We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Family FUN and WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #30 of 117 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
“Family FUN and WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

First time staying the the Grand Californian for a recent trip to Diseyland with our 6 and 3 yr olds ... I have to tell you the direct access into Cali Adv --- the best.... as when one melted down it was off to the room, and no big deal .... 10 mins or so and there from inside the park .....

We spent 4 days and 3 in parks one in pool --- pool's were fantastic!!!! Plenty of space (several pools and couple hot tubs ....

Pool side service --- and with soda for kids or adults!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,885
    1,270
    600
    238
    122
See reviews for
2,716
504
28
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,091)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Got a standard room because we were only sleeping here. Decor is old and dated. I can get over that. But our room was musty smelling, had a high pitch alarm noise off and on, patio door wouldn't open, air conditioning barely worked (set at 65 with fan and maybe only 70) and phone didn't work. After first night complained but they didn't have a room. I am sure other rooms are fine. Room 1529 needs to be shut down and redone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tohewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have definitely had a love hate relationship with this hotel for many years now. The biggest problem we have had has been the inability to get the room we request. Whether we make the reservation months ahead of time and request the room then or call the night before and request it again or even arrive early for check in to make sure we get it.... there is, as they say "no guarantee we get the room we requested". That has always been annoying considering the considerable amount of money I am paying for this room! If you are paying over $600 a night (and this can be much more depending on the season) for a room, you should have the call on which one it is. We usually request a theme park view room and they always give us a pool view upon check-in, claiming it is equivalent. Well it is not. If I am paying for a theme park view and have requested it, then my transaction is based on getting that room. The hotel reservation staff puts us through this each time we have visited. They give us the pool view room with bunks, when we request a theme park view with double queen beds and we have to tolerate that room until the one we requested is open. Very frustrating experience, I dread it each time we visit. The reservation site should allow you to pick the EXACT room you need (including bed sizes and views). It should even have a comment section where you can state the floor and wing level etc...without calling anything equivalent. This has needed modification for years.
The rooms are not top notch, they are small and getting a bit old...need new fixtures, carpet and linens (my towels felt like rags rather than towels). I think they need a remodel and update on linens. The housekeeping has had a history of being lousy considering the level of the hotel, but recently they seem to be trying to get a better staff and are checking in to make sure your housekeeping requests are fulfilled. That is an improvement.
I have liked most of the bell hops here, they have been real nice and helpful. Only had one bad experience with a guy named Doug who was rude and seemed racist to me. I should have have filed a complaint over something he did that was extremely inappropriate.
I love the proximity to the park, that is what gets you here. I love taking the mid-afternoon breaks with my kids and not being far from the park. I think they should make that entrance to the park from the hotel an exclusive hotel guest entrance at all times and not just in the morning, mainly because the crowds at this entrance have gotten ridiculous recently. Plus it gives being a disney hotel guest a serious perk.
I wish they would allow more perks for staying at a disney hotel like the magic bands they give you at the Florida Park Hotels and set them with a number of fast passes. This would make the stays at their hotels more valuable, since they charge so much more then the other hotels in the area.
The pool is gorgeous, during peak seasons they have entertainment there... love that for the kids.

Room Tip: Very difficult to get the room you want here, I wish I had a suggestion for this. Perhaps persistenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZscimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Me and my kids loved this hotel. This was our first time in a Disney Hotel and it was trully magical. Judy at the Guest Services was awesome she provided excellent customer service. Loved it and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We definitely took advantage of the the 'magic gateway" between the Grand Californian and California Adventure Park right next door.. it is just great being so handy. I was a little disappointed that there wasn't a room available with a king bed on the Concierge floor, but we were at the parks for so many hours, it didn't matter in the end. We did make great use of the breakfast provided on the Concierge floor, but we never got back for afternoon tea!
Thoroughly enjoyed the convenience of this hotel, this is our third time staying there, and we would definitely return..

Room Tip: Try and request a room that looks out over the park - will be fantastic during fireworks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was the fourth different Disney hotel we have stayed at and it certainly meets the normal high standard. Impressive architecture was matched by excellent service and an ideal location right next to the theme parks and Disney Village.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pilotsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We are DVC fo many years. First time in the hotel. It is an advantage to go to your room to take the shower or chnge you baby. Some people could find it expensive, but tge convivience of the location is priceless. The extra hour in the morning allow you to have the best spot for kcharacter atraction an the mos famous atraction. If you really want to enjoy your stay in Anaheim you most stay here

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Drmelendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 117 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 117 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing