We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for a Disney symposium and it was a fabulous experience! The hotel and rooms were beautiful, service was impeccable and the location can't be beat.....

After our meetings, it was an easy walk right into the Park!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izerdiver32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,977
    1,316
    634
    248
    136
See reviews for
2,861
531
28
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Simply stunning lobby and grounds, -- easy access to all attractions ... EXCELLENT service.
Unfortunately, one glitch. A huge one, -- for us. The smoking policy! The "Smoking Allowed Areas" are in the absolute worst places. One is the entrance to the pool area. The stench from the smoke is overwhelming. Just walking from the Lobby to the pool, you need to take a deep breath and HOLD until you get into the pool area. At any given time there are at least 10 smokers puffing away. (Including cigars.) There are so many more remote areas where they could allow smoking. We had a room above the smoking allowed area ... FIVE stories above ... yet the smell of smoke permeated our balcony and room. ~ Put quite a damper on the ambiance of our incredible room and view.

When this so called "non-smoking" hotel changes this policy, we will be back. Again and again. Until then, -- no way. This could easily be a Five Star hotel. We choose non-smoking hotels for a reason. We do not want to breathe in second hand smoke (or deal with that awful smell.) To have to endure smoke in a non-smoking hotel ... not okay.

Room Tip: Check the map. If you do not like the smell of cigarette smoke, make sure your room is not over a S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this property and it was well worth it. The interior decor was beautiful. The Craftsman style decor was stunning. Staying here you can access the California Adventures park from the hotel and you can also take advantage of the "Magic Hours". This was worth it alone. We were able to come back to the hotel very quickly from the park in order for our toddler to take a nap and she fell right to sleep on the comfy beds. Each room comes equipped with a pack n' play crib so you don't even need to ask for it. The property has an entrance to Downt Town Disney where there are many places to eat. You should call ahead and make reservations because they are always booked. The restaurants in DTD were the Rainforest Cafe, The House of Blues, The Jazz Kitchen and the ESPN restaurant to name a few. We got lucky at the ESPN restaurant and got in at 8pm. Everywhere else there were no openings until 9pm. We also made reservations through the hotel for the Blue Bayou Restaurant in Disneyland. Those were made a couple of months in advance. Our room was on the 2nd floor and it faced CA Adventures' children's rollercoaster. The sliding glass door to the balcony was sound proof. You could not hear the rollercoaster. Unfortunately the interior walls were not. But you have to expect lots of families with crying babies early in the morning and late in the evening. the housekeeping staff does a turn down service and they leave chocolates on your pillow. The service was great. They brought up extra towels upon request in a jiffy. The only thing that would have made this better is if they would have provided a free airport shuttle. The guest services desk did not tell us it was not free and what you read on the website leads you to believe it is free but it is not. Not too bad though, it was $20 pp to John Wayne Airport (Orange county) It was on time and got us to the airport rather efficiently.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Location is absolutely great .... extremely easy access into Disneyland parks - no waitin in Q's. The Magic Mornings were totally worth it. The location is so handy that we came back to the room often for kids to rest, change etc

Room Tip: Stayed at the Theme Park view room, great night views of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at a different hotel on Disney property and sure wished we had stayed here instead. Absolutely stunning Craftsman interior. We had breakfast two mornings sitting by the fireplace in the main lobby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We are DVC members, so we consider ourselves Disney experts. But that's Disney World in Florida. So this was only our 2nd trip to California.
We stayed in a 1br villa. It was beautiful. The decor was very craftsman style, which I love.
The bedroom has a king sized bed. The living room has a pull out couch, but also has a bed that folds down from the entertainment center. My son loved the bed from the entertainment center. It was just right for a 6yr old boy. We faced the pool area, and could see some of the fireworks at night.
The hotel staff were great. Our room was not ready at 5pm when we checked in, so we were given vouchers for a free dinner.
Over the course of the week we ate at Napa Rose, Storytellers Cafe and used room service. We enjoyed all of them and I will review those separately.
Our son spent one evening at the Pinocchio's Workshop kids club. He said that he had a great time and would be happy to go back again.
Overall, we would be thrilled to go back and stay at the Grand again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank peekacho_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We took our 5 year old son to Disneyland and CA Adventure for the first time and, as recommended by friends, stayed at the Grand Californian. (We got a great package deal through Costco Travel!!) I'm so glad we chose to stay on property, as the hotel is beautiful and the location and access to the park make your life so much easier!
We had a room on the 5th floor, with a view of the CA Adventure park, which was very cool. It was quiet because we were at the end near Soaring Over CA, but we were still right by the park! The other side of the hotel, overlooking the Disney promenade, would have been very noisy and I'm so glad we did not choose that side. Our room was extremely clean, the beds were comfortable, the pillows were comfortable, and the sheets were clean, thick and you could actually pull them all the way up to your neck. (I hate when hotels short-sheet the beds...) We had a small refrigerator in the room, so we stocked up with fruit, drinks and juices before we got to the hotel. I brought breakfast bars and snacks, so we had all we needed for breakfast each morning, or a snack before bed.
The location of the hotel is PERFECT. It's about in the middle of the promenade, which is full of shops, restaurants and street performers (which is why it's so noisy - fun, but noisy). You walk through the lobby, turn right, go down a hall and you're out in the promenade. To get to the park, you walk past the pool, down a short corridor, and there's your private entrance to the park. PERFECT! EASY!
We ate one morning at the Storyteller Café with 4 adults and 3 kids and it was the best, easiest, most fun meal I think I've ever had. The wait staff was immediately at our table as soon as we sat down with coffee and juice for everyone (plastic, covered cups with straws for the kids). The menu was varied enough for everyone and the food was delivered quickly. The food was delicious! The omelets and all the ingredients were fresh and plentiful, the kids' meals were cute, HEALTHY, and good (Mickey Mouse shaped whole grain waffles, fruit and yogurt). The characters all came around and spent a lot of time with the kids, playing around with them and posing for pictures. They seemed to be in no rush and so each kid got a decent amount of time with each character, which I really appreciated!
The Lobby is gorgeous, and we had hot chocolate and hot toddies one night in the Lobby bar after a rainy day at the park. It was perfect and again, the wait staff was right there for us, the drinks were delicious and we were happy.
I highly recommend this hotel for your stay if you plan on going to CA Adventure or Disneyland. It's just a quick 5 minute walk down the promenade to the Disneyland entrance. We were there for five days and never once had to step off property for anything.

Room Tip: Ask for the park side if you want a quieter room, or a room on the promenade side if you want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoFro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing