We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel style”
Review of The Anabella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anabella
Ranked #54 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 6, 2013

If I were to write a full review it would be quite the essay.

- motel style layout
- walls paper thin ( can hear everything even snoring from next door).
- rooms were not services every day, had to call for clean towels after exhausting days at Disneyland , which came quite promptly .
- Internet terribly slow
- no good customer service
- had to lug our bags up stairs
- pool area was not nice
- semi close to park entry , 10 minute walk, hard after walking around all day
- noise from outside was terrible
- beds were terrible
- shower/bathroom was terrible
- our room with hardwood floors was
Lovely but could feel dirt on our feet when we first arrived???

Work for flight centre Australia and unfortunately wilI not recommend to clients as it is definitely a motel style and we did not enjoy our stay not would we return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hayleyp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Hayleyp88,

Thank you for choosing The Anabella Hotel and writing a review on Trip Advisor.
Our property is a California Mission Style Boutique Hotel covering seven acres with lush landscaped grounds. We are even an award recipient of “Anaheim’s Most Beautiful Property.”
Our rooms are serviced everyday unless a ‘do not disturb’ is left on the door in which our Housekeepers will not enter under any circumstances. Most of our buildings are two stories and we do have a dedicated Bell Staff here to assist our guests with their luggage at anytime. We do have two pool areas, a resort pool for our families to enjoy as well as a Quiet Pool for the adults traveling without little ones. We are one of the closest hotels to the park, just a quick ten minute walk. For our guests who do not want to walk there is also the ART shuttle ran by Disney that picks up at their gates and drops off right in front of our hotel. Very convenient for our guests who have spent a whole day at the park and do not want to walk any longer.

Hayleyp88 we are sorry you could not see The Anabella Hotel for the beautiful sanctuary it is known for. Providing warm, exceptional service and elegant accommodations to our guests is what we are about. I hope in the future you will return and see how great our property really is.

All the best,
Jennifer Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

I must say I was somewhat disappointed with this hotel. We were given a room on the ground floor right next door to the guest laundry. The walls are paper thin and you can hear every sound coming through the walls and the rooms above. We could hear the washing machines, we could hear every time our neighbours had a shower, flushed a toilet or walked across the floor for the rooms above us. The air conditioner was very noisy so chose not to use it but could still hear them running in rooms around us. Sleep quality was terrible. The lighting in the rooms was poor and the towels and floor mats very old and worn. Overall was not impressed with the room or the stay.
On a positive note it is conveniently located to disneyland and California adventure land.
The bell boys and concierge were very helpful especially Auguste.

Room Tip: I would suggest a second floor room, to limit some of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Sandra s,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are very saddened to hear you were disappointed with your stay. At any point during our guest’s stays if there are any concerns with the room we will do anything it takes to satisfy our guests. We do have ten buildings here covering seven acres with fourteen different room types. We are confident in the versatility of our hotel to be able to be suitable for all different types of travelers. If at any time you were unhappy with your room we are always more than happy to relocate our guests to a different location.
Sandra s, we are so sorry we could not exceed your expectations but we thank you for choosing The Anabella Hotel.

All the best,
Jennifer Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Although I was quite worried from reading all the reviews before I left, my expectations were met!
Not only was it a fast walk to the Disneyland Park, the service was outstanding! Every time we left or entered the hotel we were always greeted by so many friendly faces. The employees and concierge were all so helpful when we were planning on going shopping or for dinner, telling us the best places to go and how to get there. Though the service was more than excellent the rooms weren't the best. We stayed in a small room with two queen beds and it was nice don't get me wrong, the bathroom and shower were really nice it was just really small for 2 couples to share. There was nothing really exciting about it, which is fine if you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room. Overall the hotel is beautiful and the staff is friendly, had a great trip and would defiantly go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear SydneyBalston,

Thank you reviewing us on Trip Advisor! We love nothing more to hear when our guests comment on our outstanding service! We hope you come back soon and try another one of our fourteen room types. It sounds like you were in a Bella Queen Queen and we have so many more to chose from. We have Mission Suites to 650 sq. ft. Hacienda/Family Suites. These rooms are great if you plan to spend a little more time in them. Thank you again, SydneyBalston and we hope you come back soon!

All the best,
Jennifer Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After booking this hotel as part of a package,was a bit concerned after reading the reviews on TA, but was pleasantly surprised once we arrived. Check in was a breeze. We had booked a Casita Suite, and when we checked in (at approx. 3:30 pm) were offered a room on the 1st floor immediately, or a room on the 2nd that would be ready in approx 30 min. Wanting to get to the park as as fast as possible we took the 1st fl room - #9102. Now this room was right next to the guest laundry which I thought might be a problem - but it was fine - I didn't hear anything from the machines - and they were definitely used while we were there.

Room was very clean, and i loved the hardwood floor (carpet is disgusting). The small "bedroom" made a great dressing room for our stay -and would be great for one kid (or teen). Couple things to consider if you're booking things type of roll with kids, first, the door opened into the main room - so if you want to leave the door ajar, you're going to walk into it in the middle of the night (really should be hinged to open into the smaller room). Second was that if you closed the door completely, the interior room would be unbearably stuffy in the summer. Other than that, the layout and furnishings were great. And for hearing people talking, we were either too tired after being at DL and/or DCA all day, or the air con drowned out all the background noise (we don't need aircon where we're from) oh, and I always travel with earplugs -I'm a light sleeper and staying at a hotel is always noisier than at home.

Everyone talks about how long the walk to Disney is. I've stayed at a lot of the places immediately around the parks and this was a very pleasant 15 minute walk ( through the Grand Californian) - VERY easy to get to and from. To me, it's about the same walking distance as the HOJO, but nicer as sidewalk areas are landscaped and covered by trees, which at night are lit up - very pretty. Easy distance to head back or a swim and rest mid-day if needed.

Hotel staff was excellent and friendly. For example, we were missing soap on the first night. When I went to the front desk they couldn't give us enough soap and shampoo. The printer in the business centre wasn't working when we tried to print our boarding passes (at 1:00 am after a long day in the park) and the front desk staff were very helpful, and printed Tom off after emailing them. We had some time to kill before heading to the airport for our Monday flight home, and the staff in the restaurant were fun and relaxed, letting us hang out and kid around with them, all the while making sure our coffees were never empty. Then, o top it off on already excellent trip, when we asked the bell desk to call us a taxi, he arranged for a town car, that was already on site, to take in o the airport for the same price s a taxi. Nice way to end our trip!

I thought it was one of the nicest places we've stayed around the parks, and will definitely look at booking it next time we go back.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JRTR97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear JRTR97,

Thank you so much for your positive and detailed review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised with your stay. We love nothing more to hear than you found our hotel staff excellent and friendly. Thank you for staying with us and we definitely hope to have you back in the future!

All the best,
Jennifer Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent our first five nights in the the USA at the Anabella and were very happy with the staff, room amenities, location and transport services in and around Anaheim.

The concierges at the hotel were AMAZING! Extremely knowledgable about all of the theme parks and they greatly enhanced our experiences at both the Disney parks as well as Six Flags Magic Mountain and Universal Studios.

The only negative we found was that the walls in our room were really thin. We could hear everything in the rooms on either side of us as well as the room above.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogue768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear rogue768,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and thank you for choosing the Anabella to start off your USA trip. We are so glad to hear that you were happy with the staff, room amenities, location and transport services around Anaheim.
Our Concierge team is the best. Anything our guests may need they will make happen!
We are sorry you found a negative in your stay. We want all of our guests to only have an all around positive experience. Next time you stay with us please let us know if you are experiencing noisy neighbors and we will be more than happy to room move you to a quieter part of the hotel.

Thank you again rogue768 and we hope you visit again soon!

All the best,
Jennifer Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I booked this hotel last year for our annual Disneyland trip based on the beautiful photos of the hotel and the good reviews. Upon checking in around 11pm, we requested a room with hardwood style flooring since we figured that was easier to keep clean than carpet. We were told that no rooms with the hardwood style flooring were available and were given a room in one of the back buildings on the second floor. We were extremely disappointed with the condition of the room: dusty lamps and window coverings, torn and stained carpet with exposed staples at the bathroom entryway, damage to the blinds so that they didn't close more than halfway, no television remote. When I called the front desk, they offered to move us to another room and mentioned that a hardwood style flooring room was available (surprisingly since there wasn't one available 15 minutes earler, at 11pm at night). The second room was gorgeous (and the restaurant on site was great), but the bait and switch left a bad taste in our mouths and we won't be staying here again. I wonder if they keep that nice room open in the likely case that one of the guests in the bad rooms complains...

My ratings are for the bad room, since that's their baseline quality level.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, make sure you get one of the renovated rooms. If not, you might as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Vicki C,

Thank you for posting your review for fellow Trip Advisor travelers. It is our intention to accommodate each one of our guest’s requests. There are sometimes situations where a request cannot be fulfilled and this typically coincides with our occupancy levels. I am certain that the first front desk team member you encountered made a genuine attempt to accommodate your needs. This oversight may have been human error. Please accept our apologies. We were pleased to hear that the second room provided met your needs but I understand how that may have left a bad taste in your mouth.

I hope you take the opportunity to come and see us again the near future. Your patronage is valued here at the Anabella Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Anabella 3 years ago on a recommendation and really liked it. So for our family Disney trip this june we decided to stay again and it was just as great as we remembered! staff very helpful and friendly both at the front desk and in the restaurant and bar. you really get a lot of value for what you pay for here. so close to disney it's practically like you're staying at one of the disney hotels. and we've stayed at them before and while they are amazing (everything disney is!!) they are very pricey. so for the price difference and high quality rooms and great customer service we will always recommend the Anabella to friends. my parents stayed with us this trip and they had stayed at another hotel a few months ago just down the street and they couldn't believe the difference. they loved the anabella too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyler b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear tyler b,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! We are honored to have you back and very happy to hear we are just as great as you remember us. We hope to have you and your parents back soon!

All the best,
Jennifer Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Anaheim Hotel
The Anaheim Hotel
#75 of 118 in Anaheim
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 118 in Anaheim
4,404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anabella

Address: 1030 W Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802-3419 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Green Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $127 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anabella 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and the warm decor the perfect retreat upscale interiors, Divine TM pillow top beds, a sleep experience by the Anabella Hotel, crisp white bedding and elegant granite bathrooms. Its well appointed location is just minutes away from our Awarding Winning Tangerine Grill and Patio well known for its eclectic California Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Anabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anabella Hotel Anaheim
Annabella Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing