We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent location, pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #31 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have been a passholder for about 4 years. I have passed by and through this hotel countless times, often for their back door into CA Adv or perhaps for their restrooms. Just walking past it in DT Disney has always made want to stay here. Unfortunately, their rates have always kept me away (I only live about 20 miles away). So when they offered 40% off for a special event, I decided to take the plunge.

The location simply cannot be beat. You are literally on top of CA Adventure, and a very short walk to the monorail (which also opens early for the Magic Morning you get as a hotel guest). And the service and decor is very good. Perhaps the most shocking thing is that they even have free wi-fi. The also have a very nice and large pool complex, with multiple pools and a large water-slide. I had a very nice view of the pool area, as well as CA Adv, from my balcony

Unfortunately, for a hotel which routinely charges over $400 a night, the rooms are as bit dated and drab. There is little in the room or bathroom to imply a high end hotel. also, the parking situation is a bit of a pain, especially if you prefer the $15 self park to the $22 valet (I like to be able to access my car without assistance). Just getting through the front gate to the check-in area is a real pain, with poor sign-age and heavy security. And when you finally get past the guard tower, and pull up to the hotel, there is no assistance in telling you where to park, if you do not want valet (there is a mess of cars and valets, but never enough to help when you need them). Finally, after you manage to check in and get your parking pass, the signs to the self park are few and misleading (and I have walked through this area countless times before, I can only imagine it is worse for people who do not know the area at all).

We got there early, and our room was not ready, but they give you the keys at check-in, and send you a text message when the room is ready. I asked for a high floor and they gave me the top floor. I have no complaints about the service, and I enjoyed my stay. But I would not want to pay full price for this hotel, and I wish they would make the parking/check-in process a little more clear and seamless. It is surely the crown jewel in the Disneyland hotel scene, but it is getting a little on in years, and the reality is that most people go to Disneyland for the park, not the hotel. If you have the money, by all means, stay here, but if you want to save a few bucks, you will enjoy the park just as much in just about any of the area hotels. And Paradise Pier, which has all the same Disney perks as Grand CA, is much cheaper and only a short walk across the street away. If the hotel was less expensive or more updated, I would gladly give it 4-5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank downinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,374 - 3,380 of 4,539 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

I dont have a lot of comparison among Disney hotels but have stayed at 3 properties in Disney World and Disney's Grand Californian. A Californian at heart who loves the rich heritage of this state I must say I am a sucker for the Arts & Crafts style Grand Californian.

My family has stayed here 4 times over the past 8 years and each stay was better than the last. From the valet service, to the personal greeters who escort you through the lobby and check-in process to the bell service and beyond.

Beautiful lobby, nice bar, great pool and a good night's sleep.

Planning on enjoying the chaos of a Disney weekend? Treat yourself and your family to a stay at the Grand Californian.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouzaKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our recent Disneyland trip. The hotel is beautiful and the magic starts when you pull up. Your car doors are opened and you are welcomed by name, you step out and a representative is waiting to take you to the registration to check in. The front deck CM was happy to help out with our requests and when I asked what type of view we had, he explained we had been upgraded to a California Adventure theme park view. That was great. The kids had the bunk beds and didn't fight about where to sleep. We could watch World of Color from our balcony and you get a special admittance into California Adventure. The only problem was that when you are in your room with the balcony door open, it is so loud. The kids loved the rotating showerhead too. We would stay again but will have to save up for 5 years to afford the magic.

Room Tip: get the 5th floor in the 5200 wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taylorta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We've stayed for a couple of nights at GC, and loved every moment!!! From the friendly check in, quiet and spacious room. Great amenities! The pool had a good slide, and some recluse ones where you can relax too! The back entrance to California Adventure park make it easy to go to and from the park, so we could enjoy the pool before returning to the park to night fireworks!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferrazalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Disney is known for it's world class service and the Grand Californian doesn't disappoint. We live in So Cal and have annual passes for Disneyland so we spend quite a bit of time at the Disneyland resort throughout the year. As parents of a 3 year old and 14 month old, we love the convenience that the Grand Californian offers. The lobby is beautiful and the pool area is great. We especially like the room with the bunk beds. The only reason that I wouldn't rate this hotel a 5, is the price. It's hard to stomach the high price sometimes, but in the end, we are willing to pay for two reasons - the service and the location.

Room Tip: The room with the bunk beds includes a trundle so you get lots of sleep space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazyinluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My family and I stay at the Grand Californian every September. This our third year and we definitely will return next year. The lobby is very welcoming with large fireplace, rocking chairs, Mission Style furniture and warm arts & crafts style Tiffany lamps.

The guest rooms are large, well appointed with newer carpet, nice furnishings, triple sheeted bedding. Families might enjoy a room with two double beds or one double bed and a bunk bed. There are also connecting rooms available. The rooms are equipped with very good black out curtains, and are very quiet, which made for an effective nap time.

My family really enjoyed the pool area. There are three main pools, a kiddie pool, two hot tubs and also two water slides. Beverages and snacks are served in the pool area by wait staff, or there is a nearby snack bar.

We enjoyed the breakfast with Chip N' Dale a few times in the Story Teller Cafe. Or if you are in a hurry, the snack bar has some quick breakfast options. One morning we walked down to the Disney Land hotel to have Breakfast with Goofy. Room service was great for both dinner and lunch. I've enjoyed dinner in the Napa Rose restaurant in the past, but we didn't have the opportunity to dine there this time.

The best part about this resort is it's convenient location. Guests of the Grand Californian have a private access entrance to the California Adventure Park an hour before the park opens to the general public. Disney Land park is a quick 10 minute walk through Downtown Disney.

Room Tip: Families might enjoy a room with one queen size bed and bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have stayed at the GCH twice (September 2010 and May 2011) and both experiences were EXCELLENT! We will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Disneyland!
We typically frequent Walt Disney World, Florida and feel that GCH is hands-down a better resort (in every aspect) compared to any of the Florida resorts. It is very well kept, staff are friendlier and more knowledgeable, and it has an amazing location to everything Disney...Disneyland, California Adventure, and Downtown Disney! We flew out to California specifically for the Disney "experience" and were not disappointed in our decision. (We loved it so much that we had to return in May of this year to do it again!)
The hotel is large but I find that most Disney resorts can be a little confusing the first time around. We found using the lobby as the "hub" made it a piece of cake to get to the other destinations.
Rooms are superb. Clean and quite spacious. Mousekeeping does an excellent job.
We also always felt very safe both within the resort as well as walking to and from the parks/Downtown Disney, even later at night.
Yes, this hotel does cost more, but personally, I feel it is worth the splurge!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srcrmcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#33 of 119 in Anaheim
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 119 in Anaheim
4,558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $476 - $973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing