We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #32 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is the location. We stayed for a convention otherwise I would never pay the rate they charge for the room. It was a great vacation and doing all the Disney stuff. I'll share a secret for viewing the evening show at DCA. Take your room key, go to the 6th floor, walk down the 6200 hallway to the end. You will find an outdoor terrace that is right above the Goofy rollercoaster. You need the room key for access to the terrace. There are not a lot of people that watch it from there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vbfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,476 - 2,482 of 4,509 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our family's second stay at the Grand. Our room was on the 4th floor and overlooked the wood area with a view of the grizzly river run and a small balcony. We arrived at 8:30 a.m. and even though check in is not until 3 we were allowed to pre-register. The man working registration was kind enough to check to see if a room was ready right then, even though I told him I knew we couldn't check in early. He was very kind and went out of his way. We left our luggage with the bell desk and went to the park. At 10:30 a.m. I received a text saying our room was ready. Such a surprise!!!! Although the rooms are starting to show their age we are all about the location. We used our magic morning every morning. Here is a tip. Don't use the hotels entrance on the California Adventure early morning unless you are the first two or three in line. It gets really crowded and they only have a few cast members working. We only used that entrance once during our 5 day stay and were second in line but that meant getting down there by 6:10 a.m. If you use your magic mornings it is wise to be in line for security no later than 6:30 a.m and yes you still have to wait until they let you in to the main gate but for our family it was well worth it. On one magic morning we were able to get 13 rides done in 3 hours! Because the Grand is so close we always go back during the day and take a rest and then head back to the park later on. If you don't mind paying a lot for a great location this is your hotel. The staff was friendly and always went out of their way to be happy and kind.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Grand Californian location is one of the best benefits of this hotel. After full days at either park, it is really a treat to only have to walk back through the lobby of this beautiful hotel and head to your room. The lobby of the hotel is one of the best features and we've enjoyed strolling through it before, but had never stayed in one of the rooms. The room was decent size - two queen beds for 3 of us was fine. Some rooms offer a queen with bunk beds - if you are looking for an alternative. The staff is welcoming and very friendly - in Disney tradition. The hotel floors and rooms are surprisingly quite given the number of people that go through the lobby every day. We would stay again if the rate was in the right range.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oatmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

DIsney does magic like NO. ONE. ELSE. The key is the staff who makes service their first and only priority. From the moment you enter this hotel, they make you feel like the royal family checking in for the weekend. Children are immediately acknowledged and attended to, with special areas of the majestic lobby set aside just for their enjoyment. Adults are greeted with courtesy and curiosity. The sole focus of the Disney staff is to determine can they do for the family to make their stay the most enjoyable trip of a lifetime.

Checking in, our family of 5 had some unique issues, all of which were easily handled by our most charming and professional reservation assistant, Carissa. We were staying for a week, but we were on a very strict budget. Yet Carissa made sure that all of our necessary accommodations were met. Initially, I assumed Carissa was the star employee of this hotel, as she offered the epitome of what good hospitality service should be, an ability to resolve any and all issues quickly and with a bright smile. But I soon learned that this was the DIsney style trademark throughout the entire hotel and the Disneyland Park.

Our two little girls, ages 5 & 7, felt like little princesses during their entire stay. They were even addressed as such by the staff... They were in heaven every minute. And that's what this was all about. After a very traumatic year, we wanted to provide the children with a happy family experience, generating positive memories to last a lifetime. And thanks to the Disney staff, mission accomplished.

We will be forever grateful to this wonderful Disney team who routinely make dreams comes true and certainly went above and beyond for our family.

Room Tip: All rooms are stellar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseySFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed July 16 to 19, 2013, with our two kids. When we booked I was somewhat taken aback at the pricing on the rooms. We stayed this month at spectacular hotels in both London (Soho Hotel) and Los Angeles (Fairmont Miramar in Santa Monica). It seemed that the Disney prices were comparable if not more. I assumed (wrongly) that we would get a similarly great hotel and that the premium was being applied because of the proximity to the park. Wrong assumption. Knowing what I know now I would have stayed in a great hotel in Los Angeles and hired a driver to take us to the park for a day and return to L.A. that night. The drive to Santa Monica is only about an hour. The experience at the Dismal California is so lacking in value and so overpriced for the accommodation and food that any value you get from the location is completely overshadowed by the gnawing resentment which grows by the hour. Do yourself a favour. Take one day at Disneyland as described above and one day VIP guided tour at Universal Studios. It is expensive but worth it and you will get to see the whole Universal Studios plus rides and entertainment and Disney as well. If you feel you need more you can return for another day to Disney, but staying in this hotel is not worth it. Your money is better spent getting from Disney to a decent hotel somewhere else.

Our first clue as to what was to come should have been the requirement that the room be paid for in full one month prior to your arrival. We arrived from our beautiful hotel in Santa Monica at the Dismal California on a Tuesday morning. We had booked concierge level rooms and service but were somehow "missed" on check in so were taken to the front desk and asked for credit card info etc, which we supplied. We were then taken to the 6th floor check in where the entire routine was repeated verbatim. When I indicated we had already been checked in we were told nothing was entered. We were given a room with two queen beds. I had understood we were getting a suite with a king and sofa bed. They had none left so gave us a room with a king and sofa on another floor away from the concierge level. Not a big deal, until you saw the room. It looked as though it had not been updated once since the hotel was built 13 years ago. When we commented about the room we were told that the hotel was completely booked and that there were no other rooms available. Presumably this is because everyone else has been forced to pay in full in advance and were stuck with this place.

The room was incredibly small, dark and cramped. The decor was dreary, khaki greens, beige and brown. The bedspread looked like they borrowed it from my mom in 1970 and saved it to use in their hotel. We paid $4600.00 for three days at this hotel including park passes and the "extra magic morning hour". This is actually funny. They present it that because you are a guest in the hotel you get into the park an hour early to experience the "magic" prior to the general hordes arriving. As we stood in line with our kids for a ride on Wednesday morning at 7:30 a.m. with no evidence that the ride was moving we began to wonder, along with the other guests, if the magic morning actually meant we had the magical experience of standing in line for an hour before the park even opened or the rides began. Yes indeed this was true as confirmed by a surly attendant guarding the "fast pass" station. She acted as though only a complete idiot would think that the extra magic hour was actually going to be a special perk which allowed you to use the rides. The perk was standing in line for an hour before the rides even opened. Even my 6 year old was perplexed by that one and asked if we could skip the "magic" the next day and just sleep in.

There was sporadic turn down service. One night they made the pull out and left a chocolate. The other two nights they did not. They change the linens once every four nights because of their "green" policy. This is a bit hard to believe given that the massive three storey atrium in the lobby is air conditioned to the point that you could use it as a meat locker it is so cold, and they run a blazing log fire most of the time apparently to enhance their "Northern California" craftsman vibe. It was a bit of a hard sell when the temperatures are hitting mid 90's and frankly, being in Southern California was kind of the point of the trip. The uniforms look like they were the same ones worn the day the hotel opened and have been passed down since. The concierge level was ok as they have a continental breakfast in the morning and coffee so you did not have to go to a restaurant. It appeared that many of the people used the concierge level food to feed their families for entire trip and groups would pass through with overflowing plates of food headed back to their rooms.

The restaurants are ok, but not great. The supposed high end ones are so expensive that the entrees surpass many five star London restaurants in high season. The Napa Rose entrees are in the $30 to $40+++ range for food that is well cooked but not amazing. It is just so much better than anything else around that they can " get away" with the prices. The wine list is great - but most of the wines are so expensive it is hard to believe that you are in California where just up the coast (in Northern California as luck would have it) there is an a abundance of excellent well priced wine to choose from. "Getting away with it" seems to be the overriding game plan. The parks are fine, the rides are fun, but the endless waits and crowds wear thin pretty quickly when you feel you are getting taken on so many other aspects - this hotel being the primary one. It feels as though management is intent on squeezing every last penny out of the brand without regard for any potential bad will they are creating in the interim. I would never go back nor would I ever stay at another Disney Hotel. Terrible value.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a good room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had to give this 4 stars because it is a very high dollar hotel! But if you can afford it, it is great! From the minute you arrive at the stained glass floor to ceiling entry doors, you are overwhelmed by the architecture of the lobby and foyer area. While you are checking in the children can sit in small wooden rocking chairs and watch the old Disney cartoons on TV! It is a cute set up and keeps them busy til you get the keys to your room. Everything is spotless. Pools are fantastic, and are equipped with handicapped accessibility lifts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Grand Californian in May 2013 and June 2013. The lobby and furnishings are beautiful. Both times we were in a 3rd floor room that overlooked the end of Downtown Disney; noise level was not bad.

Negatives:
1. Both times we stayed at the hotel, the ice machine by our room did not work.
2. The refrigerator in our room did not work as well; the hotel had left a note that all the refrigerators in the rooms had some sort of problem, which was why they were unplugged. (This was a bit inconvenient as we have toddlers, and we'd usually just throw their drinks in the fridge. However, this was remedied by filling up a bucket with ice and chilling the drinks in there.)
3. In June, when we returned to our room, there were fans all over the hallway, like someone had spilled a great deal of water on the floor and they were trying to dry the carpets out. There was no mention from the management about any problem with the carpets. The hallways smelled musty because of this. It was a bit difficult to maneuver our kids' double stroller around the fans, which was a little difficult as the hallways are very narrow.

Positive:
1. All the employees we had contact with were very gracious and knowledgeable.
3. Bathroom amenities are nice; H20 bath products smell wonderful.
4. The location is super convenient - separate entrance into California Adventure - this is especially helpful for toddlers that need to nap.

Disney, if this is your flagship hotel at Disneyland, please fix your amenities and make it worth the pretty penny that people pay to stay there! I'm not sure if I would stay there again; I'd probably get a better value staying at the Howard Johnson across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlambing13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#21 of 119 in Anaheim
2,969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#33 of 119 in Anaheim
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 119 in Anaheim
4,496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $523 - $1,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing