We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreasonable Customer Service”
Review of The Anabella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Anabella
Ranked #54 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unreasonable Customer Service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I never received a confirmation of my reservation until I called to cancel. They refused to cancel without charging even though they never sent a confirmation. After I cancelled, I received an email confirmation….totally unprofessional. I received unreasonable customer service and will never opt for this hotel as a result. I was already skeptical about a suite without a microwave…who does that in this day and time…thanks but no thanks

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sheniseshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Sheniseshelly,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are incredibly sorry that you received sub-par service in regards to your reservation. It is standard procedure that all guests receive a confirmation from the hotel regarding their upcoming reservation, and all of our agents go over the cancellation policy with our guests. All of the staff here are always willing to help, and pride themselves on exceeding expectations when it comes to customer service. Our property consists of 14 different room types which result in 14 very unique rooms. Our suites are spacious and come with mini bar refrigerator, but are unique as they offer more of a resort style experience than your standard traditional suite. We would love the opportunity to set up a reservation for you so that you can personally come and experience all the wonderful staff and amenities that make The Anabella Hotel an everyday oasis.

Thank You,

The Anabella Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    991
    554
    340
    310
See reviews for
1,617
532
67
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is the closest non-disney hotel to the Grand Californian, which we used as a shortcut to both parks. After eight hours in the parks, we went back to the Annabella to swim and eat pool-side off the Happy Hour menu. Wow! Two cheeseburger sliders with delish fries for $5; even more delicious ceviche on two corn tortillas for $5. Then back to the room to change, and off to the parks til 11 pm. The kids say they "slayed Disneyland, and the pool was the best part." We also enjoyed the price and grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Gsmyers,

We are overjoyed to hear about your recent stay with us here at The Anabella Hotel. We truly feel that our hotel is an everyday oasis, and provides a wonderful opportunity to have a vacation from your vacation. Our resort pool offers the best of both worlds; spending a relaxing day in the sun swimming, or coming back for a quick dip to cool off before heading back over to the park. The Tangerine Grill and Patio offers several delicious Happy Hour appetizers and seasonal summer cocktails all served poolside for our guests. We would love to have you and your family back to "slay Disneyland" and relax poolside once more.

Thank you,

The Anabella Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
416 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Overall the Anabella is just an average property. Be careful in choosing this property just because it is cheaper than the three Disney hotels. Customer service is hit and miss. When we reserved our concierge room we confirmed with the reservation staff that our room would be one of the recently renovated rooms with hard wood floors on the second floor. Upon arrival, we stopped by the concierge desk at 9:00 AM and were re-directed to the front desk where we could make arrangement to have our luggage held and begin preliminary check in until our room was ready. The front desk staff confirmed that our room would be a recently renovated room on the second floor but we would need to return after 4:00 PM when our room was ready to pick up our keys. I asked about storing our luggage and was told that we would need to keep our belongings in our car until our room was ready. When we returned to pick up our keys, the room that we were assigned to was located on the first floor? When I questioned the assignment, we were given a room on the second floor. We went to our car to pick up our belongings and set out for our room. You might be able to guess what was waiting for us, an older room that had not been renovated. We headed back to the front desk to find out what happened and were informed that there were no more renovated rooms on the second floor available. When we arrived at our first floor room, it took about 30 seconds to solidify our rationale for requesting a second floor room. While the World Cup matches are over, it sounded as if another match was taking place above our heads! The room itself appeared clean upon first glance but there were a number of items that apparently had not been renovated and needed some serious TLC. Our TV also had a very poor reception. Another warning, if your room is located near the main dumpster beware, you are in store for a smell that is absolutely nauseating!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatTraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days (3 nights) in July 2012 during our visit to Disneyland and it was a very nice and quiet hotel. It is suitable for all types of people, either single adults or families with children. We were traveling with 2 kids, and in total we were 2 families who stayed here, and the good thing was that we also got the rooms close to each other.
The hotel is within walking distance to Disneyland and close to many dining and other attractions in this area.

Room Tip: Remember that there aren't elevators for the 2d floor rooms/suites on the apartments outside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family-man-078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We usually stay at the Disneyland Hotel, but they have gotten so expensive that we decided to stay somewhere else. I chose the Concierge package, which was a mistake and not worth the added cost.

Positives: Very nice atmosphere/grounds, lots of beautiful greenery, plants, fountains, etc. Beds and pillows are SUPER comfy, excellent shower pressure, granite bathrooms are a plus even though our tub was severely chipped, staff was very pleasant and cheerful, not too far of a walk to Disney. The pool, Jacuzzi, and quiet pool are well maintained. As long as you keep the air conditioner running, you won't hear any noise outside.

Cons: Don't waste your money on the Concierge package. Their website's pictures are far more complimentary than what the rooms actually are. Our room did not have a private patio, so that was a bummer. This package also came with robes, which we did not wear because it was hot out, slippers which were nowhere to be found in our room, complimentary water...really? We received two bottles of water for 4 days, which is a joke. We also received breakfast for two, which was good, however the restaurant opens at 6:30am and if you are getting to the parks early for Magic Morning, then you'll miss breakfast all together. They really should have at least the continental breakfast option available at 6:00am to accommodate everyone. Also, DON'T ASK FOR A WAKE UP CALL because we only received calls on 2 out of the 4 mornings.

I guess I would stay here again, but would just book a regular room, or I'd just find somewhere else. Our stay was pleasant, but just not worth the added cost that we spent.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the property are more quiet. Get a regular room, don't spend the extra on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GM38miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had a 4-night stay and enjoyed it! I will return.

Pros:
* FABULOUS customer service - everyone from the front desk to housekeeping were friendly and helpful each and every time we encountered them
* comfortable beds
* nice pools (family pool and a "quiet" pool)
* Tangerine Grill has good food and service (and great coffee)
* walking distance to Disney resort (Go down Disneyland Dr. to Disney hotels/Downtown Disney to get to the parks - shorter (and more peaceful) than going around to the main gate via Harbor Blvd.)

Cons:
* no microwave, lobby coffee service, or free breakfast
* a bit rundown: furniture was banged up a bit; family member's room was missing a closet door, etc.
* charge per car for parking (understandable - parking was tight; many other hotels in the area do the same)
* floors need better cleaning care - we had a room with a hardwood floor that seemed swept, but was filthy. My child's feet were black after a few minutes of running around. Washing, not just sweeping of big stuff, is needed more often.

I have stayed at several hotels in the area over the years and this is a great option. It is reasonably priced for the area and comfortable. While it lacks some amenities that you can get at neighboring hotels in the same price range (ie: microwave and breakfast), it makes up for those in service. EVERYONE that we encountered in the hotel was helpful and friendly. We had an issue with the room when we first checked in and they worked really hard to make it right. Not all hotels will do that, and that counts for a lot in my book.

Anabella, work on cleaning those floors and updating/fixing some of the furniture in your rooms, and I'll give you that 5th star! :)

Room Tip: Handicapped travelers: only one building in the hotel has an elevator, so make sure you specify that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAlice1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and got the 4th free by calling direct and asking for best price. The complex is mission style with the doors to the rooms on the outside (not like a traditional htoel). The complex is not too large but not too small - just right for our needs. It was very quiet and relaxing with beautiful grounds. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcomed. There are two pools, one for families and one for adults only :) and a hot tub. Very clean and maintained well. There are also showers located between the two pools. The restaurant/bar setting is beautiful - prices were average. We were given a free bottle of wine, which was very good, with our purchase of $30 or more. For four women, two full orders and an appetizers was more than sufficient and very good as well. We have a King suite which looked as beautiful as the pictures on the website. The room was very adequate for four women. The beds were very comfortable. Overall we had a fantastic stay and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmtakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Anaheim Hotel
The Anaheim Hotel
#77 of 118 in Anaheim
1,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
1,642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anabella

Property: The Anabella
Address: 1030 W Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802-3419 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anabella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and the warm decor the perfect retreat upscale interiors,Divine TM pillow top beds, a sleep experience by the Anabella Hotel, crisp white bedding and elegant granite bathrooms. Its well appointed location is just minutes away from our Awarding Winning Tangerine Grill and Patio well known for its eclectic California Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Anabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anabella Hotel Anaheim
Annabella Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing