We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have read all the reviews and all the points are relevant and valid. We decided to stay here purely for the location and ease of getting into the park and paying the extra for the Magic morning which really sets the day up and gets you right to the front of the queues. All the crowds are heading for Carsland and it is worth it.

In our once-in-a-lifetime 5 night stay - 4 day pass we could get around quickly and at lunchtime escape to Downtown Disney and the hotel. One day was the really hot day in October (100 deg ) and it was just too hot so we went to the hotel pool and cooled off and then came back to the park in the late afternoon. It is really important who you talk to you on the Disney staff and the advice they give - sometimes you can get the wrong information about timings of shows - i.e. fireworks. We didnt eat in the hotel ever and used all the stores in Downtown Disney. Trying to find an early breakfast can be a little challenging as the La Brea bakery only opened at 8. In fact we ate in La Brea every day.

With regards to the sore points on customer service the park/hotel is so busy all the time and there are no quiet times that the staff find it difficult to make your experience special. Its hard if you want to celebrate something special and feel slighted but it is so popular and so busy its difficult to personalise everything. Be realistic. We found the hotel very cheesy decoration-wise and the public areas sometimes very crowded and noisy. The big lobby area was undergoing carpet renovation and closed off for 3 days which wasnt great. But then there will never be a good time to renew it during the year. And when it was open we never had enough time to sit down in it anyway! It is really important who you talk to you on the Disney staff and the advice they give - sometimes you can get the wrong information about timings of shows - i.e. fireworks. One helpful tip was to ignore the separate hotel/Californian park entrance for magic hour. There are just too many people using that entrance and the wait in the queue means you are losing time. Just go to the main entrance where there are more security checks and entry barriers open.

The last point is that at the end of the day just before the Californian adventure park closes our 5 year-old boy would race to the Grizzly bear wet ride as the queue would vanish and he could ride and ride it until it closed. And then the hotel was just the other side of the exit barrier. I can't imagine staying anywhere where looking after a cold wet child would be so simple and easy. Get him back to the room all wet and quickly get him ready for bed.

It cost a fortune but in our eyes it was worth it. We drove up and saw all the people and shuttle buses going backwards and forwards. You just dont have all of that and you get to the parks early before everyone else. And at the end of the day walk back and flop down in your bed exhausted.

Room Tip: You have to pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cockneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,023
    1,336
    641
    256
    139
See reviews for
2,924
536
28
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

You can't go to Disneyland without staying at the Grand Californian. From the minute you step into the beautiful lobby your Disney experience begins. Great service, nice clean rooms and the convenience of walking either direction from the lobby to enter Downtown Disney or the California Adventure Park. With your own private entrance, you don't wait in line and being a Disney Hotel guest you get the bonus of early entry to the parks. We go to Disneyland several times a year and have stayed in all 3 Disney hotels. The Grand Californian is by far the best. The price may be higher, but when you sit on your balcony and watch the nightly fireworks the cost is justified. The Storyteller cafe has great food and the service is always outstanding. No need to pay for breakfast with the characters. If your at the Storyteller Cafe for breakfast, there are always Disney characters walking around the restaurant. After staying at the Grand with all its perks, you won't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room with a view. If your overlooking the park, the fireworks are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBookBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

As many have said, the location of this hotel cannot be beat. This was our first time at Disneyland after being a loyal Disney World fan (10+ visits), and we were amazed at how much more convenient this hotel was being right on property. Not monorail or bus, just walk right into the park with now lines. It's truly amazing.

The hotel itself stacks up well against any of the Disney Deluxe resort properties. The lobby is amazing. The pool area is great with different pools and plenty of space. We got bunk beds in our room which is a great option that my kids absolutely loved. The restaurants are all OK. The only thing about Disney hotels is they come at a cost. Nothing is cheap, but for us it is worth it.

Disneyland and California Adventure are great too. Again, we are big Disney World fans, but really liked the change of pace with Disneyland. I was worried going into the trip because all I heard was Disneyland is much smaller than Disney World. It is true to some extent, but you really don't notice it too much. In fact, having both parks right next to each other is so convenient. We really liked it. And the new Carsland is AMAZING. You feel like you are in the movie. We absolutely loved it. Just get there early to get fastpasses for Radiator Springs Racers - they sold out for the whole day by 10am when we were there.

Overall we really enjoyed the Grand Californian and Disneyland.

Room Tip: If you have kids, get the bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNtoAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggs, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Where to begin? Walking into the hotel is like a grand entrance. It is more beautiful than I can explain. The customer service was Disney quality. Check-in was easy and it was my husband's homecoming from Afghanistan. Learning this, the gentleman checking us in disappeared for a few minutes and came back with a "welcome back" picture signed by Mickey Mouse and some of the celebrating buttons and balloons. It was nice to be recognized. The room was small in size, but very comfortable and romantic to us. We could see part of Downtown Disney out our window. It was very quiet for such a large and busy hotel. No noise to complain about. Very comfortable beds...like sleeping on a cloud! The hotel offers a lot (spa, room service, entertainment, and exclusive entrances to California Adventure and Downtown Disney). The restaurant on the main floor is delicious. Room service was very good too, but very pricey ($85 for the 2 of us). We dream of staying here again, but we haven't been able to afford it! We went on a special offer, $262 per night. Now the cheapest I've found it is about $488 per night. We are hoping for a great offer to come soon because we LOVE this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel. Lobby and guest relations were wonderful. The extra we paid to stay on the concierge was well worth it but the guest room was clan but minimal and very small. Not worth the hype. This year will try Disney Hotel instead. It's great if you want to be close to park but such a ordinary room.

Room Tip: Definately get the concierge package!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Sorry to have to write this about a Disneyland hotel, because my wife and I love Disneyland and California Adventure. For our 16 year anniversary I asked my wife what she would like to do. To my amazement, she said let's go to Disneyland. We are Season pass holders and go there often. I decided to surprise my wife by booking a three night stay at the California Grand Hotel. Which I was informed is Disneyland nicest hotel in Anaheim. I paid for a deluxe view room. After parking and taxes the room was about $600.00 a night. We were supposed to have a view of the park; instead they gave me a room with a pool view. When I ask to talk with a manager, he told me there was nothing they could do. WOW, this does not sound like Disneyland.
The room was so small that they couldn't even put nightstands on both sides of the bed. In the morning everyone in the hotel is up early, because they can get into the park one hour earlier than the parks open to the public. The walls are so paper thin, that starting around 5:00 am you can hear blow dryers and showers going. The lobby was under construction so 80 percent was unusable. We were very much looking forward to the big lobby with the fireplace. Never even saw the fireplace. The buttons on our phone did not work and FYI if you want to use your Ipad, their system is very hard to connect with. I could go on and on, but I will stop here. Overall we were very disappointed with almost everything the Grand had to offer, and will never stay in a Disneyland resort again. I will however eat at the Napa Rose, which was fantastic!
99% of all my reviews are positive. The fact that when I told the Manager at check out about our experience and reminded him it was our 16 year anniversary, all he said was that " He would look into it". Sorry Disneyland that's just not good enough. Back to the Anaheim Embassy suites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Californian on a weekend trip to Disneyland and California Adventure.

The front gate staff, valet, and front desk staff were amazing. It can be confusing where to go when you enter the grand (and I do mean GRAND) lobby, but there was a ton of staff around that lead us where to go and the concierge was prompt with bringing our bags to our room.
The rooms DID lack a lot of that common "Disney magic". They are nice rooms, they have comfortable beds, they are pretty darn sound proof, but its a prettty standard room.

We had 2 adjoining rooms, my 11, 10 and 8 year old stayed in one, and me, my husband and 5 month old stayed in the other. We had bunk beds (that sleep 3) and queen beds in each room, and conveniently there was a Pack N' Play in the closet.

Magic Hour - getting to go into both parks an hour before they open - was AWESOME. Being there so early gave us the ability to get through both parks by like 6pm. We also got to ride all of the new Cars rides at CA Adventure, which have ridiculous waiting times since they just opened.

The pool area was AMAZING, the lounge chairs and cabanas were great, and the pools were heate. They had waiters taking drink orders which was just fine by me! (make sure you take your ID).

Every time we had to call the front desk we were greeting with "good morning Last Name Family" or when we returned late from the park and called we got "Welcome home Last Name family". Its the little things.

After all these accolades, I wouldve stayed at the Grand Californian again despite the price (and it is expensive). But what happened after we got home made this my Forever Disney home.
As it turns out, ALL of our souvenirs got left behind, several hundred dollars worth of stuff, including a large Lego set from the Lego store complete with receipt. Upon getting back to San Diego around 9pm, the Bell Captain calls me and tell me they found everything and they would overnight the lot the next day. THAT IS 5 STAR SERVICE. It brought tears to my eyes that there are still good people in this world.

Its expensive, but if you want a magical vacation, DO IT.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marissabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#21 of 118 in Anaheim
2,862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#28 of 118 in Anaheim
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing