We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cute, don't eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anabella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Anabella
Ranked #46 of 116 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute, don't eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Anabella for one night to attend the Disneyland Halloween Party with our small children. Many friends have stayed there and said it was cute. Hotel was very cute, clean and the front desk staff was so friendly and attentive. We had to change our room once as the first room had a day bed and a king, not two beds as requested. They glady changed it and second room was fine for one night. Although our room was in a dark corner it was probably best as it seemed the rooms with a view of DCA would be very loud (on the street side). We had a few mosquitos in our room but I think they joined us on the way in that night. Like I said it was a dark corner room. Interior of room was nice and clean. May need some more updating but perfect for one night. Great rate! Walking distance and or shuttle to the parks. We took the ART shuttle. Kind of a long wait each way but fine with small kids in very windy weather and cheap.
Now for the food. Do not eat on property unless you have the luxury of time to wait and wait and wait. Will not do that again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have patios, some rooms are upstairs with no elevators. 3111 was in a dark corner but ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Tammi T,

We are very happy to hear that you thought our hotel was "very cute.” Our staff thrives on customer service, so it’s no surprise that they reacted that fast. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our rooms on property. On your next visit please request a non-corner room or just let us know your preference and we’ll do our best to accommodate.

For our travelers on the run we do offer a “Grab & Go” option at our to go window with a variety of savory breakfast options to get your morning going.

Tammi T, thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    953
    504
    316
    282
See reviews for
1,499
493
62
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Pendleton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a beautiful room with one king bed. It was very updated with a gorgeous shower, flat screen TV that was mounted on the wall, and a comfortable bed. The room was clean, spacious enough, and overall enjoyable. My biggest complaint is the restaurant. The mediocre (at best) food is overpriced. I expected some kind of complimentary breakfast for the price we paid. You're better off heading next door to Coco's Bakery if you want breakfast. Location is within walking distance, but we were a little confused, so unless you know EXACTLY where you're going, as for directions. We ended up walking the first day and paid to park the 2nd and 3rd. It's not overly expensive and your feet will thank you at the end of the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Madison B,

Thank you for sharing your kind words with us regarding your most recent stay. We are all so pleased that you found our rooms well appointed and met your needs. We do offer a breakfast included option for our Concierge Suites. Just some food for thought for your next visit.

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you during your next visit to the Anaheim resort.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am very disappointed in this hotel. Upon our arrival, I found that the room was not as we has requested. I specifically paid for a Concierge room that was 358 square feet with a Patio. We received a smaller room, without a patio, and the configuration was not as advertised on the website. The wall mounted flat screen faced the window, away from either bed, which is completely not what was promised online. In all online pictures the bed faces the television. Our room was down a tiny, unlit hallway in the far corner of the resort - a space that looked unsafe for a single mother to walk down when returning late at night from Disneylamd.

The response from the front desk was also disappointing. They indicated that they could do nothing till checkout the next day (or possibly the day after that) and that I would need to be present for transport of my bags. IE: in the middle of my day at Disneyland. They stated liability issues which is complete ridiculousness. As a frequent (2-3 nights per week) traveller I have never had that response or that level of disconnect from a travelers needs. I will not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honestthoughts2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Elysia P,
We are very disappointed to hear that your initial opinion of our hotel was unsatisfactory. Our front desk did their very best to get you in the room location you requested. Unfortunately your requested room location was not available on your day of arrival. As a standard we cannot guarantee room locations due to many variables but will always make genuine efforts to accommodate any requests.

Being such a unique hotel with 14 different room types in 9 different buildings our room descriptions are accurate but the layout can vary slightly for certain rooms. In your particular case, the Concierge Suite booked was indeed honored. We will on the other hand look into an alternate location to mount the TV in that particular room for better visibility.

Our goal is to provide an exceptional experience from start to finish. Even though your arrival was not as desired, we truly hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay, as your room move was completed after this review was posted.

We would love to hear how the remainder of your stay went. I have sent you private message to find out. Thank you for you valuable feedback and I hope you reconsider and come to see us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked the hotel through our travel agent thinking that it was a mid-range choice. However it is definitely only a 2 star at best! Check in staff haggled over included breakfast when it was clearly stated on our accommodation vouchers. We should not have worried though because the included breakfast was a pastry and fruit or one rasher of bacon, an egg and toast. No juice or cereal! And we waited at least 20 minutes for it! The dining room was noisy, and kitchen and cooking smells were really strong all the time. On the last day we gave up and went to the IHOP nearby! In 6 weeks travel in North America this was the only place that did not provide free Internet access unless you were prepared to queue for the two terminals in the lobby!
Our room was on the second floor so it should have been quiet, however while we were there there was major maintenance going on that started at 6.00am! And because it is a motel design we could hear the early leavers starting their cars! Not something the brochures showed!
Our room was clean although it was a bit worn and the bath didn't empty easily when you showered. The king size bed was really comfortable but the air conditioner was very noisy and at night we could hear our neighbours. There were shutters on the windows but they needed to be closed all the time as people could see in as they passed to their rooms along the verandah. There were no area maps or information in the room and our telephone didn't work either.
The position of the Hotel is great though. We used the ART buses to get around and were able to purchase passes in the hotel and the bus stops straight outside the main entrance.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Kristine B,

Please accept our apologies for any miscommunications you received during your booking process. We are pleased that the front desk staff was able to remedy your breakfast vouchers quickly; however, it is disappointing that you were not satisfied with your complimentary options.
We are all very excited to announce that we now do have a complimentary Wi-Fi option for all of our guest rooms! This integration unfortunately did take affect after your visit but all of our future guests will be able to take advantage of this great amenity.

Thank you for sharing your kind remarks about the overall cleanliness, location, and comfort of your bed. These are all things that we pride ourselves on. Service is of the utmost importance and we wish we had an opportunity to address all of your concerns during your visit. Thank you for choosing the Anabella Hotel. Should you have any further comments or feedback please feel free to reach out us directly.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Anabella in Anaheim for three night in September 2013. Upon arrival the check in was very easy the lady at the desk was very nice and gave us a free upgrade, we booked a basic room and upgraded us to a king room with two bed a bathroom, dressing area and pation – very good room and very clean could not complaint.
Only issue was when we got there a plate of eaten chocolate cake (or similar) was on the table on the patio and was moved about to different places on the patio each day but never cleared away – this was funny really but a bit weird that it was not moved!
After 3 night in a motel in hollywood we did not want to leave this lovely hotel!
Oh and the bed was soooooo comfy!! Lovely and high with crisp clean white bedding!
Parking is $15 a day which is a bit expensive but standard in LA.
It is an excellent location for Disney and much cheaper than Disney hotels. Takes about 10 minutes to walk to Disney.
Also 10-15 minute walk to Anaheim gardens where there is a cheesecake factory – must go!

Room Tip: ask for a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Alice F

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our complementary upgrade, based on availability. It sounds like you were upgraded to one of our Concierge level suites. Our Concierge Suites are our most popular rooms. They come with extra amenities for our guests looking for that extra bit of comfort such as robes & slippers. I do apologize for not having that plate cleared away, your concern was noted and forwarded to our restuarant. Thank you for spending your valuable time and staying with us.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I just spent an 8-day vacation at the Anabella. I can't recall ever having had a nicer hotel experience. The "campus" is designed not only in the mission style, but each building is named after a CA mission as well. The staff is truly friendly - no phony smiles - and outrageously helpful. On my arrival, I'd been traveling for about 15 hours and was so disoriented that , even with the hotel map in my hand, that I had to go back to the reception dest for help. Desiree practically led me by the hand to get me pointed in the right direct. You can't bet the location. You're about a 10 or 15 minute walk from Disney main gate (public transport is also available), or if you're attending a convention, the Anaheim Convention Center is your next door neighbor. A choice of breakfasts came with my room (which was comfortable and immaculate), either Continental or eggs, bacon, home fries, toast and coffee. You can check out the many amenities 0n their website... but their greatest amenity is certainly customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Allan S

Out of all the hotels in the area you choose to stay with us for your 8 day vacation, Thank you for staying with us here at the Anabella Hotel. Our Spanish style property is one of our major assets that make is the most unique hotel in the Anaheim resort area. Our staff is consistently learning new customer service skills every day. Desiree is one of our newest employees and is thriving at the Anabella Hotel. We are very pleased that you found our rooms to be immaculate and comfortable. We hope your next stay with us will be just as, if not more, enjoyable than this stay.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I love this oasis of a hotel within walking distance to Disneyland. This was our second stay here, and it was even better this time. The rooms are spacious (our room had a king and a double bed) and the lush grounds are very Mission - Southern California in style. The concierge was very helpful in printing our Disney tickets and booking a private car to LAX. We loved the pool and the breakfast. Evening service for food and drinks was lacking, but we can overlook that since everything else was great. We'll be back (again)!

Room Tip: Hotel is 2-story so book bottom floor if you prefer convenience and want to avoid lugging your bags...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.4 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.8 mi away
Carousel Inn and Suites
Carousel Inn and Suites
#41 of 116 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anabella

Property: The Anabella
Address: 1030 W Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802-3419 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anabella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and the warm decor the perfect retreat upscale interiors,Divine TM pillow top beds, a sleep experience by the Anabella Hotel, crisp white bedding and elegant granite bathrooms. Its well appointed location is just minutes away from our Awarding Winning Tangerine Grill and Patio well known for its eclectic California Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Anabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anabella Hotel Anaheim
Annabella Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing