We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“treated like vips” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #30 of 117 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
calif
Level Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“treated like vips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Yes, this is an expensive hotel but for us, it was worth every penny. We splurged for a concierge level room and what a difference. Quiet floor (6th), private check-in, friendly staff, comfortable room (albiet small), and the craftsman lounge's food (continental breakfast, afternoon tean, and evening desserts was good).

Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigpenny34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,885
    1,270
    599
    238
    122
See reviews for
2,716
503
28
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,090)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We recently took our 3-year-old to Disneyland + California Adventure and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Californian. With the little ones who nap during afternoons, being so close to the Parks makes this location ideal. My wife did not enjoy the parks so much so the resort hotel with spa worked out well. The service was top-notch and we were exceedingly well cared for. To save money on food, call out for Pizza-local places will deliver right into the lobby! If your on the fence about spending the money for the GC, go for it, you will not regret it! Can't wait to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: Probably not worth the extra $ to stay in rooms with premium view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeoffChing88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

First kudos to the Valet that helped us figure out why our battery had drained down while at the Paradise Pier Hotel (next time remember to unplug our little refrigerator). We checked in and the first day on the Concierge level was nice. We had a nice room with a king bed and bunkbeds for the kids. Also we had a nice balcony with a view of the courtyard. Brent was a great concierge and Tatum in the Club was soo helpful. Sam and Jarod have a lot to learn about being concierges. Sam especially was not friendly nor did she ever acknowledge us. We have stayed here before and I do not think that we were given as great of service as we have had in the past and for the money you pay to stay here it was disappointing!!! I got better concierge service at the Paradise Pier for less money. The food in the Club was Delicious!!!! Im gonna miss the chocolate dipped strawberries and the scones and cookies...We were given a free character breakfast and Im so sorry Im drawing a blank on the nice Concierge girl who helped me with this due to the lack of service on Sam and Jarods parts which I appreciated very much. The convenience of this hotel as far as getting in to the parks is one reason we chose to stay here. The Grand Californian has a private entrance right in to California Adventure and also right in to Downtown Disney. I hope that the Concierge people will realize that each and every family who comes to stay with them deserve to be acknowledged and treated kindly. Really disappointed this trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawaii888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have been visiting Disney's Florida Hotels for years if not decades... and we found the Disney Grand Californian to be just as deligtful. One of the best features is the entrance directly into the the California Adventures park. The Spa, restaraunts and pools are all amazing as well! A really great hotel if you can afford it!

Room Tip: get a park view to enhance your 'magical experience'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle-H6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We’ve stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10 year so. If I could afford it, I stay every time I went to the park. Even off-season, it does cost about three times what the non-Disney hotels do across the street. We go to Disneyland a few times a year, and staying here each time is out of my budget.

I’ve always liked the “Arts and Crafts” look so I consider this hotel to be very attractive inside and out. The lobby is amazing. The rooms are not as spacious as one might expect for these prices, but they are acceptable. The rooms are well appointed, beds comfortable, and cleanly. This is the only Disney hotel at the park that has a functional balcony that you can actually sit on. Being in a hotel that is attached to Californian Adventure park is a real plus. If you get tired, or get wet on a ride, you can run right up to your room. The building itself only has a couple of elevators and this is a huge hotel. Not sure why they did not include more. Depending on your room location, it can be quite a hike to get from the elevator to your room.

They have several restaurants, from a simple one that sell burgers and sandwiches to fine dining. They have a couple of pools, water slide and whirlpool. The hotel itself has activities for kids and various other amenities you would expect at an upscale hotel. The hotel staff are typically helpful and courteous. Although I do have to admit that of all the Disney employees, the hotel employees seem to lack that exuberant and friendly customer service attitude you find in the park. I’m not saying it’s bad, Service is typically of what you might find in any nice hotel. Most of them are nice and courteous, but occasionally you encounter a hotel employee that needs an attitude adjustment.

If you are planning a trip Disneyland, and this hotel fits within your budget, I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Only some of the "Theme Park" view rooms have a good view. In many, all you see is the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

I am a picky guy but this is the best run hotel I have stayed at in a long time. We are Disney Vacation Club members and had a two bedroom villa. From the memory foam on the pull out sofa bed, to the quick lighting compact fluorescent bulbs to the piano player in the lobby, what a place to stay. Quiet, secure extraordinarily clean, everywhere.

Room Tip: If you are planning to go to Disneyland try to join the Vacation Club, it is worth it. Get into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idahosandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inland empire, ca
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We are Disney Vacation Club owners, but had never stayed here. We were in a one-bedroom villa. I was very impressed by the entire stay. We asked for a high floor and were given a top floor villa, with a perfect view of the California Adventure water show. The villas are exquisite, with beautiful craftsman styling, full kitchen, 2 full baths, flat screen TVs and DVRs. The balcony, while not large, is large enough and is completely covered (it rained most of the afternoon and night). The water show was still held and from our vantage was pretty cool. All in all, a great experience.

Room Tip: While I don't have to pay cash for a room, even if I did, I would always opt for a villa. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 117 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 117 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing