We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice resort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, nice resort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Average size rooms. Can see how a family with strollers would be crowded. We had a deluxe view room with a king. Perfect for us with a nice view of the Grizzly River Run and Hoolywood Tower. Food at the resort was the best and the healthiest; not so in the park. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphonse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,789
    1,205
    560
    226
    108
See reviews for
2,533
479
26
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,035)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had just come from Santa Monica, where we were renting an entire apartment, so I was a little concerned about being cooped up in a small room with our 3 year old for 4 days. Not to worry. Our room was beautifully outfitted. We got a room with a queen bed and a set of bunk beds, so we had extra floor space to put our luggage and for our son to play. It had a nice 2-person table where our son could sit to eat his breakfast, an empty mini-fridge where we could store our milk, soft drinks, water and snacks that we picked up at the grocery store. The beds were ultra comfortable (so much that I want to find out what type they are so I can buy one!). Overall, everything was top notch. The service was impeccable. Every single person was ready, willing & able to help with any possible question or need. They have coin-op laundry machines ($2/wash, $2/dry) that really saved us. They have 3 large pools, a small pool and a hot tub, all of which are very well maintained, clean, and fun. And the best part is that you are only steps away from the theme park entrances! We have a kid who still naps, so this was an ideal place to stay. Every day, we popped back to the hotel at 2pm for a quick nap, then back to the park. (That down-time was essential for us as parents too!). There is a direct entrance from the hotel to Disney California Adventure too.. much nicer to avoid the crowds at the main entrance! Yes, it's pricey, but worth every penny!

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room. We were in a room directly beside the hole where the monorail goes d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrihowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean township
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

me and my family including two grand-daughters stayed at the disney grand californian about ten days ago...we enjoyed the resort...over the top pricey ..as expected.....best location and access to the park...food very mediorce except for goofys kitchen which we found to be very good for a buffet....however there were NO lifeguards in the mid sized pool...my grand daughters 6 and 8 were in the pool with 21 other children....the sign said ..no guards on duty..thats great for three year olds...they also said this was not peak season even thou they were 91 and 100% occupied..this is unacceptable for a family resort...its needs to be corrected ASAP..i tried to contact mgt. with no reply???..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kassonstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a wonderful vacation we had! The beds are the best I've ever slept in (the best sheets & mattresses) and everything is immaculate. The lobby is absolutely beautiful...just like the Ahwahnee Hotel in Yosemite, Arts & Craft style. I wish I could afford to stay here every year when we visit Disneyland!! You will love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela3950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel of all the hotels surrounding Disneyland Resort has the best location. You can walk through one gate to enter Downtown Disney and another gate goes right into California Adventure Theme Park. If you have trouble walking or just don't like to do it, this is the hotel for you. Plus, it has the best restaurant Napa Rose inside. The lobby is very impressive with its massive ceiling and "woodland" décor. They have nice fireplaces to sit and relax. One night a "story teller" stopped by (unexpected to us) and told everyone a funny story. You gotta love Disney. They take a theme down to the tiniest detail. The décor is very woodland, and not very Disney. Inside our room was a shower curtain with Bambi and a picture of Snow White. That was the extent of the Disney characters in the hotel. My 10 year son was a little disappointed with that. Also, our upgraded view of a pool or woodland courtyard was the backside of trees surrounding the pool. I had heard before, if you can see any water from your balcony, Disney will charge you for it. It is true!! The room was average size with 2 queen beds (although we had requested a king bed). The beds were not very comfortable compared to other Disney hotels we have experienced. It pains me to say anything negative about Disney, but as their "premium" hotel for the area, I was not impressed. I think I would have rather stayed at Disneyland Hotel which is also very convenient to the parks and Downtown Disney. Their new pools and renovated themed rooms and towers would have felt more like the Disney my family loves in Disney World. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for seniors and anyone who doesn't like to walk a lot, However, if you have a fear of walking, then Disneyland resort is not the place for you!!

Room Tip: If you are getting a pool view room, request one on the top floor so you can actually see the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I Stayed as a DVC (Vacation Club) member. Normally you will pay 250/night for a room like we had. A suite with a kitchen.
The rooms are very nice with 2 extra pull-out beds and a 2 portable cribs. All the 4-star amenities.

Recomendation: If you stay for more than a few days- you can shop for groceries on-line through VONS and they will deliver for free or a decent charge. The suites are well equipped and you can save a ton on soft drinks or Water - and snacks. In our case- it was needed as we have special dietary concerns.

One thing you will notice about Disney Resorts - attention to detail.

Downers: The Video reception in the room was poor. snowy channels on the TV. Several guests used room service. The plates left outside the room tended to stay there for longer than I would have liked. Housekeeping would not remove them as it was not their job.

Plusses: Restaurant serves Gluten Free and is open after the park closes. Fast and smooth elevators.

Need to Chill? Pool is great and they have a spa! Get your massage here.

Room Tip: If you can request - get a room overlooking the California Adventure Park from a high floor. You wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

You don't pay the big bucks for nothing! With its own private entrance into DCA Park, Monorail access, and its own entrance into Downtown Disney, this hotel is prime for getting to the places you want to be without walking too much.

We stayed during the end of Jan 2013 which was a great time to visit. The check-in process was easy although a night the lines can be a little long. Plus they were training new Castmembers and that can make thins a little bit slower. However, once we were with someone, it went pretty fast.

The only negative thing about this hotel is that the lobby is so nice that you'd expect the rooms to be as great or better. False. The room is a standard room. They really didn't go out of their way to make anything in it super nice. Basically for rooms, you pay for what you want to see out of your balcony. We had a partial theme park view but also a great view of the pools below. Worth upgrading? It makes things a bit better but for the money I'd say no.

Once thing we loved about this hotel is that it has a great viewing area of DCA Park and World of Color. Ask a Castmember where the viewing area is. For colder nights they even offer heaters here. It's really a great view. On the morning that Early Entry is available for Hotel guests only, the line into DCA Park is long! Get there early! Sometimes its better to go to the main entrance and go in. Depends on where you want to enter the Park and what rides you're looking to go on first.

The staff is great and very helpful. They're prompt on bring you any extras you need for your room. All-in-all, the location to everything is #1. Less walking, stay here. Need afternoon naps? Stay here. Guaranteed great service? Stay here. (I booked through Vacationeertravels.com, they easily had the lowest price out of everyone).

Room Tip: Room upgrading can help increase your outside view but the rooms really don't get any better tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#15 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 2,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing