). It is noisy since it is right next to the ice/ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DanAndAssana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for responding to my email and giving us the room number as we do not have a room numbered 126. We do thank you for your feedback and I appreciate your follow up so we could investigate and make necessary improvements. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our go to hotel when visiting Disneyland. The rate can be a bit higher than neighboring properties but we have always found the value to be better. What I mean is Candy Cane includes free parking, wifi, a free shuttle (even though they are walking distance) and a free breakfast. Those items to me are worth paying a bit more for. Plus the service is always wonderful, the grounds are always well kept and the rooms are always clean. A note on the service, our battery went dead while we were there and they had someone there to jump us within 5 minutes. We have stayed here 20+ times and look forward to our next return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjsnau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for being a loyal and repeat member of the Candy Cane Inn family, we DO appreciate your business. Please feel free to contact me personally when returning as it would be my pleasure to assist with rates and reservations. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

After previously staying at several different establishments in Anaheim, we finally found our favorite place to stay when visiting Disneyland. My husband called the night before and spoke to Nick to request an early check in with a room located away from the street. Luckily, he was able to accommodate us. James at the front desk was friendly and informative when we checked in the next morning before we went to Disneyland. The customer service is excellent. The location is convenient with only a 10 minute walk to the park. Though we did not use it, a free shuttle is available. The continental breakfast is standard fare but it was nice eating by the pool. We're glad we found this place and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBSquared1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I am delighted to read that you have finally found your “favorite place” to stay when visiting the theme parks. Yes, Nick and James are wonderful gentlemen and I am proud to have them as part of the Candy Cane Inn team of service professionals. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was my second stay at the Candy Cane Inn and I remain impressed. The rooms are clean and well appointed, though basic. Check-in, the front desk staff, housekeeping...all were very nice, service oriented, and efficient. Our family had 4 adjoining rooms, with two queen beds in each. We appreciated the bathtub/shower combination, refrigerators, hair dryers, flat screen tv, free wifi, breakfast, pools, safe etc. The breakfast was usually available from 6:30 AM, but they made a point of opening it up early for race day at Disneyland. The shuttle was always on time, clean, and the driver was always cheerful. The beds are very comfortable and the 4 pillows/bed were great. We definitely will be checking in here for our next trip to Disneyland.

Room Tip: we had rooms 256, 257, 258, & 259 and loved them. there are no elevators so just be prepared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elviraModesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for being a return guest and we appreciate your sharing your kind comments with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. Please feel free to contact me when you are returning as I would be delighted to assist with rates and reservations. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our family met in Annaheim ... and all stayed for six nights. Two connecting rooms were sufficient for 5 adults and 2 young children. Two queen beds in each room. The shuttle to the park gates was wonderful ... especially for me as I am unable to walk longer distances. The complimentary breakfast was nothing special but quite sufficient to get us all going in the mornings. Much better than having to take everyone to a restaurant in the early hours. Peaceful garden type setting with a lovely pool area ... Clean basic rooms with everything you really need ... each of our rooms had a small fridge which was great for wine/ beer/ juices and snacks for the children. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Be sure to ask for the AAA rate if you qualify. The free parking was a bonus since we drove our car there / the rest of the group flew in from various locations. Definitely good value for your dollar.

Room Tip: The upper floor is only reached with stairs - no elevators ... Ask for a room towards the back.. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowbirdYuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with fellow travelers. In the future please feel free to contact the front desk as a member of our team would be delighted to assist with luggage at any time. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here by myself, as the rest of my family shelled out the big bucks at the Disney Grand Californian. I got a AAA discount and a great second story room with all the comforts I could want. Free parking, a decent continental breakfast and a 10 minute walk right into Disneyland, made this a great choice. I stay loads of places and I have never had housekeeping write me a personal thank you for the tip I left. Save your money for the expensive EVERYTHING at Disneyland and stay here.

Room Tip: I always ask for second floor room when staying at a place that I know will be frequented by childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seeksocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your kind comments with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Property: Candy Cane Inn
Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim
Candy Cane Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing