We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Visit Again!”
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Ranked #6 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2008

This was our 3rd time staying here at the Candy Cane inn and as always it was perfect. We stayed here March 8th to March 11th 2008. This was the same weekend the Spring Break Began and Cheerleading Nationals were going on, so our hotel was a bit busy but nothing overbearing. We requested a room on the first floor towards the front of the resort. When we checked in we got exactly that.

The rooms here are a little small but are quite comfortable. The room we stayed in (room 103) had 2 queen beds and a fridge. It also had the basic tv and bathroom area. The rooms are always clean when you come back and the beds were always made.

The Hotel is right outside the disneyland property so you are really close. It was about a 7 min. And if you dont feel like walking there was a free shuttle offered by the hotel. Also the hotel offers free parking and a complimentary continental breakfast. The breakfast is very basic but great for a quick bite before heading out to disneyland and disney's california adventure.

The Hotel grounds are kept ver nice. There are lots of trees, flowers and plants all around the hotel. There is even a bif water fountain right outside the lobby. This is rated the number 1 hotel on tripadvisor and we can see why this is just s beautiful hotel. We will stay here again hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank WDWDisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,277 - 2,283 of 2,833 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2008

This is a six time at the hotel and it is still the best. The rooms are so clean. The pool is great my kids love it. A good view of the fireworks that are set off from disney. The staff are the best they cannot be more helpful. The breakfast is really good, I have stayed in many hotel rooms all over America and this hotel is the best it will take alot of beating. The beds are all new and are so comfortable and you just sink into them. I have never seen a cockcroach or any other insect in all the times i have been there. Over the years this hotel has just got better they spend so much money on keeping it up to standard. Cannot wait to go back in August.

Stayed: February 2008
5  Thank Truthteller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

We stayed at the Candy Cane Inn for 2 nights on our way back to England from New Zealand. We arrived before the check-in time to find our premium room ready for us - brilliant as we were exhausted. The room had two queen beds and a small but clean bathroom. The best bit about the bathroom was the number of towels we had ( others we stayed in only gave us 2 towels even though we booked as a family of 3, here we got 4!!) We got the free shuttle bus to Downtown Disney and when we got back, the maids had turned down our beds and left Disney character sweets on our pillow. We also had a welcome bucket with cookies, popcorn and a flower in a vase - a lovely touch. Our breakfast basket was delivered to our room promptly and it was very good. Not the best if you're used to a full English but you could order as much as you liked. On our last day we enjoyed the swimming pool and spa which were lovely and in gorgeous surroundings.

All in all, I cannot praise this hotel enough. It's in a great location, close to some lovely restaurants (Would highly recommend the Bubba Gump Shrimp Co and The Cheesecake Factory on Katella Ave), provided a free shuttle to Disneyland and the staff were friendly and welcoming. We stayed in 8 different hotels during our holiday, including a Hilton, and in terms of value for money and what you get for that, it was the best by far.
I would recommend The Candy Cane Inn to anyone going to Anaheim - it was brilliant!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barrelmakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Great stay, nothing fancy, but the room was nice, had a fridge, a safe and a comfy bed.
Breakfast was impressive, however to get a good selection you really have to be there early. Next door to a 7/11 which is very handy. There's a complimentary shuttle to disneyland but its less than a 2 or 3 minute walk so i opted to walk.
The only downside to the candy cane inn is that between children and cleaners it is quite loud in the morning (not a problem for us since we didn't plan to lie in, but if we did want to do so there wasn't much hope for us), also the pool and hot tub has way too much chlorine . . way too much, avoid if you have sensitive skin.

I would definitely stay here again, on departure we were also given a coupon for money off our next stay which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank waterfordmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

The Candy Cane Inn was wonderful. I had spent several months reading the reviews, and altho they were mainly great ones, a couple of the reviews had me concerned ( ie: animals in trees , very small room)... Here is a detailed review, but it was the kind of information I was looking for.....

We are a family of four, 2 adults, and 2 children, ages 9 & 11. We were there for 10 days the beginning of Feb, and had the smallest room booked, but it was a typical Hotel sized room. It appears that these rooms are towards the front of the motel, close to the pool, breakfast area, ond office. There were 2 beds, a cabinet that held the Tv, the fridge, 3 drawers for clothes, and 2 shelves. There was a night stand that also had 2 drawers and we were able to unpack our clothes into the drawers available plus there were several hangers available for hanging up clothes. There also was a fair sized table and 2 brand new chairs, delivered while we were there. I liked having the sink seperate from the shower/toilet area, as then 2 people could be getting ready at the same time. An ironing board and iron, plus blow dryer were also available. The beds were very comfortable, but I found the pillows a little hard. However, I followed the advise of a previous review and we took the pillows out of the shams as they were much softer. It was obvious that the carpets had just been cleaned, and the rest of the place was immaculate. I found no dust bunnies, anywhere!! AND, there were no animals of anykind found anywhere in the rooms or on the premises!!!

The Front Desk people were very friendly, and very helpful. We liked that we could buy our Southern California Pass ( or Disneyland tickets) right at the front desk, and the staff looked after booking our Bus Tours for us.

The Continental Breakfast, was great, and more than enough choices. ( Muffins, bagels, croissants, 2 types of bread for toast, 3 kinds of cereal, and even hot cereal, juices, apples, bananas, oranges, milk, coffee, and hot choc) There are no protien choices, other than peanut butter, but if they go that route, I would think the cost would go up, and it would be no longer continental. The breakfast room, is a little small, as it can get quite busy, but we never had any problem finding a place to sit out by the pool, which we preferred anyways. We felt comfortable letting our kids run down ahead of us to get a table.

The kids loved swimming in the pool after we returned from the park, and the grounds were so beautiful. What a nice break from the snowy parts of the world. There are vending machines by the laundry facility, and we used the washer/dryers while we were there. The office also has a small boutique where you can buy snacks, drinks, and souveniers, and the ABC Mart and 7-11 are right next door.

The walk to Disneyland was not all that far, about 10 minutes. Candy Cane Inn is on the same side as the entrance to Disneyland, and it is right next to it. The shuttle leaves on the
1/2 hours, and if it was getting ready to go, we would take it. We also took it when we were going to the restaurants down by the gate to Disneyland.

The Candy Cane Inn atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for on our holiday. It provided us with a bit of a spa like feel, on our getaway from the snow. Our rooms were $99 a night, booked 6 months in advance.

I would recommend this Hotel for ANYONE!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank SCKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We stayed a week at this motel and used it as our base for exploring Southern California and Disneyland. It was a great experience for us. The service provided by front desk, maintenance and cleaning staff was wonderful. We had a very clean room although the carpets were ready for a shampoo. Fresh towels were provided daily, which was unexpected, and we always came back to a tidied room thanks to the motel staff. This motel is very conveniently located near Disneyland and offers a super handy shuttle service. The kids loved the pool and hot tub. As well, the continental breakfast was a great feature, especially when we needed to be away early each morning.

We had one incident where the guests, located next to our room, decided to hold a 2-hour, loud discussion/argument in front of our motel door that lasted until 2 in the morning. We finally called the front desk to ask that these guests move their discussion indoors. The front desk clerk was very obliging to our request and quickly resolved this issue.

We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this motel for its great value, location and service.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank HappyTouristCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

The Candy Cane Inn is delightful place to stay if you are looking for a decent place to stay while visiting the Disneyland Resort. If you are looking for luxury or nice amenities, this is not the place for you. This hotel is a Best Western or Holiday Inn at best.
We have stayed here 3 times in the past few years. This last time we were there for a week so I got to know this little hotel quite well.
Here are the positives –
 Location – Next door to Disneyland, same side of the street as the park so the only street you need to cross, if you decide to walk, is the entrance to the parking lot. It is an easy 7 minute walk to the parks.
 Shuttle – If you decide to conserve your energy for the parks, there is a shuttle that takes you to the parks & back to the hotel every half hour. Comfortable, clean bus.
 Clean, Nicely Decorated Rooms – Rooms feel clean. Toiletries are Natura, a nice touch is they give you an emery board & a small comb with the toiletries.
 Breakfast – Breakfast is included with your room. Available is instant oatmeal, cereals, muffins, bagels, bread, pastries, apples, bananas, oranges, apple juice, orange juice, hot chocolate, tea, coffee.
 Coffee in Room – There is a coffee pot with coffee in the room but no tea if you are a tea drinker.
 Price – A good value for the money.

Negatives –
 Noisy Rooms - You can hear the people next door talking, showering, TV, etc. I was in a bottom room & could hear every step the people above me were taking. Rooms near the stairs are the worst because you hear people running up & down the stairs at all hours of the day & night.
 Bathroom Fan – Fan in bathroom is very loud. If you have the light on the fan is on, there is no turning on just the light so you have to deal with a fan that is extremely loud. Makes it hard for one person to get up & shower while another person sleeps in.
 Small Pool – There is a pool but it is small with a small lounging area. There is also a spa & a kiddie wading pool which is actually a positive.
 Heater & A/C – This one of those units that sits under the window with no temperature control. You either have the unit on (heat or A/C) or you don’t. There is a high & low for each & you can turn the temp lower or higher but it doesn’t not go off after a certain time or after reaching the temp you want. The units are also loud, but it helps to drown out the noise from your neighbors.
 Carpet – Carpet seemed old & dingy. Looks like it is in need of replacement.
 Breakfast – Yes, this is both a positive & a negative. The breakfast is in a small room with 4 tables, there is seating outside around the pool. Outside there are about 6 tables of varying size & several lounge chairs. If there are kids in the pool, you will get wet. The area is small so not much room between you & the pool. You can take your breakfast back to the room though, there is a table with 2 chairs in each room. Also the room where the food is, is very cramped so be patient. The hour before Disneyland opens is VERY busy in the breakfast room.

We had 3 rooms during our last stay so I had a good representation of the hotel. We had deluxe rooms & I have not seen a premium room so some of the negatives may not apply to them.
If you are looking for a place to sleep while at Disneyland, this is a nice place to do that. If you are looking for a luxurious gathering place for your family to relax and to have room to gather together then I would suggest the Grand Californian.
The Candy Cane Inn has it plusses & minuses so you need to decide what is important to you.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jamwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 119 in Anaheim
1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.3 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 119 in Anaheim
4,495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $187 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim
Candy Cane Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing